PDA

View Full Version : Who all gets horrible performance with their 8800gtx and 3dmark06 (or 8800gts)?


Pages : [1] 2

3DBrad
02-22-07, 12:09 PM
So who gets horrible performance?

It runs worse than it did with my 7800gtx and much worse than it did with my 7900gtx or 7950gx2.

The opening scene I get around 15-20fps, and my 7950gx2 would get 50-61fps.

Anyone else have this same issue?

I have already formatted my HDD and reinstalled XP, using 97.92 drivers.

Other games run amazingly fast though.

agentkay
02-22-07, 12:17 PM
Do you have the latest version of DX9c? If you do, make sure AA, AF, and Vsync are all set to "application-controlled", and finally try the 97.02 driver, which seems to be the fastest driver when it comes to 3Dmark.

3DBrad
02-22-07, 12:18 PM
Do you have the latest version of DX9c? If you do, make sure AA, AF, and Vsync are all set to "application-controlled", and finally try the 97.02 driver, which seems to be the fastest driver when it comes to 3Dmark.

I tried both with untouched driver settings and with tweaked drivers settings. Also, since I have the free version, I don't think the Nvidia driver settings are able to force AA, as I have never been able to do it in the past. :)

How can I double check I have the latest D9 updates?

I have install HL2, Dark Messiah, and other games, I was assuming I'd be fine with their updates?

agentkay
02-22-07, 12:24 PM
http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/OS-Enhancements/DirectX-9.0c-Redistributable.shtml

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=4b1f5d0c-5e44-4864-93cd-464ef59da050&DisplayLang=en

^^^ Thats the February 2007 version.

Im not exactly sure what version of 3Dmark06 you have (1.02 or 1.10) but if its not the 1.10 version you can also try to patch it and see if the issue goes away.

http://www.futuremark.com/download/3dmark06patch110/

3DBrad
02-22-07, 12:30 PM
http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/OS-Enhancements/DirectX-9.0c-Redistributable.shtml

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=4b1f5d0c-5e44-4864-93cd-464ef59da050&DisplayLang=en

^^^ Thats the February 2007 version.

Thanks, I'll report back to ya'll. :)

My card also squeaks on startup/shutdown, but I'm planning on stepping up next month anyway, so no reason to send it back to eVGA. :)

3DBrad
02-22-07, 02:20 PM
Hey,

That fixed it, but the PC still locks up if I just OC the card a little bit with Ntune or ATI tool. :thumbdwn:

3dmark06 score was 9850-ish (forgot the exact number). It's OK, but I gotta do better than that. :D

SlieTheSecond
02-22-07, 02:28 PM
What cpu do you got and at what speed?

People with high marks also have a very high end cpu.

nopp0x00
02-22-07, 03:36 PM
Hey,

That fixed it, but the PC still locks up if I just OC the card a little bit with Ntune or ATI tool. :thumbdwn:

3dmark06 score was 9850-ish (forgot the exact number). It's OK, but I gotta do better than that. :D

If you can OC the card at all, consider yourself lucky. No one is entitled to an OC.

And relax and enjoy the games with the card. **** the 3dmark06 score. Cards are meant to be used to play games, not for stressing out over synthetic scores.

3DBrad
02-22-07, 03:38 PM
What cpu do you got and at what speed?

People with high marks also have a very high end cpu.

Sorry, it's a Core 2 Duo e6400@3ghz.

3DBrad
02-22-07, 03:39 PM
If you can OC the card at all, consider yourself lucky. No one is entitled to an OC.

And relax and enjoy the games with the card. **** the 3dmark06 score. Cards are meant to be used to play games, not for stressing out over synthetic scores.

Lucky? No. These cards are produced to last a lot longer than I'm wanting to keep them, so it isn't bad for me wanting to boost performance seeing as I don't plan to be using it in 2010 or anything like that.

