PDA

View Full Version : What would happen if I put old DDR in my Core2 setup?


Zelda_fan
02-13-07, 04:31 PM
So here's the situation.

Have everything I need for my new Core2 build except my nice GSkill HZ DDR2-8000 RAM which is coming Thursday. I could take the DDR ram out of my old computer and put in in the BX2... would this work and just underclock the FSB? I know I should wait, but I'm just antsy to get everything together.

J-Mag
02-13-07, 04:33 PM
Round peg square hole kinda guy, eh?

The Dimms are keyed differently...

CaptNKILL
02-13-07, 04:33 PM
It is DDR2 right?

If not, it wont even fit.

Zelda_fan
02-13-07, 04:35 PM
well if it's keyed differently then that solves that

SlieTheSecond
02-13-07, 04:49 PM
Well you could take a saw and cut some new slots or take a hammer and smash it in.

Just don't expect to use your new computer :)

Zelda_fan
02-13-07, 05:37 PM
So if I turn it on without any memory installed, would it even get the the BIOS screen? I've got everything installed in already so once the memory arrives, BAM I'm gold.

shabby
02-13-07, 05:53 PM
Jam it in, it'll fit...

tacos4me
02-13-07, 05:55 PM
So if I turn it on without any memory installed, would it even get the the BIOS screen? I've got everything installed in already so once the memory arrives, BAM I'm gold.

Nope, it won't do anything. You'll just get POST errors. Go to a B&M store and grab a $50 crap stick if you're that anxious. :p

ViN86
02-13-07, 05:55 PM
Jam it in, it'll fit...
:rofl

not only are they keyed differently with the notch, they dont even have the same number of pins.
not to mention DDR2 runs at a lower voltage than DDR.

SlieTheSecond
02-13-07, 06:16 PM
Your best bet is to wait it out.

You have waited your entire life to be where you are today. I don't think 2 more days is gonna hurt.

buffbiff21
02-15-07, 04:21 AM
It would not work, plain and simple. It would not fit DDR is 184 pin and DDR2 is 240 pin. Vdimm is different also. Just dont try it.

Capt. Picard
02-15-07, 04:28 AM
http://www.audifaz.com/coldwar/cold-bomb.jpg

crainger
02-15-07, 05:10 AM
Capt. is right...

CaptNKILL
02-15-07, 05:57 AM
:lol2:

Bokishi
02-15-07, 07:04 PM
^^Exactly!

spoop
02-15-07, 08:00 PM
Just cut it so it fits, that worked for a 7800GTX, right? :p