PDA

View Full Version : RAID 0 @ 7200RPM or RaptorX FTW?


methimpikehoses
02-20-07, 02:22 PM
I am looking to improve my HDD performance. I have a Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 250GB (8MB cache) harddrive that came on an HP Pavilion. Should I buy another one of these and put them in RAID 0, or should I just get a Raptor X and load Vista and my games onto it?

I understand that two Raptor X's would be the fastest, but it's also more $$$.

TiKiMaN1
02-20-07, 03:00 PM
RAID O is very fast IMO. Either way would be very good... but you could always add a second Raptor X later.:D

|MaguS|
02-20-07, 03:17 PM
Just get two raptors, **** the X model... only thing special about it is that it has a window on it...

DiscipleDOC
02-20-07, 03:59 PM
Just get two raptors, **** the X model... only thing special about it is that it has a window on it...
QFT.....I got a 74GB raptor in my system, there's no difference in this than the raptor x except the x is larger capacity. I don't need the larger cap since I'm using it just as a os drive...
See for yourself:
http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/200/raptorssd6.png (http://imageshack.us)

methimpikehoses
02-20-07, 05:02 PM
Okay, agreed, no need for the glitz raptor X. So I should do 1 raptor for OS and games (74gig I guess) and then use my seagate 7200 for files FTW?


SO...

(1) raptor + (1) SB 7200 250gb > (2) SB 7200 250gb RAID 0?

john19055
02-20-07, 06:59 PM
I would just get another Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 250GB and run it in a Raid 0,you will have a lot more space and a single raptoe is not going to be no faster then a Raid-0 setup.i get great performance with mine ,when running HDTach I get 134mb read and they are very quiet

Bman212121
02-20-07, 07:22 PM
Raid has always worked really well for me. The advantage of the Raptor is that it will be quicker on seeks due to the increased spindle speed, if you have really small files, like 32KB or so, then the raptor might be able access random files faster. The raid will always win in larger data hits, because it has the ability to read data twice as fast as a single drive would. (In two drive configuration, theoretically) I notice a big difference in loading times, install times, and the computer just feels snappier when running in an array over a single drive. I never have really tried the two drives as seperate, because to me it doesn't make a lot of sense. If you put your data onto 1 drive, the other drive with your OS is going to sit idle most of the time, so there is a lot of wasted potential.

methimpikehoses
02-20-07, 07:41 PM
RAID 0 FTW!

(nana2)

Just ordered the Seagate.

|MaguS|
02-20-07, 07:45 PM
I have my OS and games on my Raptor, all my anime, backup files, pron, manga, ect... are on my other 5 drives... I have alot of anime and pron... and both...

firehawk
02-20-07, 08:02 PM
I have my OS and games on my Raptor, all my anime, backup files, pron, manga, ect... are on my other 5 drives... I have alot of anime and pron... and both...



guro? loli?


i just went through this the other day with myself. my old ide drives are getting increasingly slow. i was stuck between a raptor and seagate. i wanted speed but didnt want to loose my storage space. fitting everything on a single 120 gig raptor isnt going to happen. in the end i decided to get the raptor and use my old drives for storge of non important stuff. when i can afford it i will get another raptor.

Rytr
02-20-07, 08:36 PM
I would go for the Raptor (74GB or 150GB) and use the 7200 for backup and files. Of course, I am partial to the Raptor. Tommorrow I plan on dual booting (XP and Vista) from separate Raid 0 arrays made up of 74GB Raptors. :D

methimpikehoses
02-20-07, 09:08 PM
Well I went with another SB 7200 FTW because it was ~$70. Raptors will have to wait.

So I already have Vista Prem. on my original 7200 (w/ the old xp media center files), should I just transfer all of my game files to the new 7200 for the raid 0, or clean install the Vista onto the new drive?

methimpikehoses
02-21-07, 10:35 AM
CHANGED my mind FTW!

Gotta go bigger, so I cancelled the RAID 0 7200 and went Raptor 150gb!

Will try RAID 0 on it when I can.

:canadian:

DiscipleDOC
02-21-07, 03:26 PM
CHANGED my mind FTW!

Gotta go bigger, so I cancelled the RAID 0 7200 and went Raptor 150gb!

Will try RAID 0 on it when I can.

:canadian:
You won't be sorry. ;)

stncttr908
02-21-07, 04:13 PM
CHANGED my mind FTW!

Gotta go bigger, so I cancelled the RAID 0 7200 and went Raptor 150gb!

Will try RAID 0 on it when I can.

:canadian:
I use RAID 0, but it really is like playing with fire. I hope I get a nice RAID 5 NAS built before I get burned.

HeavyH20
02-21-07, 04:43 PM
The best setup is RAID 0 OS and a single large drive for storage. I use two Raptor 150's in RAID 0 with the 500 GB for data. Works great!

But, solid state drives will replace the Raptor as the enthusias drive, soon enough. And, Seagate is releasing a 15K rpm drive, as well.

hectorsm
02-21-07, 04:58 PM
The best setup is RAID 0 OS and a single large drive for storage. I use two Raptor 150's in RAID 0 with the 500 GB for data. Works great!

But, solid state drives will replace the Raptor as the enthusias drive, soon enough. And, Seagate is releasing a 15K rpm drive, as well.


Just out of curiosity what is your throughput on your Raptors?

MB/s range?