PDA

View Full Version : Bad Memory?


Absolution
02-19-07, 05:21 PM
Could my sticks of memory potentially be bad even though they are stable at 711MHZ (4-4-3-8 @ 1T) while not being stable at 800mhz (4-4-3-8 @ 2T)? Both past memtest fine but the second crashes windows all the time.

SlieTheSecond
02-19-07, 07:12 PM
Is the ram rated at 800mhz (4-4-3-8 @ 2T) ??

Absolution
02-19-07, 09:53 PM
Is the ram rated at 800mhz (4-4-3-8 @ 2T) ??
yes

its the ram in my sig

stevemedes
02-19-07, 10:27 PM
RMA that sh*t

Zelda_fan
02-19-07, 11:15 PM
Could my sticks of memory potentially be bad even though they are stable at 711MHZ (4-4-3-8 @ 1T) while not being stable at 800mhz (4-4-3-8 @ 2T)? Both past memtest fine but the second crashes windows all the time.

memtest is a total bull**** stability test. Run an Orthos blend test. If it crashes windows I guarantee you it will not run an Orthos blend test for more than an hour. I personally test overclocks to run Orthos for at least 12 hours before I declare them stable.

Zelda_fan
02-19-07, 11:16 PM
yes

its the ram in my sig

How much voltages are you sending them? SuperTalent I believe uses Micron D9s on the high end kits (though a lot of 6400 kits have been sneaking Elpida lately). Micron D9s overclock great, but they need a lot of volts and damn good cooling.

buffbiff21
02-20-07, 01:39 AM
memtest is a total bull**** stability test.
No, it is not.

If your DIMMs are bad memtest WIL pick up on them eventually.

It is not as informative as Orthos, i.e. notifying you of errors, but it is still a memory test that WILL do its intended purpose.

Absolution
02-20-07, 02:28 AM
Im using the default voltage (2.2v) its so strange though... loosening the timings doesnt improve stabililty at 800mhz.... (neither does voltage)

what does everyone think...? bad memory, or bad mobo?

SlieTheSecond
02-20-07, 06:31 AM
memtest is a total bull**** stability test. Run an Orthos blend test. If it crashes windows I guarantee you it will not run an Orthos blend test for more than an hour. I personally test overclocks to run Orthos for at least 12 hours before I declare them stable.

I disagree with that too. Ortho's gave me errors after a while and I wasn't sure if it was my cpu or ram.

I ran memtest86 and after about 2 minutes I had the errors piling up.

Absolution
02-20-07, 06:13 PM
I decided to RMA the ram, too bad newegg doesn't offer advanced RMA - my comp will be out for another week :(