3DBrad
02-22-07, 03:42 PM
What cpu do you got and at what speed?

People with high marks also have a very high end cpu.

My 7950gx2 got 8910, I'm planning on getting 11,500, even if I have to bump the CPU OC to 3.3-3.4ghz.

daforce
02-22-07, 06:12 PM
Well with my rig, i got around 8221 marks I think. Which is about normal for an X2 with a 8800GTX.

Try running your cpu at stock and see how much of a different that makes. In all honest 3dmark is fairly irrelevant, gauge your cards performance via game FPS..etc..

SLippe
02-22-07, 07:46 PM
See Sig for '06 score...

lukrad
02-22-07, 09:16 PM
I score around 9500 with single 8800GTX card under Vista. I can hit almost 10000 under X64 XP edition. Pretty good for Opteron Dual Core@2.75 :)

v8x
02-23-07, 06:27 AM
So who gets horrible performance?

It runs worse than it did with my 7800gtx and much worse than it did with my 7900gtx or 7950gx2.

The opening scene I get around 15-20fps, and my 7950gx2 would get 50-61fps.

Anyone else have this same issue?

I have already formatted my HDD and reinstalled XP, using 97.92 drivers.

Other games run amazingly fast though.
Asus P5B deluxe motherboards have a PCIE bug which sets the PCIE link width of the 16x slot to 1x. You can verify if this is the case with CPUZ.

Darkoz
02-23-07, 07:55 AM
Asus P5B deluxe motherboards have a PCIE bug which sets the PCIE link width of the 16x slot to 1x. You can verify if this is the case with CPUZ.

That's correct, it's somehow linked to overclocking the CPU and it also happens to other 965p motherboards not just ASUS.

3DBrad
02-23-07, 08:13 AM
How do you fix that? :)

3DBrad
02-23-07, 08:15 AM
Well, isn't mine fixed?

BTW, mine is fixed, I just updated the DX9 files as the first replier mentioned. :)

Darkoz
02-23-07, 08:17 AM
How do you fix that? :)

At this stage there isn't a known fix apart from not overclocking the CPU and/or changing timings/voltages.
I think it's a motherboard BIOS issue and not a hardware problem.

3DBrad
02-23-07, 08:20 AM
At this stage there isn't a known fix apart from not overclocking the CPU and/or changing timings/voltages.
I think it's a motherboard BIOS issue and not a hardware problem.
Ok, well CPUz says mine is running at 16x, if you see the pic above, so I guess mine's fixed?

Darkoz
02-23-07, 08:34 AM
Ok, well CPUz says mine is running at 16x, if you see the pic above, so I guess mine's fixed?

Yours was not the same issue , your PCI-e frequency is running as it should @ x16.

JaxMacFL
02-23-07, 08:40 AM
I got 10066 here with Vista Business. About 310 points less than with XP Pro, but than again, can't overclock GTXs in Vista yet.

Link: http://service.futuremark.com/orb/projectdetails.jsp?projectType=14&projectId=1286875

ASUSEN7900GTX
02-23-07, 08:46 AM
a dumb question does vista give bore speed in games and benchmarks?

JaxMacFL
02-23-07, 09:07 AM
a dumb question does vista give bore speed in games and benchmarks?

I'm assuming you mean 'core' speeds for gpus'. The benchmarking software should provide that information. I haven't seen true gpu/mem readings in 3dmark06 since 7800gtx. Even the latest WHQL 100.65 drivers come up as not FM approved. Things move to fast for software manufacturers to keep up with the 'updates'.

v8x
02-26-07, 03:51 AM
At this stage there isn't a known fix apart from not overclocking the CPU and/or changing timings/voltages.
I think it's a motherboard BIOS issue and not a hardware problem.
Yes it's a bios issue. THe link width is set to 1x when you change voltages. You can fix it by rebooting, going into bios, change voltage again and pray it sticks to 16x this time. You may need to reboot a few times.