PDA

View Full Version : Detonator 43.30's Intellisample Settings and DirectX 9.0


AthlonXP1800
03-12-03, 02:22 PM
I downloaded the latest driver 43.30 and was surprised that the driver now reported DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0 or better and I think many never noticed the driver now has Intellisample Settings: Application, Quality and Performance. Previous driver 43.00 only had Performance Settings: Application, Balanced and Aggressive.

I got GF4 4600, I dont have GFFX 5800 Ultra to try out Intellisample, I think this is a big improvement, 43.30's Intellisample quality could be equal to ATI's quality setting and performance could be equal to ATI's performance.

jAkUp
03-12-03, 02:26 PM
i have those drivers installed on my system right now... i havent tried anything but 3dmark 2k3... i get a horrible score... about 3500... i liked the 42.68's better... maybe when i get home i will post some benchies of games

AthlonXP1800
03-12-03, 02:33 PM
I think the score is lower in 3D Mark 2003 in 43.30 could be because of Intellisample, it is very new and is first time to use in 43.30, it still has to improve on it in future drivers to get 3D Mark 2003 score right.

Slappi
03-12-03, 02:36 PM
I can't get a lot of resolutions...... anyone else have this problem with these new drivers?

DaveW
03-12-03, 02:48 PM
Originally posted by Slappi
I can't get a lot of resolutions......

George Bush has the same problem... maybe he needs to update his drivers :)

AthlonXP1800
03-12-03, 03:03 PM
I got all resolutions fine but I noticed the monitor's screen refresh rate got 3 refresh modes, 5 modes are missing. Direct3D refresh are fine, it got all 7 modes from 60hz to 120hz. I am glad it got monitor refresh mode 85hz I need.

AthlonXP1800
03-12-03, 03:08 PM
Originally posted by DaveW
George Bush has the same problem... maybe he needs to update his drivers :)

LMAO :D that very good one :D

Slappi
03-12-03, 03:08 PM
Originally posted by AthlonXP1800
I got all resolutions fine but I noticed the monitor's screen refresh rate got 3 refresh modes, 5 modes are missing. Direct3D refresh are fine, it got all 7 modes from 60hz to 120hz. I am glad it got monitor refresh mode 85hz I need.

You got 1280x960?

AthlonXP1800
03-12-03, 03:17 PM
Originally posted by Slappi
You got 1280x960?

Hmmm I remember I seen 1280x960 in previous drivers but this driver 43.30 do not have one, I can get 1280x1024.

Something are missing from this driver and I am sure Nvidia will add pieces missing in the next driver.

Gar
03-12-03, 03:28 PM
Originally posted by jAkUp
i have those drivers installed on my system right now... i havent tried anything but 3dmark 2k3... i get a horrible score... about 3500... i liked the 42.68's better... maybe when i get home i will post some benchies of games

You wanna know why u get such bad scores. Go over to this thread (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?s=&threadid=33672222) and see why. Basically Nvidia has been forcing FP16 precision which is NOT DX9 specified and also is why Nvidia hasn't released WHQL supported drivers. Using this lower precision reduces image quality while at the same time increasing FPS. Using the det 43s (forces FP32, which is a standard) will give you about a 1000 points lower score in dx9 benchmarks ala 3dmark03. Don't get mad, its not your fault Nvidia only allowed 2 options in its precision, FP16 and FP32, the latter being dx9 compliant.

Captain Beige
03-12-03, 03:32 PM
Originally posted by Gar
You wanna know why u get such bad scores. Go over to this thread (http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?s=&threadid=33672222) and see why. Basically Nvidia has been forcing FP16 precision which is NOT DX9 specified and also is why Nvidia hasn't released WHQL supported drivers. Using this lower precision reduces image quality while at the same time increasing FPS. Using the det 43s (forces FP32, which is a standard) will give you about a 1000 points lower score in dx9 benchmarks ala 3dmark03. Don't get mad, its not your fault Nvidia only allowed 2 options in its precision, FP16 and FP32, the latter being dx9 compliant.

correct

Nutty
03-12-03, 04:43 PM
43.30 could be because of Intellisample, it is very new and is first time to use in 43.30

huh? Intellisample with the new naming (Application, Quality, Performance) is in 43.00 and above.

