PDA

View Full Version : FX-60 UPGRADE OR COMPLETELY NEW C2D SYSTEM FTW?


Tho Jo Smale
01-31-07, 08:45 PM
OK,

Here's my dilemma,

I'm thinking of getting this FX-60 for cheaps:
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2792677

I can get a new FX-60 s939 that will fit into my current system (in sig) it is watercooled and I should be able to overclock it resonably well. My current Opteron is maxed right out at 2.7ghz running 52C at full load. Since I have a nice shiny new 8800 GTX and 22" monitor...I'd probably not need an upgrade until close to 2008

The Alternative:

Or I could sell off most of my quickly aging hardware for pennies on the dollar and build a new C2D system consisting of:

Intel C2D E6600
http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=12200BD2787&vpn=BX80557E6600&manufacture=INTEL

Corsair XMS Dominator PC6400
http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=11180BD9179&vpn=TWIN2X2048-6400C4D&manufacture=CORSAIR

Evga 680i SLi
http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=11610BD2947&vpn=122-CK-NF68&manufacture=EVGA

OCZ Evostream Modular 720w SLi (I like modular as I have few components and only use some of the cables)
http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sku=13220AC7322&vpn=OCZ720EVOSLI&manufacture=OCZ

And that's it for new hardware required
My aquagate LCU already has the LGA775 mounting brackets and I have a decent Coolermaster Praetorian case with lots of fans. Of couse I'll keep the X-Fi and the 8800GTX.


Ok I'm open to suggestions/opinion....it's why I'm posting here....help me make the decision guys.


Thanks, in advance:


JC

Mr_LoL
01-31-07, 08:49 PM
If you can afford it you may as well go for the Core 2 upgrade. Socket 939 is a dead end upgrade wise.

Xion X2
01-31-07, 09:43 PM
Question: Why would you go w/ an SLI board? Is the board that you have now SLI?

That's one way you could save some money if you go the C2D route. Another would be going w/ the Allendale E6400. They overclock about as well as the E6600 and are 100$ less.

Eliminator
01-31-07, 10:33 PM
Question: Why would you go w/ an SLI board? Is the board that you have now SLI?

That's one way you could save some money if you go the C2D route. Another would be going w/ the Allendale E6400. They overclock about as well as the E6600 and are 100$ less.
E6400 is not Allendale it's Conroe... the E4xxx are Allendales and yes all Conroes clock about the same... the E6300/E6400 you will need some good ram and a good board to clock them high

Xion X2
01-31-07, 10:42 PM
E6400 is not Allendale it's Conroe... the E4xxx are Allendales and yes all Conroes clock about the same... the E6300/E6400 you will need some good ram and a good board to clock them high

They used to call the 6400's "Allendale"s; it looks like they recently changed that. I'm quite familiar with them, because my best friend bought one 4 months ago when I bought my Conroe, and they were called "Allendale"s then.

tacos4me
01-31-07, 11:34 PM
They used to call the 6400's "Allendale"s; it looks like they recently changed that. I'm quite familiar with them, because my best friend bought one 4 months ago when I bought my Conroe, and they were called "Allendale"s then.

That would be a bug with CPUZ. There is no E6400 Allendale.

MustangSVT
02-01-07, 02:14 AM
I think you should stick with what you have. How much a performance gain can you really get, whether you get the Core 2 Duo or the FX-60? Is your current CPU only one core? Even then, I think you probably won't notice a single difference.

Hell I upgraded from Athlon XP-M @ 2.4GHz to a C2D 6400 and 2GB of memory, and games are indeed much faster (though the 6800GT -> X1900XT upgrade accounts for that), but Windows doesn't feel much faster at all to be honest.

Dual Core Joe
02-01-07, 03:37 AM
I would think that the larger level two cache of the E6600, the 9x (vs 8x for the 6400) multiplier and the higher clock speed are worth the 100.00.

Xion X2
02-01-07, 04:17 AM
That would be a bug with CPUZ. There is no E6400 Allendale.

