PDA

View Full Version : Core2 E6300 worthless with 8800 GTS


Pages : [1] 2

Maverickman
02-23-07, 07:54 PM
I managed to get a BFG 8800 GTS OC card working in a system with a Core2 E6300 CPU and P965 mobo. It;s not overclocked. The system is running Vista. i have 2GB DDR2 533MHz in the system. the card works well. I get 7647 in
3DMark 2006 and 11237 in 3DMark 2005. These are not bad scores, but are no means close to what an 8800 GTS can do. With my E6700 system I'm getting 9603 in "06 and 15438 in '05. I do have the card clocked to 600/1800MHz though. It's running Windows XP. I'll probably upgrade the E6300 to an E6600. I think it would result in a great performance boost.

banned1011
02-23-07, 08:26 PM
Overclock it. I've got my 6300 @ 3.5 Ghz 1.35v.

SlieTheSecond
02-23-07, 08:36 PM
Those are good scores. 3D mark 06 takes into account your cpu.
E6700 is a heck of a lot better than an E6300 so of course the score will be higher.

SlieTheSecond
02-23-07, 08:37 PM
Eeek Duplicate Post

Xion X2
02-23-07, 10:35 PM
You need to overclock the chip, of course. 1.86gHz is not nearly enough to push the 8800GTS.

john19055
02-23-07, 11:49 PM
You need to overclock that baby and give the 8800GTS the power it needs.
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=982698
I never have check what one card will do though ,but most E6300 will do 3gigs and beyond.have you seen how how you can get the CPU to overclock ,the highest I can get my 680i SLI is 1650 and my 650i SLI will do 2040.

grimreefer
02-24-07, 12:02 AM
u need more than 2 cores lol. 3dmark06 is unintentionally a cpu bench. if u had 8 cores(dual cloverton), im pretty sure ur score would double. for now, just overclock the cpu, because u wont see any real difference in any game atm if u buy a new cpu.

Zelda_fan
02-24-07, 12:25 AM
who gives a rat's ass what 3DMark says. I use it for stress testing and nothing more.

Can you play the games you want just fine? Ok then.

marqmajere
02-24-07, 03:13 AM
who gives a rat's ass what 3DMark says. I use it for stress testing and nothing more.

Can you play the games you want just fine? Ok then.


Exactly. I play my games at 1280x1024 with some AA/AF. Everything plays smooth with no problems whatsoever.

mustrum
02-24-07, 06:04 AM
I know this will come as a shock but still: 3dmark is not the end of all means!
:p

Dazz
02-24-07, 08:26 AM
Pretty much all E6300 card hit 2.66GHz with little if no voltage increases, as your FSB/memory is working higher it will tie with a E6700 with it's extra cache and all this for free.

hemmy
02-24-07, 09:26 AM
My E6300 runs 100% stable @ 3.2Ghz but i keep it lower because I like a silent computer and i dont want the cpu fan revving up

Gregor976
02-24-07, 11:14 AM
IMO The only important scores in 3dmark06 are the SM2 and SM3 fps scores. If your cpu is too weak to keep the fps high enough to be smooth then you have a problem.

What fps do you get in the sm2 tests and the sm3 tests?
My sm2 scores are:
33fps and 32fps
My sm3 scores are:
38fps and 42fps

I probably won't go c2d "or quad" until next winter.

Dazz
02-24-07, 03:16 PM
My E4300 does 3200MHz 100% stable gets abit warm at 60C with 2 hours of ORTHOS running both core 100%, games wise it's about 52C. Try for 3400MHz but the PWR's get very hot. As i need more voltage this increases their temps in excess of 90C so is unstable, i got the ThermalRight 120Ultra but sadly does not cool the PWR's so they get hot need a new HSF that will cool all. Any ideas of a good HSF with a down facing 120mm rather then side facing?

Maverickman
02-24-07, 05:21 PM
I heard that the E4300 overclocks the best because of its 9X multiplier, which is low. I can just adjust my FSB a bit and see where this E6300 can take me. I'm hoping for 3GHz, but we'll see.

lukrad
02-24-07, 05:54 PM
Core2 is not that much faster then AMD64/Opteron Dual Core. I'm comparing with the socket 939. If you manage to run Opteron at 2.7-3.0Ghz with some bad ass DDR500-DDR600, the chip is not far behind Core2. If you have system backuped up with 8800GTX or SLI 8800GTX, the difference is really small.