AthlonXP1800
03-12-03, 05:53 PM
Originally posted by Nutty
huh? Intellisample with the new naming (Application, Quality, Performance) is in 43.00 and above.

Really? I am double checked as you said Intellisample is in 43.00 driver, I uninstalled 43.30 and then reinstalled 43.00, it turn to be you are wrong, you should double check with 43.00, it come with Performance Settings: Application, Balanced and Performance :o :rolleyes:

Nutty
03-12-03, 06:24 PM
Dont raise your eyebrows at me laddy.

Looky here.

http://www.nutty.org/intelli.jpg

Are you looking at the 2k/XP ones? I also believe there was 2 sets of 43.00's. Perhaps you're looking at some older version "43.00"'s.

AthlonXP1800
03-12-03, 07:19 PM
Originally posted by Nutty
Dont raise your eyebrows at me laddy.

Looky here.

http://www.nutty.org/intelli.jpg

Are you looking at the 2k/XP ones? I also believe there was 2 sets of 43.00's. Perhaps you're looking at some older version "43.00"'s.

Hmmm yes I used 2k/XP 43.00 driver on XP. You said here may be 2 different sets of 43.00, yes I remember the real 43.00 driver is 21.5mb dated 02/13/2003 and everyone demand this driver. Then someone on the next day decided to made a small 7mb 43.00 driver by deleted files and modified. So I never tried the cut down driver cos I dont want a hacked and modified driver. I prefered to use original leaked unmodified driver.

And the site I downloaded the driver is from http://www.toolandsteel.com, I found out that the driver I downloaded is just the same driver Nvidia uploaded for their Quadro line of cards.

AgentHeX_0007
03-12-03, 08:06 PM
I personally prefer "intellisample" in the menus.

application controlled, best quality and best performance are more straight forward to understand compared to application, balanced and aggressive, deffinatly for people who dont frequent gfx card forums.

btw i get the same on winxp 43.00
http://helpdc.netfirms.com/4300performance.jpg

StealthHawk
03-12-03, 11:43 PM
except that "best quality" isn't best quality....at least for the gfFX. Application has the best quality on the gfFX.

jAkUp
03-12-03, 11:59 PM
and it adds 16x aa!!!
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=8617

Grechie
03-14-03, 07:10 PM
Originally posted by jAkUp
and it adds 16x aa!!!
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=8617


sickest! looks sick man!

AngelGraves13
03-14-03, 07:36 PM
sorry but we don't all keep up with times.....where "bad" means it's awesome and "scary" means it's cool. "Sick" here means it's awesome?? lol :D

Grechie
03-15-03, 04:13 AM
hey just curious what is intelisample and what does it do? also wats the best setting to have it on, just curious :)

AthlonXP1800
03-17-03, 12:39 AM
Originally posted by Grechie
hey just curious what is intelisample and what does it do? also wats the best setting to have it on, just curious :)

Intellisample is NVIDIA's all encompassing term for their new color compression engine, improved fast z-clear, dynamic gamma correction, adaptive trilinear and anisotropic filtering, and anti-aliasing.

You can take advantage to use Intellisample if you have either current NV30 (GeforceFX 5800 & 5800 Ultra) and NV31 (GeforceFX 5600 Ultra), NV34 does not have Intellisample feature in hardware.

Here more info about Intellisample:

http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.html?i=1749&p=5
http://www6.tomshardware.com/graphic/20021118/geforcefx-07.html

Grechie
03-17-03, 06:39 AM
Originally posted by AthlonXP1800
Intellisample is NVIDIA's all encompassing term for their new color compression engine, improved fast z-clear, dynamic gamma correction, adaptive trilinear and anisotropic filtering, and anti-aliasing.

You can take advantage to use Intellisample if you have either current NV30 (GeforceFX 5800 & 5800 Ultra) and NV31 (GeforceFX 5600 Ultra), NV34 does not have Intellisample feature in hardware.

Here more info about Intellisample:

http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.html?i=1749&p=5
http://www6.tomshardware.com/graphic/20021118/geforcefx-07.html

thanx for that, just didnt no wat it was hehe