A lot of people were mistaken, then, because it's listed all over the web as an Allendale.
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 (Allendale, 2.13Ghz) Dual-Core Processor, Socket LGA775
+ FREE AUS WIDE DELIVERY
Prod. Code: INTEL-CORE2-E6400
Model: Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 (Allendale, 2.13Ghz) Dual-Core Processor, Socket LGA775
Manufacturer: Intel - http://www.intel.com/PCMarket - http://www.pcmarket.com.au/
Warranty: 36 months - Return to Base

http://www.pcmarket.com.au/5906_Intel_Core_2_Duo_E6400__Allendale_213Ghz__Dua l-Core.php

Allendale is code-name for the budget minded Core 2 Duo models, the E6300 and E6400.
http://www.hardwarelogic.com/news/128/ARTICLE/1253/2006-11-03.html

To drive home the point that Allendale-core (E6300 and E6400) Core 2 Duos are for cheapskates, Intel also cuts the frequency for a double performance hit almost worthy of the former Celeron name, if not for the high-bandwidth 1066 (266 MHz) Front Side Bus.
http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/10/10/cheap_thrills/


For whatever reason, there seems to be a lot of confusion in the naming of this chip. Some were/are still calling them Allendales. Here's an explanation from wiki on the subject:
For a very long time, it was considered that stripped down versions of the Conroe processors were code-named Allendale...

..You'll find plenty of sources that will tell you the code name for these 2 MiB Core 2 Duo processors is "Allendale," but Intel says otherwise. These CPUs are still code-named "Conroe," which makes sense since they're the same physical chips with half of their L2 cache disabled. Intel may well be cooking up a chip code-named Allendale with 2 MiB of L2 cache natively, but this is not that chip

Thanks for the correction, though. Now I know better.

tacos4me
02-01-07, 07:49 AM
A lot of people were mistaken, then, because it's listed all over the web as an Allendale.


http://www.pcmarket.com.au/5906_Intel_Core_2_Duo_E6400__Allendale_213Ghz__Dua l-Core.php


http://www.hardwarelogic.com/news/128/ARTICLE/1253/2006-11-03.html


http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/10/10/cheap_thrills/


For whatever reason, there seems to be a lot of confusion in the naming of this chip. Some were/are still calling them Allendales. Here's an explanation from wiki on the subject:


Thanks for the correction, though. Now I know better.

Yeah, I don't know. Maybe it wasn't just a bug. All I know is CPUZ 1.37 reports it as Allendale, and 1.38 reports a Conroe.

Bearclaw
02-01-07, 08:21 AM
If you can afford it you may as well go for the Core 2 upgrade. Socket 939 is a dead end upgrade wise.
QFT. Maybe if AMD was still making and producing chips for the s939 line then it would be an option but this late in the game, no. Go with Core2 Duo, I think you will be more happy with it in the end and one reaosn being you can easily upgrade to a Quad Core in the future when needed.

Tho Jo Smale
02-01-07, 08:49 AM
I think you should stick with what you have. How much a performance gain can you really get, whether you get the Core 2 Duo or the FX-60? Is your current CPU only one core? Even then, I think you probably won't notice a single difference.

Hell I upgraded from Athlon XP-M @ 2.4GHz to a C2D 6400 and 2GB of memory, and games are indeed much faster (though the 6800GT -> X1900XT upgrade accounts for that), but Windows doesn't feel much faster at all to be honest.

It's a Dual Core Opteron 170, Unfortunately I didn't receive a good stepping and mine maxes out at 2.7ghz for a 700mhz o/c....lots of people are running these at 3.0ghz especially on water.


Thanks, for all the replies,


JC

MustangSVT
02-01-07, 09:38 AM
It's a Dual Core Opteron 170, Unfortunately I didn't receive a good stepping and mine maxes out at 2.7ghz for a 700mhz o/c....lots of people are running these at 3.0ghz especially on water.


Thanks, for all the replies,


JC
Come on now 2.7GHz is more than powerful enough.. and it's a dual core.. I'm telling you, save yo money. I don't care what other people say, you ain't gonna notice a single difference between the FX-60 or the Conroe setup. Take it from a guy who has an E6400.