Blacklash
02-24-07, 06:59 PM
You should be able to get 2.8-3.0GHz with little trouble. Anand did this with the stock HSF:

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2802&p=10

X-bit's review with a E6300 @ X6800 speeds:

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/core2duo-e6300_11.html

An E6300 @ 2.6 will beat anything AMD offers. Of course that is hardly its limit. I have seen them @ 3.5 on air using the Asus P5B deluxe.

Xion X2
02-24-07, 10:11 PM
Core2 is not that much faster then AMD64/Opteron Dual Core. I'm comparing with the socket 939. If you manage to run Opteron at 2.7-3.0Ghz with some bad ass DDR500-DDR600, the chip is not far behind Core2. If you have system backuped up with 8800GTX or SLI 8800GTX, the difference is really small.

*shakes head*

This just isn't true. Clock for clock, the C2D's are ahead in performance, and if you overclock a Conroe to 3.6gHz like I have mine, there is a BIG difference in performance.

I ran SuperPi with a 31s best time ever on my X2 4400 @ 2.7gHz w/ OCZ DDR 500 Platinum RAM. With my Conroe @ 3.6, I run it at 14.3s.

That's a big, big difference and, I'm sorry to say this, but you just don't have a clue as to what you're talking about.

Rakeesh
02-24-07, 10:26 PM
I am not picky with regard to amd vs intel, but I do prefer to take whichever one produces the least heat vs performance, and right now that is c2d.

buffbiff21
02-25-07, 05:50 AM
who gives a rat's ass what 3DMark says. I use it for stress testing and nothing more.

Might I ask why you use 3dMK for stability testing?? There is literally no purpose to that - it is a GPU benchmark created primarily for the GPU manufacturers (and secondly the enthusiasts) to compare the capabilities of each card.

If you use it SOLELY for GPU stability, I understand. But anything else is unwise; use Orthos/Prime for CPU and Memtest for RAM. For example 3DMark will NOT test system memory stability!

I am not picky with regard to amd vs intel, but I do prefer to take whichever one produces the least heat vs performance, and right now that is c2d.

QFT

KickAssCop
02-25-07, 07:16 AM
Overclock the sucker.

Dazz
02-25-07, 07:33 AM
Run ORTHOS as a stability test it will stress noth cores to 100% for as long as needed and gives you an idea the MAX temp your CPU can get too.

Nasgul
02-25-07, 09:20 AM
I managed to get a BFG 8800 GTS OC card working in a system with a Core2 E6300 CPU and P965 mobo. It;s not overclocked. The system is running Vista. i have 2GB DDR2 533MHz in the system. the card works well. I get 7647 in
3DMark 2006 and 11237 in 3DMark 2005. These are not bad scores, but are no means close to what an 8800 GTS can do. With my E6700 system I'm getting 9603 in "06 and 15438 in '05. I do have the card clocked to 600/1800MHz though. It's running Windows XP. I'll probably upgrade the E6300 to an E6600. I think it would result in a great performance boost.
There's the answer as to why the problem with such bad low score. nVidia has its own drivers for Vista and XP, DX10 and DX9 are completely different.

If you were to run that GTS + E6300 + WinXP, you'd be getting a higher than 7647. This has been known for quite a while now, Vista scores are always going to be lower.

natan
02-25-07, 11:20 AM
You need to overclock the chip, of course. 1.86gHz is not nearly enough to push the 8800GTS.


but 2048x1536 + very high filter are ...

natan
02-25-07, 11:21 AM
u need more than 2 cores lol. 3dmark06 is unintentionally a cpu bench. if u had 8 cores(dual cloverton), im pretty sure ur score would double. for now, just overclock the cpu, because u wont see any real difference in any game atm if u buy a new cpu.


6300 @ 1.83 VS 6300@ 3.0 is a BIG difference... +60% RAW power in game ...
:o