PDA

View Full Version : vista control panel bug


tweaked
02-13-07, 10:45 PM
my control panel, it wont open.

only reference i could find was that it was a nvidia driver bug with 100.XX.

anyone else have this bug?

AdamK47
02-15-07, 01:26 PM
I also had that problem. It usually happens after installing ntune or the nvidia drivers. If you search on google for Vista Empry Control Panel you'll see that everyone with this problem has an nVidia video card. What I did to fix it was to open up task manager, on the process tab end srvsvc.dll. Switch to the services tab and restart srvsvc.dll.

inSpirAcy
02-15-07, 02:51 PM
Mine would take a minute to open after installing nTune. The bug went away after I installed 100.64, so perhaps just a reinstallation was needed (or they fixed something, highly unlikely!). :D

AdamK47
02-15-07, 07:24 PM
Mine would take a minute to open after installing nTune. The bug went away after I installed 100.64, so perhaps just a reinstallation was needed (or they fixed something, highly unlikely!). :D

Wrong, this (http://home.cinci.rr.com/adamk47/cp.jpg) is the problem.

$n][pErMan
02-15-07, 07:32 PM
Running it as Administrator fixed the problem for me.

AdamK47
02-15-07, 08:47 PM
[pErMan']Running it as Administrator fixed the problem for me.

Running what as administrator?

tweaked
02-15-07, 09:53 PM
Wrong, this (http://home.cinci.rr.com/adamk47/cp.jpg) is the problem.


Bingo!

i rebooted and logged in as admin (local built in admin account) and it went away.

$n][pErMan
02-15-07, 10:33 PM
Running what as administrator?
Running the Nvidia Control Panel. Right click on its icon and select the box toward the bottom that says "Run as Administrator". :) So far that has fixed all kinds of issues with other programs for me too. You can also force XPsp2 compatability on a lot of programs too in order to get them to work.