PDA

View Full Version : My next CPU....


Pages : [1] 2

DiscipleDOC
02-21-07, 01:54 PM
http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/amd_athlon_64_x2_6000/

:drooling: :drooling: :drooling: :drooling: :drooling: :drooling: :drooling:

GeniusPr0
02-21-07, 01:57 PM
??? E6600 is better.. and cheaper

buffbiff21
02-21-07, 02:01 PM
70MHz faster than Intelís fastest Core 2 Extreme processor, the Core 2 Extreme X6800

clock speed aint got nothin on Conroe

I really hate firingsquad....

Zelda_fan
02-21-07, 02:09 PM
I hate to burst your bubble, but the E6600 is cheaper, just as fast, and you can get another GHZ of speed if you are willing to overclock it more.

Rytr
02-21-07, 02:12 PM
If it priced competitive otherwise get a 5200+ and overclock it. It will require a better HSF but apparently on the average the 5200+ has sufficient headroom and for the price difference it easily beats the 54-5800+.

CaptNKILL
02-21-07, 02:16 PM
clock speed aint got nothin on Conroe

I really hate firingsquad....
Wow nice job taking it out of context... :p


With the debut of the Athlon 64 X2 6000+, AMDís X2 line has caught up to their high-end FXís in clock speed for the very first time Ė you no longer have to pay a premium to get AMDís flagship processor. In fact, clocked at 3.0GHz, the Athlon 64 X2 6000+ technically runs 70MHz faster than Intelís fastest Core 2 Extreme processor, the Core 2 Extreme X6800. Pretty ironic huh?


I really like Firingsquad. I find their reviews to be much more informative than most sites and their benchmarks are usually a lot more varied and (imo) useful than others.

DiscipleDOC
02-21-07, 02:21 PM
Wow nice job taking it out of context... :p




I really like Firingsquad. I find their reviews to be much more informative than most sites and their benchmarks are usually a lot more varied and (imo) useful than others.
I like Firingsquad, too. I think they do a complete job on their reviews.

If it priced competitive otherwise get a 5200+ and overclock it. It will require a better HSF but apparently on the average the 5200+ has sufficient headroom and for the price difference it easily beats the 54-5800+.
I already have a 5200.


I will wait for about a month ad get this. The price is probably through the roof right now.

SlieTheSecond
02-21-07, 02:21 PM
But u can't compare clock speed to clock speed.

It may run 70mhz faster. But it does not have better performance.

dsessom
02-21-07, 02:21 PM
As you can see, we were able to hit speeds just north of 3.2GHz with the X2 6000+.

:lame:

WOW. They clocked a 3.0Ghz CPU to a blazing 3.2Ghz!!!

The $300 E6600 will OC about 800Mhz over stock on air right out of the box. I got one up to 3.5 (1.1Ghz O/C) a few days ago on a PC I build for a friend.
Those Conroe cores are no joke.

Rytr
02-21-07, 02:47 PM
I think Doc has an AM2 socket motherboard and wants to upgrade it...least expensive way. Buying a Conroe requires motherboard and possibly ram...not the least expensive way. I know, I did and would do it again. :)

I have an excellent performing E6600 but it cost me substantially more than what Doc will have in a 6000+ and...depending on the card he will be able to play any games I play.

CaptNKILL
02-21-07, 03:01 PM
But u can't compare clock speed to clock speed.

It may run 70mhz faster. But it does not have better performance.
They didn't say anything other than it was clocked 70Mhz faster, and it is. Clock speed is a physical thing, it isn't a performance rating. They said multiple times that the conroe performs better overall (hence the "irony" comment I quoted).

Whats with all the hate? Jeez. :p

DiscipleDOC
02-21-07, 03:05 PM
I think Doc has an AM2 socket motherboard and wants to upgrade it...least expensive way. Buying a Conroe requires motherboard and possibly ram...not the least expensive way. I know, I did and would do it again. :)

I have an excellent performing E6600 but it cost me substantially more than what Doc will have in a 6000+ and...depending on the card he will be able to play any games I play.
My point exactly. As I said before, I am happy with the AM2 setup, and if I can upgrade this way, I will stay with AMD.

As for the o/c goes: I got a 5200 (2.6GHz) going at 3.0 GHz. I won't have any problems making that 6000 call me daddy either. (pimp)

DiscipleDOC
02-21-07, 03:12 PM
Guys check this out from TechReport (http://techreport.com/reviews/2007q1/athlon64-x2-6000/index.x?pg=13):
AMD's two old-school tricks, the price cut and the clock speed bump, have combined to give the Athlon 64 X2 6000+ a pretty good value proposition. Performance-wise, the X2 6000+ is slower overall than the Core 2 Duo E6700, but not by much. That may be a surprising outcome to those accustomed to seeing Core 2 Duo processors convincingly trounce the competition, but these two architectures were never that different in terms of clock-for-clock performance. It stands to reason that a 3GHz Athlon 64 X2 could nearly pull even with a Core 2 Duo at 2.66GHz. The X2 6000+ is also about 70 bucks cheaper than the E6700, making it a pretty sweet deal in the grand scheme of things. Of course, as always, there are better deals to be had at lower price points than this one, but the X2 6000+ offers a compelling alternative to the E6700.

