PDA

View Full Version : My hard drive clicks, its driving me mad

MustangSVT
02-22-07, 01:08 PM
I've got a hard drive that's been doing this clicking noise every so often for like a month or two now and it's driving me mad. What can I do to fix it? Is there even anything to fix it? I don't even have a clue what is wrong with it. I've been using it quite a lot for storage for past 2-3 months and haven't had any problems.

lduguay
02-22-07, 01:14 PM
Backup your stuff now! Your HD is dying. What you hear is seek errors.

DiscipleDOC
02-22-07, 01:47 PM
A terrorist has placed a time bomb in your pc. It's been nice knowing you.:bye:

Riptide
02-22-07, 01:47 PM
Agreed. Bad sign. Backup data. Replace drive.

evilghost
02-22-07, 02:03 PM
Backup data, low-level format the drive, and 98% of the time this will fix the issue unless there is surface damage on the disk (unlikely). Low-level format the drive then run a full S.M.A.R.T scan on it.

Prior to the backup run a full chkdsk/scandisk on the drive with a surface-scan enabled. This will mark the clusters as bad and attempt to recover data off them.

MustangSVT
02-22-07, 03:09 PM
Hmm maybe time for a new hard drive?

My local shop has a Maxtor 500GB SATAII for $169.99cad.

evilghost
02-22-07, 03:11 PM
Hmm maybe time for a new hard drive?

My local shop has a Maxtor 500GB SATAII for $169.99cad.

Send me the old drive and I'll pay shipping, I'd love to take a $10 gamble on a 99% chance the drive is fine after low-level format.

lduguay
02-22-07, 03:21 PM
^Go get it, good price BTW, normally 189-200$

stncttr908
02-22-07, 03:23 PM
Maxtor is garbage, even now that they're Seagate's "value line." If it does have a 5 year warranty I'd say go for it, but if it's only 3 or (ugh) 1 year, forget it.

lduguay
02-22-07, 03:24 PM
Send me the old drive and I'll pay shipping, I'd love to take a $10 gamble on a 99% chance the drive is fine after low-level format.