PDA

View Full Version : Intel releases Core2 Duo E4300 - More heat on AMD


Maverickman
02-05-07, 05:42 PM
It looks like Intel is not letting up any time soon. The Core2 Duo has been released. Running at 1.8GHz with only a 9X multiplier, this CPU is just dying to be overclocked. There are already reviews up for it, and people have been able to get overclocks well in excess of 3.0GHz. AMD need sto do something soon. I know about its recent gains in market share, but that's only temporary. Watch out in Q1 '07.

|JuiceZ|
02-05-07, 06:16 PM
It looks like Intel is not letting up any time soon. The Core2 Duo has been released. Running at 1.8GHz with only a 9X multiplier, this CPU is just dying to be overclocked. There are already reviews up for it, and people have been able to get overclocks well in excess of 3.0GHz. AMD need sto do something soon. I know about its recent gains in market share, but that's only temporary. Watch out in Q1 '07.

This may be my next chip. Take a look at this article (http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2903) from Anand, tons of o'c potential :D

Bearclaw
02-05-07, 08:17 PM
So is it equal to the e6300 except for the multiplier? What about as far as performance?

Dazz
02-05-07, 08:19 PM
Yeah i have a Core2 E4300 @ 3.2GHz @ 1.35v, can't seem to post any higher i am sure it's my motherboard holding me back as it won't even boot at 1200MHz FSB either which is far less 1424MHz that i currently use?.

The diffrence between the E6300 is 1066MHz FSB x 7 1.86Ghz + VT and the E4300 is 800MHz x 9 = 1.8Ghz due to the higher multiplier you are nolonger bound by the FSB which was the reason i picked it over the E6300 where the FSB on a NF680 tops out around 500MHz.

mullet
02-06-07, 12:31 AM
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/core2duo-e4300.html
http://www.techspot.com/review/40-core2-e4300-vs-e6300-overclocking/
http://xtreview.com/review169.htm
WOW>> http://www.nordichardware.com/Reviews/?skrivelse=500&page=4

Dazz
02-06-07, 04:15 AM
Well they said the heat? I am running my core 2 E6300 w/ 80% 1.4GHz overclock with a slight increase in voltage, 1.32v using 1.35v. Funny enough they are saying their samples go hot mine runs around 21C 26C underload, although with 1.6v it runs at 35C idle and 46C under load.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=23913&stc=1&d=1170757236

mullet
02-06-07, 10:03 AM
Well they said the heat? I am running my core 2 E6300 w/ 80% 1.4GHz overclock with a slight increase in voltage, 1.32v using 1.35v. Funny enough they are saying their samples go hot mine runs around 21C 26C underload, although with 1.6v it runs at 35C idle and 46C under load.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=23913&stc=1&d=1170757236

Nice man!! have you tryed 400x8?

FastRedPonyCar
02-06-07, 10:34 AM
Interesting... I'm very near a pc overhaul and trying to make up my mind between the 6300 or 6600 but now that I read the anantech article, do you think it would be wiser to just wait for a E6320 or E6420 for the extra cache?

Dazz
02-07-07, 06:58 AM
Motherboard won't do 8x400 sadly i am sure the mobo temp is wrong SISoft says it's 100C!!! After touching the mobo chipset i scalded myself so i will have to agree with that. I had no heating broke down so room temps where -4C yeap cold in the north. Now the heating has been fixed the PC crashes all the time again. I am going out to buy a 80mm fan so i can shove in on my ThermalRight Ultra 120 pointing down so all the air will be forced in the back of the board to cool the radiators. I might have to get watercooling just to run the the board lol. Technically all nForce 680 boards are defective as the current cooling is not suficent to cool these VERY VERY hot chipsets.

It seems at 100C it's fine but starts crashing at 110C. I wouldn't care it not like it's a hot case or anything but looks like the chipset needs direct cold air. Due to the Ultra 120 i am not able to add a 140mm over that part of the case. i need a lower profile HSF. I am at work now so might have a loook about.

FastRedPonyCar
02-07-07, 08:20 AM
Motherboard won't do 8x400 sadly i am sure the mobo temp is wrong SISoft says it's 100C!!! After touching the mobo chipset i scalded myself so i will have to agree with that. I had no heating broke down so room temps where -4C yeap cold in the north. Now the heating has been fixed the PC crashes all the time again. I am going out to buy a 80mm fan so i can shove in on my ThermalRight Ultra 120 pointing down so all the air will be forced in the back of the board to cool the radiators. I might have to get watercooling just to run the the board lol. Technically all nForce 680 boards are defective as the current cooling is not suficent to cool these VERY VERY hot chipsets.

It seems at 100C it's fine but starts crashing at 110C. I wouldn't care it not like it's a hot case or anything but looks like the chipset needs direct cold air. Due to the Ultra 120 i am not able to add a 140mm over that part of the case. i need a lower profile HSF. I am at work now so might have a loook about.


Get one of these bad boys.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16835108072

Dazz
02-07-07, 04:11 PM
I crammed a 120mm over part of the cpu HSF and radiators and my temp in sisoft gone down about 2C my MB in ASUS probe has gone up yet when i touch the rads or even the north bridge HS is very cool. Well thats fixed my crashing.

SH0DAN
02-08-07, 01:07 PM
do you think it would be wiser to just wait for a E6320 or E6420 for the extra cache?



Yes,as its right around the corner...

SH0DAN
02-08-07, 01:47 PM
do you think it would be wiser to just wait for a E6320 or E6420 for the extra cache?



Oops...double post

FastRedPonyCar
03-20-07, 10:58 AM
Update.. I just got my dad an E6400 with the MSI Pn6 650i mobo and 2 gigs of the green Gskill DDR2 800.

Depending on how it performs, I'll decide whether to get the same setup for myself or wait longer for the 6420.

Or just get the E6600.

Maverickman
03-24-07, 08:05 AM
The 6600 is great. AMD just doesn't have an answer for the Core2 CPUs other than lowering the prices of its existing X2 line.

Dazz
03-24-07, 04:55 PM
I have been able to get to 3.4GHz with 1.66v, game and bench able but not stress test yet. temps are 35C idle and when stressed to 100% 60C a little on the warm side but thats alot of voltage and the 120mm fan on the Thermalright Ultra 120 is 1700rpms.

Got a nice increase of 4000pts in 3D mark 2001 from 3200MHz to 3400MHz http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=9172271