PDA

View Full Version : 8800GTS 320mb question


toxikneedle
02-16-07, 03:24 PM
So I'm about to take the plunge and buy this card. My only question is, would I have PSU problems with this card, I heard they require a lot of power. I have a OCZ PowerStream 520w, which is SLI certified but I don't remember the ampage right now. I had 2 7800gtx's running on it no prob.

toxikneedle
02-16-07, 06:08 PM
anyone?

ATOJAR
02-16-07, 08:05 PM
Im sure 520w should be enough to power that card just fine!

MikeC
02-16-07, 08:18 PM
NVIDIA's minimum recommendation is a 400 watt power supply with +12 volt current rating of 26 amps.

Roadhog
02-16-07, 08:22 PM
yeah, that psu is more than enough, don't worry. :D

Blacklash
02-16-07, 08:32 PM
In conclusion enjoy yo' card.

toxikneedle
02-16-07, 10:06 PM
alright thanks guys, i kinda freaked out after reading random comments about 8800's and psu power. Ordered from newegg, can't wait to try it out.

john19055
02-17-07, 04:34 AM
You will be fine with the OCZ 520watt since it puts out 33amps on the 12v rail.I ran my 7800Gt SLI set-up off of a 470watt OCZ PowerStream ,it put out the same power on the 12v rail as the 520watt does.They are a great power supply IMO.

spaceigg
02-17-07, 09:23 AM
is the 320mb lacking performance in comp with the 640
or is the memory the only difference

SlieTheSecond
02-17-07, 11:15 AM
Only difference is memory.

spaceigg
02-17-07, 12:02 PM
really wow I feel bad! I got the 640mb for a lot more than the 320 are going for... man if I had only waited!!!:(

jcrox
02-17-07, 01:24 PM
Don't feel bad, right now with the DX9 games a 320MB board is great. When the new DX10 games come out, if you play at 1600 x 1200 or above you'll be very happy you got the 640MB version. I don't know why people are so hot on these 320MB versions, after the rebates it's only $50 to $60 more for the 640MB version.

toxikneedle
02-17-07, 01:48 PM
really wow I feel bad! I got the 640mb for a lot more than the 320 are going for... man if I had only waited!!!:(
maybe you can pitch evga or someone an idea of having a "Step-down" program, kinda like the opposite of evga's step-up.

spaceigg
02-17-07, 02:27 PM
very funny :thumbdwn:

ATOJAR
02-18-07, 06:51 AM
Don't feel bad, right now with the DX9 games a 320MB board is great. When the new DX10 games come out, if you play at 1600 x 1200 or above you'll be very happy you got the 640MB version.

Yeah, thats why im glad i got the 640MB version! with my monitor i can play games @ 2048x1536 res ..... its at a higher res that the 640MB version will shine!

spaceigg
02-18-07, 09:42 AM
so it's still a good deal then. good I feel better(nana2)