PDA

View Full Version : please help me setup my computer...


dreamhost
02-25-07, 10:04 PM
I put my system together a few weeks ago now, and have had nothing but trouble with it since day 1. I really don't understand the bios settings, even after reading through so many threads that my head is spinning.

It seems that I have the same equipment as a lot of other users here, and unfortunately a lot of the same problems. If anyone with a setup close to mine, that is running stable, could help I'd be so happy.

What I would really like is a good stable baseline to start with, and suggestions to tweak it from there for my equipment. I saved up for months to buy my equipment and would really like it to run like it's supposed to.

I've spent weeks with constant video driver crashes, and only after I found a thread suggesting to link/sync my ram has it stayed stable for more than an hour without the error. The problem is I believe my settings are much slower than before as the computer feels really slow now.

thank you in advance for any advice given.

equipment:
evga 680i
e6600
bfg8800gts
2gb corsair pc8500c5
raptor 10k boot drive
antec 650w ps

Madpistol
02-25-07, 11:18 PM
So what's the problem? I've had lots of success with similar settings, but that's because I don't overclock unless I'm benching.

We need to know what your bios settings are and what you're confused about. That's how we can help you get this fixed, if it can be fixed.

Xion X2
02-25-07, 11:54 PM
Run your RAM speed at twice your FSB. That's pretty much all you need to know.

buffbiff21
02-26-07, 12:33 AM
What I would really like is a good stable baseline to start with
how about Stock? You need to test all of your components before you start tweaking them.

Run EVERYTHING at stock, and run these:
Dual Orthos for 24 hrs (CPU), and Memtest86+ for 24 hrs. (RAM)

I've spent weeks with constant video driver crashes,

Driver crashes? Are you getting BSODS? If so then I am almost 100% sure your RAM is faulty. Here http://www.houseofhelp.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=146

Run your RAM speed at twice your FSB. That's pretty much all you need to know.
yep :) However this is only if he is OCing. Test your components stock before attempting to OC

Honestly this sounds like bad memory to me. My old system's COrsair ram was faulty; go to their site and hit up RAM Guy on those forums and they will set you straight.

Amuro
02-26-07, 01:31 AM
Your RAM needs 2.2v, so make sure you give it enough voltage.

dreamhost
02-26-07, 01:28 PM
Here's my settings so far.
I turned sli memory off
frontside bus is at 1550
puts my ram at 387.5
ram is 2.1v
cpu is 1.4v
running linked and synced -only way I can keep from getting the stupid error about nvlddmkm failing. Turns out that vista somehow ties ram to the video card is my basic understanding. No matter what setting I try when not linked/synced I get errors.

If I try 1600fsb I can't make it through the first stage of 3dmark06, 1550 seems to be my cap. Prob is running vista64 I can't find a temp monitor anywhere that will run to show me my load temps. Only rely upon bios which is 32c idle

I turned my ram settings to 4 4 4 12
I really have no idea what those settings mean in laymans terms, just saw those numbers all over the place so I figured I'd try them.

If someone could explain what the 4 4 4 12 means, and how to 'step' it up or down I'd appreciate it. Meaning I don't know if 4 4 4 12, is faster than 5 5 5 15, etc... and if I want to make it even faster, what the next step to try is.

thanks for all the advice above. I did run orthos overnight and computer is stable.

dreamhost
02-26-07, 01:31 PM
how about Stock? You need to test all of your components before you start tweaking them.

Run EVERYTHING at stock, and run these:
Dual Orthos for 24 hrs (CPU), and Memtest86+ for 24 hrs. (RAM)



Driver crashes? Are you getting BSODS? If so then I am almost 100% sure your RAM is faulty. Here http://www.houseofhelp.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=146


yep :) However this is only if he is OCing. Test your components stock before attempting to OC

Honestly this sounds like bad memory to me. My old system's COrsair ram was faulty; go to their site and hit up RAM Guy on those forums and they will set you straight.
I noticed in your sig that we have the same setup cpu/mb/ram wise. Can I ask what timings your using on your ram? Not for peak performance, but for 'stable' high performance, if there is a differance. And are you at 2.2v?

since I changed to link/sync I've not had one driver error so at least the ram seems to be ok. It's only when I try to run not linked/synced that I get the errors over and over again

SlieTheSecond
02-26-07, 02:24 PM
4-4-4-12 is faster than 5-5-5-15. But not by much.

If your ram is rated at 5-5-5-15 that is what you should be running it at for stability.

Don't go by what everyone else is running it at. Go by what the manufacture designed it to run at.

buffbiff21
02-26-07, 06:58 PM
Don't go by what everyone else is running it at. Go by what the manufacture designed it to run at.
qFT

Stop overclocking! I can bet a gold coin that this is faulty memory. If you are getting page fault BSODS and driver IRQ conflicts then that just undescores my theory.

Put your FSB at 1066. , vcore 1.35
Put your RAM at 1066. 5 5 5 12 or whatever. vdimm 2.2
Run the tests.

dreamhost
02-26-07, 09:38 PM
qFT

Stop overclocking! I can bet a gold coin that this is faulty memory. If you are getting page fault BSODS and driver IRQ conflicts then that just undescores my theory.

Put your FSB at 1066. , vcore 1.35
Put your RAM at 1066. 5 5 5 12 or whatever. vdimm 2.2
Run the tests.
The only error I was getting was nvlddmkm stopping and restarting all the time. Not sure if that is a driver irq or not...
Once I put my box to linked/synced in the bios yesterday I have not had one single issue. Yeah it's slower than I had it, but very stable. Now I was just hoping to try and 'tweak' for more speed if possible.
IN the link/sync mode I can't get anywhere near 1066 on the ram as it puts the cpu way above what my cooling can handle.
Believe me, I am NO expert, not even close, just trying to describe how the computer has acted so far and what it's doing now.
IN a perfect world, I'd be able to run my ram at 1066, and oc my processor to 3.5/3.6 like most others here, but dont' think that's going to happen enless I find much better cooling or something else I am missing. I ran super pi, for the first time ever today and only hit 17mins which seemed way below what others are seeing with similar setups.

thnks so much for all the input. It's a huge learning experience and I'm really enjoying it. I'd still really like to understand what the ram timing numbers mean, and how each number effects performance, how to step it up/down, etc.

dreamhost
03-02-07, 02:11 PM
If someone has a moment, could you please explain ram timings and how to adjust them?
I read a number of posts by people running their fast ram at slower speeds with 'tighter' timings which actually made things run faster. I just don't understand where to start in adjusting them and what each of the numbers means.