GeniusPr0
02-21-07, 03:19 PM
Guys check this out from TechReport (http://techreport.com/reviews/2007q1/athlon64-x2-6000/index.x?pg=13):

i guess you dont overclock

buffbiff21
02-21-07, 04:15 PM
The only ironic thing is that an $160 e4300 with some cheap ram can easily OC to beat this chip.

Firingsquad did not mention this.

DiscipleDOC
02-21-07, 04:29 PM
i guess you dont overclock

My point exactly. As I said before, I am happy with the AM2 setup, and if I can upgrade this way, I will stay with AMD.

As for the o/c goes: I got a 5200 (2.6GHz) going at 3.0 GHz. I won't have any problems making that 6000 call me daddy either. (pimp)

I guess I do! ;)

a12ctic
02-21-07, 06:07 PM
WHY DONT YOU JUST GET A QX6700 AND LIEK asus 680i MOBO!!! Oh wait, not everyone has bottomless pockets? Sorry, I didnt know that. Do you people understand that it costs quite a bit of money to move to a new platform?

HeavyH20
02-21-07, 06:46 PM
Yes, it can be expensive. I did it for two of my systems but not the third, yet. I gave away the dual core AMD systems (4400+ and 4200+) as gifts to my nephews. But, it is interesting that my Opteron 175 system at 2.8 Ghz seems so slow. Things have really moved along.

I remember when I first entered the AMD world from Intel, and the multitasking seemed slower. And, now that I am back, it certainly seems faster. Little things, like alt tabbing between apps is certainly more snappy. But, in games, a few FPS will be all that you see compared to the AMD. Either platform works just fine, but the C2D systems are certainly faster.

buffbiff21
02-21-07, 08:09 PM
Wow nice job taking it out of context... :p


:D

Still thou, the way they worded that is a little mis-leading.

WHY DONT YOU JUST GET A QX6700 AND LIEK asus 680i MOBO!!! Oh wait, not everyone has bottomless pockets? Sorry, I didnt know that. Do you people understand that it costs quite a bit of money to move to a new platform?

e4300 + ds3 + cheap ram
were talkin ... 400 bucks?

Stoneyguy
02-21-07, 08:19 PM
WHY DONT YOU JUST GET A QX6700 AND LIEK asus 680i MOBO!!! Oh wait, not everyone has bottomless pockets? Sorry, I didnt know that. Do you people understand that it costs quite a bit of money to move to a new platform?

All he needs is a new mobo. His memory should be fine and everything else is easily transferable.

a12ctic
02-21-07, 09:04 PM
a new mobo+cpu, which easily costs more than just a cpu.

Stoneyguy
02-21-07, 10:08 PM
a new mobo+cpu, which easily costs more than just a cpu.

hehe, no doubt. I was just making a point that your previous comment was a bit extreme. A bottomless pocket isn't needed to make the change. In fact an OEM Windsor 6000 is 600 bucks at Newegg. For that money, one could easily get a 6600 C2D (retail) and mobo.

Madpistol
02-22-07, 08:54 AM
So let me get this straight...

You can make the X2 6000+ call you "daddy" with a small OC on that processor. But if you got an E6600 or cheaper Core 2 Duo processor, you could make it scream like a little kid at the doctor's office.

Do you catch my drift? The OC's on AMD's chips are subpar compared to the Core 2's.

DiscipleDOC
02-22-07, 09:03 AM
So let me get this straight...

You can make the X2 6000+ call you "daddy" with a small OC on that processor. But if you got an E6600 or cheaper Core 2 Duo processor, you could make it scream like a little kid at the doctor's office.

Do you catch my drift? The OC's on AMD's chips are subpar compared to the Core 2's.

LOL.....my point is that I will be happy with the 6000 regardless.

As it was mentioned earlier: I already have a AM2 setup. I'm happy. I will stay with the setup. My title reads "My next CPU....", not "Help me choose my next CPU...." which means I already made up my mind. My money. My choice. ;)

Zelda_fan
02-22-07, 10:22 AM
WHY DONT YOU JUST GET A QX6700 AND LIEK asus 680i MOBO!!! Oh wait, not everyone has bottomless pockets? Sorry, I didnt know that. Do you people understand that it costs quite a bit of money to move to a new platform?

nice try jr. Leave 1337 speak to the pros.