PDA

View Full Version : Dual core gaming


rwilk
01-29-07, 08:53 AM
Regarding a FX 55 and Intel 6400. If it was necessary to shut down one core of the 6400 to get the game to play would the 6400 still have a significant advantage?

Other than possible improved game play I gave no reason for a dual core processor. After reading through a number of forums there seams to be a lot of trouble with current games and dual cores.

My current setup is P4 2.8, 512 ram and a 6899 NU.

rwilk
01-29-07, 08:54 AM
Sorry should be a 6800 NU.

Xion X2
01-29-07, 08:59 AM
I don't know where you're reading that, but for the majority of games dual-core does nothing but help right now and all games in the immediate future will be dual-core optimized.

Between those two, the 6400 is the better processor. The Conroe/Allendale is faster clock for clock than the FX-series, and I've seen plenty of people overclock the 6400 to 3.5gHz with relative ease--something the FX-55 cannot do.

SlieTheSecond
01-29-07, 10:52 AM
There has been trouble with AMD Dual Cores.
I haven't yet had to force a game to run on my E6400 dual core.
I haven't ran into one problem with it.

Dazz
01-29-07, 10:59 AM
Well i had problems with my X2 and Battlefield 2 had to disable one of the processes, now i have a E4300 i might try this out and see if i have to do the same thing. However apart from the suttering in BF2 with dual core enabled i have never had any problems. However if you want the NF680i can disable cores so you can buy a Core 2 then disable the other core so you have a single core Core2.

Xion X2
01-29-07, 12:20 PM
Well that's odd, because I had an X2 4400+ for about 7 months and never had to "disable" anything for any of my games. It ran every one of my games perfect--no stuttering at all--and that includes a lineup of about 30-35 titles, including BF2. BF2 ran at a consistent 75fps on my X2 4400+ and 7900GTX.

Not just saying that to be argumentative, but this is all news to me. I also have two close friends with AMD dual cores and they never had a bit of trouble, either. One of them did have some problems in the beginning, but that was only because he installed the dual-core optimizer off AMD's site. Once he uninstalled that, everything ran perfect--just like it always had on my machine.

SH0DAN
01-29-07, 01:10 PM
Only games I have ever had problems with,was Farcry and UT99,but as X2 just mentioned this was due to AMD's optimizer softs rather then the chip itself.Once I uninstalled that crap,everything worked fine. :)