PDA

View Full Version : Striping Block Cluster Size


XDanger
02-07-07, 03:41 PM
cant remember the terms since last installed an array but whats best for gaming goodness as far as the sizes go, Ill be using 4x160gb bog standard sata drives for striping.

hirantha
02-07-07, 03:54 PM
RAID 0? thats what i use but risky if you have one dead hard drive

Burner_Tbird2
02-07-07, 04:18 PM
I experimented with 4k and 16k on two 74GB Raptors and found that 4k loaded games the fastest but was noticeably slower in Windows. 16k was slightly slower for loading games but was MUCH faster at running Windows. :thumbsup:

SLippe
02-07-07, 08:34 PM
I don't know, I always set mine to Optimal. I haven't messed with the other settings.

Dazz
02-07-07, 08:49 PM
I tend to use 16k might try 4k.

Burner_Tbird2
02-09-07, 11:39 AM
I don't know, I always set mine to Optimal. I haven't messed with the other settings.

Just to keep the information flow- OPTIMAL = 64k strip size which will probably give you the best results over a wide range of programs but definitely not the best for pure gaming.