PDA

View Full Version : Problem with E-SATA external enclosure in Vista


CaptNKILL
02-02-07, 02:06 PM
I have an AZIO E-SATA enclosure with a Seagate 320Gb drive in it. Its plugged into the e-sata interface which is plugged into sata port 3 on my motherboard. As far as the computer is concerned, its an internal plug and play SATA hard drive.

In XP I have no problem turning it on or off in windows (other than shared folders being reset, but thats not important right now). When it comes on it instantly shows up in My Computer and it goes through the auto run process.

In Vista however, the drive isn't detected if it isnt turned on before the OS loads. I can switch it on and the light comes on but it just does nothing. It doesn't spin up, it doesnt make any noise and no matter what I do, I can't get the computer to initialize it. I tried scanning for hardware changes in device manager and I don't know my way around vista well enough yet to find any SATA specific configuration programs (like the "Safely Remove Hardware" thing in XP). It works fine if I have it on when I reboot. It also doesn't require any drivers.

Anyone have any ideas? Is there a setting I've missed or is this just a bug that will need to be worked out with a windows update or a driver?

einstein_314
02-02-07, 04:31 PM
Hmm, I had a problem similar to that in XP with my e-SATA enclosure...but the problem was that the enclose doesn't like SATAII for some reason...When I would turn it on it wouldn't spin up or anything. Put the old SATAI drive back in and it works fine...So I don't know. You say it works fine in XP?

MaXThReAT
02-02-07, 04:56 PM
I'm also having an issue with eSATA. My board has an actual eSATA port on the back. I've got the nexstar3 enclosure and it works fine in XP through USB but it's a no go on eSATA with vista or XP and with USB you can't boot to it, or at least I can't.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817145167
As far as I can tell it should support SATA-II. I've even tried using the SATA-to-eSATA converter cable and it's still a no go.

What's the model # or your enclosure your using CaptKILL?

CaptNKILL
02-04-07, 01:51 AM
My enclosure is model # ENC311SU31.

And yes it works perfectly fine in XP.

I'm using XP. Its off right now.

I just turned it on, and it spun up. And Windows is doing the "autoplay" thing where it scans the drive.

In Vista, it does nothing when I turn it on in windows (except the enclosure's power light turns on). If I turn it on and reboot it spins up when the computer boots (like normal) and works fine in Vista and XP.

Macoland
02-22-07, 08:48 AM
I am another user that just realized I have that problem as well. I just purchased last week an Apricorn brand Esata drive. They have always been great drives and here it is below:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817362002

Anyway, I am dual booting with a very small partition for Vista just so I could make sure everything worked. I found updated drivers for just about everything. Then last night I decided to turn on my Esata drive and nothing happened. It turned on, but never showed up. Like everyone else my Esata drive works perfectly in Windows XP.

I tried rebooting with the drive on and it did work in Windows Vista, but after I turned the drive off (after Vista had booted) the drive letter still appeared even though the drive was off. :rolleyes:

I have been searching on the internet to find some kind of solution and this is the only thread I have found talking about the problem. Perhaps this is due to the fact that eSata is in its early stages so many haven't tried to use an external esata with Vista. Either way I hope there is some solution soon.

nekrosoft13
02-22-07, 10:52 AM
simple solution, you need nForce drivers installed to enable hot swap

but here is the tricky part, your board is nforoce 4 sli (correct?)

standard driver package doesn't detect ide/sata, so you have to extract the archive, go into device manager and install the sata drivers manually from there.

if you use standard MS driver, SATA hot swap option simply won't work


edit

i just wanted to mention one more thing, you are NOT using eSATA. eSATA is seperate specification from SATA. you are running an adapter from SATA on you motherboad to eSATA

there are few boards on the market with true eSATA plug

incase, you might never seen a real eSATA, here it is

SATA on left, eSATA on right
http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/9785/sataesatagg2.jpg

Macoland
02-23-07, 10:14 AM
simple solution, you need nForce drivers installed to enable hot swap

but here is the tricky part, your board is nforoce 4 sli (correct?)



I am using an AMD board with nforce4 NOT sli. Perhaps you can help me out though. What is the driver that I need to install manually? In the device manager there is a Storage Controller that has a Microsoft installed driver. I thought that was what I needed to replace but it hasn't worked.

I downloaded and extracted the latest Nforce4 drivers from Nvidia. If I try to update the driver in the device manager it gives and error saying that the best driver is already installed. So I deleted it and added a new controller and pointed it towards the extracted drivers. It says it installed but I get a "This device cannot start" error and even after a reboot it doesn't work.

I just noticed thought that towards the top of the device manager there is a specific menu for IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers. Is that the driver I need to change?

I just need to get this fixed because not having a hot swap esata drive is driving me crazy! :thumbdwn:

MaXThReAT
02-23-07, 03:01 PM
My motherboard has an actual eSATA connector with it's own controller. The cable has eSATA on each end. My board has the SLI x16 chipset. I just checked out Nvidia's site and it looks like they have finally updated a few of their Nforce4 drivers to Vista. I'm just home on lunch so I'll DL and update later. I'll let you guys know how it goes.

nekrosoft13
02-23-07, 03:37 PM
if you have seperate esata, then probably you might have a seperate controller for that port

EDIT

I was right, in your case esata is running from Silicon Image SiI 3132 PCI Express SATA controller


Macoland, you need to update the IDE controllers, you should have 3 of them, two of them are actually sata, one is IDE, so you have to fint the sata ones, and manually update them

MaXThReAT
02-23-07, 07:36 PM
if you have seperate esata, then probably you might have a seperate controller for that port

EDIT

I was right, in your case esata is running from Silicon Image SiI 3132 PCI Express SATA controller

Yup you've got it. From what I can tell I've got the most resent Nforce drivers. I was just now able to find the SiI 3132 32-bit windows vista driver. Says it supports RTM. Before, Asus was saying to just use the one on their site and that doesn't support vista. We'll see. Thanks for reminding me about this nekro.

Macoland
02-23-07, 07:45 PM
Macoland, you need to update the IDE controllers, you should have 3 of them, two of them are actually sata, one is IDE, so you have to fint the sata ones, and manually update them

Any good idea of how to do that with Vista? It won't let me just update the drivers as it keeps saying that the best driver is already installed. If I uninstall them and reboot (which is makes me do) then it reinstalls the default drivers.

MaXThReAT
02-26-07, 10:10 AM
Well I have had no luck what so ever with mine. It just locks up at boot. I never get to my login screen. I've given up, I just have a external USB drive now. Really doesn't hurt anything but take up an extra USB spot. O-well.

As for updating your drivers, are you right clicking on the IDE controller in the device manager and saying update driver and then pick it manually from a list and then hit have disk. That should allow you to update the driver if it's old or new or what ever.