PDA

View Full Version : 16X Antialiasing on GeForce FX!


Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

jAkUp
03-12-03, 07:19 PM
i just installed the 43.30 drivers on my geforcefx... and noticed it has settings for 16x aa!! was this a geforce spec?? is geforce supposed to support this??!! i thought it was only 8x... very strange

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?s=&postid=86888

8xaa
3DMark Score 1293 3DMarks
GT1 - Wings of Fury 44.7 fps
GT2 - Battle of Proxycon 7.4 fps
GT3 - Troll's Lair 6.5 fps
GT4 - Mother Nature 10.0 fps

16xaa
3DMark Score 1211 3DMarks
GT1 - Wings of Fury 50.3 fps
GT2 - Battle of Proxycon 6.3 fps
GT3 - Troll's Lair 5.5 fps
GT4 - Mother Nature 9.1 fps

surfhurleydude
03-12-03, 07:23 PM
well don't just stand here, go try using it :p

oh and btw, what's the 3dmark2003 Pixel Shader 2.0 numbers with these drivers? - thanks :)

jAkUp
03-12-03, 07:25 PM
all i know is that my 3dmark score suxorz... ill run it through again and give you details...

GlowStick
03-12-03, 07:31 PM
Is the 16xAA from the QuadroFX line? Cuz those drivers were saposta be for the quadro or something. Kinda some confusion on it.

emailthatguy
03-12-03, 07:34 PM
well hows it run? do tell do tell! play some games w/ it. it would rock if you could play america's army w/ it as i play that and serious sam daily :D

GlowStick
03-12-03, 07:37 PM
Originally posted by emailthatguy
well hows it run? do tell do tell! play some games w/ it. it would rock if you could play america's army w/ it as i play that and serious sam daily :D

Sweet, SS is awesome!

MikeC
03-12-03, 07:59 PM
Originally posted by jAkUp
i just installed the 43.30 drivers on my geforcefx... and noticed it has settings for 16x aa!! was this a geforce spec?? is geforce supposed to support this??!! i thought it was only 8x... very strange

If I recall correctly, the Quadro FX officially supports 16X AA.

volt
03-12-03, 08:04 PM
Hmmm true. I recon those drivers were leaked by Dell no ?

I wonder if this actually "works" heh

Hellbinder
03-12-03, 08:07 PM
Being that the Nvidia Hardware only supports 4 sample AA max. How are they justifying 16x???

Perhaps they are calling 4x MSAA and 4x SSAA blended with a post filter = 16x????

I think that must be it. Well get some screenies man. lets see how it looks !!!

emailthatguy
03-12-03, 08:10 PM
yeah im chompin at the bit on this one

GlowStick
03-12-03, 08:11 PM
Originally posted by MikeC
If I recall correctly, the Quadro FX officially supports 16X AA.

Hey i speculated on that :D

Ninja Prime
03-12-03, 08:21 PM
Maybe they are using some wack interlaced 4x mode that uses four different half pixel shifted 4x modes kinda like quincunx, or maybe it overlays four 4x grids in a cross pattern... or maybe I'm just lost in space.

How about a in-game screen or a 3dmark screen so we can compare?

emailthatguy
03-12-03, 08:24 PM
woot!!! hey jackup you made the front page dude. right on bro yer famous

Quinn1981
03-12-03, 08:29 PM
What exactly suxorz about the card? It is a chip on a card and nothing else. If you are talking about the GeForce FX, let's hear the facts and not the fiction. nVidia could make the card do 32X AF, but would they enable it in drivers.... I think not, since the performance is off due to their lack of time to make a mature set of drivers. If this post is posted on nvnews, I intend to take it seriously. Give us your performance and nothing else as we have seen practically nothing on the FX family's realy performance other than prerelease benchmarks.

Sorry if I seem uptight, but I'm kind of drunk at the moment. :) Please, don't tease us with silly driver problems. Give us the truth that you know from using the product.

muzz
03-12-03, 08:29 PM
This should be interesting.... hold on I gotta get the popcorn for this slideshow.......





OK I'm back. did I miss anything?




There is a reason they weren't in the shipping/review drivers. take a look at the hit they were taking at 4-6X AA with the other versions.
I guess for still shots they may help, but they will be useless for almost anything else IMO.

jAkUp
03-12-03, 08:34 PM
ok... i have a pic of 8xaa... and also a pic of 16xaa... im gonna try to get them up, but i have a feeling my bandwith is gonna run out for today...... ****ty homestead... but here goes....

muzz
03-12-03, 08:37 PM
jak you really need to find some other hosting bro.:D

emailthatguy
03-12-03, 08:37 PM
get this man some better free hosting stat! =p

DaveW
03-12-03, 08:38 PM
Its probably too slow for real gaming... but it would be handy for those moments when you are playing the latest FPS and pause to look at the eye candy and think hmmmm.... this would make a nice desktop wallpaper.

muzz
03-12-03, 08:40 PM
The latest RPG maybe......they have some great artwork in those games too.

In an FPS enviroment it will be slow enough to hit printscreen and have a clear picture...

MikeC
03-12-03, 08:40 PM
Originally posted by jAkUp
ok... i have a pic of 8xaa... and also a pic of 16xaa... im gonna try to get them up, but i have a feeling my bandwith is gonna run out for today...... ****ty homestead... but here goes....

E-mail them to me at mikec@nvnews.net and I'll put them up.

jAkUp
03-12-03, 08:41 PM
ok here it is... rallysport challenge 1024x768 all options maxed... i tried to get the screenies in the same locations and stuff... but the cars change randomly... its hard... this is the best i could do:

i imagine you would have to zoom in to really see the difference... if there are any:)


http://www.nvnews.net/images/news/200303/8.jpg

http://www.nvnews.net/images/news/200303/16.jpg

ummm... i think the first one is 8xaa and the second is 16... i hope i didnt get them mixed up.. for some reason i have a feeling i did:rolleyes:

emailthatguy
03-12-03, 08:42 PM
mike c pwned homestead =p

i love this site =p

emailthatguy
03-12-03, 08:47 PM
well i think the 16x shot looks better but i cant be sure. these are jpg's after all. ahhh doesnt matter to me anymore. im still getting one


you notice a framerate difference between the two?

styles-T
03-12-03, 08:53 PM
You can tell by the railing on the right side..The second pic looks much smoother..that must be the 16x AA..Then again it looks like they are from different angles..Plus Im on a crappy laptop at the moment.. >:|