PDA

View Full Version : 8800GTX 2999 3Dmark 06 score


funeebski
02-08-07, 02:46 PM
just built my new system:
Asus Commando board
Core 2 duo 6600
Corsair Dominator ram (2x1Gb)
Asus 8800GTX
Seasonic 600w psu

Was expecting 10k+ on 3dmark 06 but am only getting around 3000.
Both power connectors are plugged in, even tried them on different rails.
Thought the problem may have been something to do with my new Vista install so am now back to XP and still having problems. Can anybody help?

Toss3
02-08-07, 02:52 PM
You're definitely having problems. So you could A) Check the settings in the nvidia control panel B) Try a different set of driver, and delete the old ones with driver cleaner or C) Check everything you can think of ^^ .
2999 is way too low for an 8800gtx.

funeebski
02-08-07, 03:18 PM
Just installed latest driver and now says "the nvidia system sentinel is reporting that the nvidia-powered graphics card is not receiving sufficient power"
My power supply is fine, it ran my old 1900xt no probs.

|MaguS|
02-08-07, 03:19 PM
It's your PSU, probably doesn't have enough juice on the rails.

funeebski
02-08-07, 03:32 PM
Mate it's a seasonic 600w, I've tried each power connector on different rails.

Toss3
02-08-07, 03:36 PM
Mate it's a seasonic 600w, I've tried each power connector on different rails.
Maybe something is wrong with the card itself? Or the connectors on the card? Btw. is it an old seasonic 600w or a new one?

funeebski
02-08-07, 04:02 PM
It's about 4 months old, cost me around 100 bucks. I've had enough, card is going back for a replacement, I'll just use my 1900xt for time being.

|MaguS|
02-08-07, 04:35 PM
I was running a Seasonic S12 600w just fine... if you don't have the S12 v2model then thats the issue, they do sell two different 600w models.

tweaked
02-08-07, 05:06 PM
Just installed latest driver and now says "the nvidia system sentinel is reporting that the nvidia-powered graphics card is not receiving sufficient power"
My power supply is fine, it ran my old 1900xt no probs.


the 8800gtx uses just a bit more power.

SlieTheSecond
02-08-07, 05:42 PM
Watts aside.

How many amps on how many rails? Thats number you want.

Is your pci-e running 16x?

funeebski
02-09-07, 11:37 AM
The psu is a 600w S12 V2 and I'm sure its fine. Not sure what setting it is in the bios to switch the PCIE to x16, I'm guessin it's already on 16.

|MaguS|
02-09-07, 11:53 AM
If you have the S12 v2 (second version, original had issues) then you should be fine on the power supply. I had my SLi running on the same PSU.

Have you tried a complete reinstall? Maybe your windows installation is having driver problems.

funeebski
02-09-07, 12:03 PM
I installed vista straight after building system, then i tried xp. Both fresh installs. I think the card must be faulty, never had this sort of trouble with ati, this is my first nvidia card.

hemmy
02-09-07, 11:36 PM
well, it is fixable, don't go running to rage3d now

SLippe
02-10-07, 12:01 AM
Are the two power connectors you have to the card seperate connections with only them going to the card and nothing else? I don't know if your PSU has it where you can plug in what cables you need or not, but if so, you might try them in a different slot. I'm baffled as to what the problem is, but yeah, also check in your BIOS to make sure the card is set at 16x for PCI-e slot. Hmmm...

funeebski
02-16-07, 11:46 AM
Thanks for your help guys, sent card back and it turned out to be faulty. Maybe they missed a few dodgy ones.

$n][pErMan
02-16-07, 02:18 PM
It's about 4 months old, cost me around 100 bucks. I've had enough, card is going back for a replacement, I'll just use my 1900xt for time being.
Can't help but notice... $100? Think we found the reason why....

DiaBlo666
02-16-07, 02:33 PM
[pErMan']Can't help but notice... $100? Think we found the reason why....

read his last post dude, faulty card.

Madpistol
02-17-07, 12:02 AM
sent card back and it turned out to be faulty.

Overheating perhaps?