PDA

View Full Version : Confusing Upgrading


Abraxus#
02-26-07, 07:42 PM
I've finally decided to bite the bullet and upgrade my system with a new mobo, cpu, memory and graphics card but one thing that never seems to be covered in any of the guides is what to do if you want to save your harddrive, OS and all your data.

So I'll ask your advice, what do I have to uninstall from my hard-drive before I shut it down to fit the new parts?

Obviously GFX drivers need taking off but do I also need to do anything about the cpu and mobo or will they be automatically recognised and set up?

I realize i'll have to re-register my copy of windows (XP) but will this affect my data/settings?

I'm going from the rig in the sig to a Duo 6400, ASUS Commando, 7900gs (to tide me over) if that helps.

I basically just want to plug the stuff in and carry on like before the upgrade (only much faster), like with a graphics card upgrade, is this possible with such major upgrades?

It certainly is all pretty confusing.

Cheers for any replies.:beer2:

methimpikehoses
02-26-07, 07:59 PM
You don't need to uninstall anything from your hard drive... just hook it up to the new mobo and you're all set. You may need to install a new version of whatever OS you are using. Or if you are going Vista, then it will just install itself when you make the CD-drive the first boot option in the BIOS.

That's what I did a few weeks ago... then I ended up buying a brand-spanking new Raptor drive and installed Vista all over again, because I wanted quicker load times. :beer3:

And if I were you I'd get a 7900GT or X1950PRO instead of a GS... but I know the GS is very cheap right now.

EDIT: you might want to check you RAM compatibility on the ASUS website, but you will probably be OK.

Abraxus#
02-27-07, 03:54 AM
I'm going to get some Corsair Dominator 6400C4 which I think should be fine.

You say I may need to install a new version of XP, can anybody confirm this?

Are there no drivers associated witht the cpu and Mothereboard that need removing? (I know there are some Lan drivers etc but I'll obviously remove those).

methimpikehoses
02-27-07, 10:11 AM
You might want to download the drivers for your board to a USB drive (LAN, maybe the most recent BIOS) just in case you can't get online immediately.

THe ASUS BIOS flasher inside the BIOS itself works well, just put the .bin file on a USB device and you're all set.

I doubt you will have to reinstall XP BTW.

Abraxus#
02-28-07, 08:55 AM
Ok here is the final list of components (FINAL this time, I cant be bothered to do any more research!), what do you all think?
1. Core 2 Duo E6400.
2. Asus Commando.
3. 2GB PC6400 Corsair Dominator.
4. ATI X1950pro (to tide me over until geforce 8 series's are cheap).
5. Current PSU: 420W Tagan.
6. Arctic cooling Freezer 7 pro cpu cooler.
7. My current HDD: Maxtor Diamondmax plus 9.

Dazz
02-28-07, 10:25 AM
Thats good the Corsair Dominator PC6400C4 is NOT compatible with the ASUS P5N32-E but should be fine with the commando board.

Abraxus#
03-01-07, 03:00 AM
I've just been looking through device manager and saw that there were lots of parts that had drivers and the option to uninstall them (raid,IEEE1394 bus controller,IDE ATA controllers, USB AND the Processor) do I have to uninstall all these before shutting down to fit the new hardware?

Thanks for any replies.

Xion X2
03-01-07, 03:04 AM
It's really not a good idea not to reformat your disk after a motherboard swap. All kinds of files will be left behind, and your IRQ's will be set in Windows to whatever settings you had on your previous BIOS. In order for Windows to optimize itself best, it's better to just reformat.

Don't you have a CD/DVD burner that you can back up your files to? Or an extra HDD or external HDD? HDDs are so cheap nowadays you could probably pick up a 150GB for around 40$.

Toss3
03-01-07, 03:42 AM
This is the very reason why one should partition one's Hard-Drive. That way you can have Windows on one partition(most likely C: ) and other important files like pr0n, Crainger&CaptnKill's sex tapes etc. on another. That way you can install windows how many times you like without ever having to bother with backing stuff up, unless you're afraid of worms/viruses. :)

buffbiff21
03-01-07, 05:01 AM
I'm going to get some Corsair Dominator 6400C4 which I think should be fine.

I would not buy the C4D modules. Version 2.1 and up (if they have released any new revisions) use Promo ICs. (this translates to low headroom for overclockability) These USED TO be the BEST RAM sticks for the price,namely versions 1.1 and 1.2. I had a pair myself, had em running @1100 5 4 4 15 with 2.2 vdimm.

Also, trust me you will want the better ram because of the e6400 multiplier being 8.
However you have to buy at least the C5D modules to get the good Micron chips from Corsiar. You will not need anything more than that though.

In an odd turn of events, I noticed that Corsair was doing a program that allowed those who bought the C4D modules to upgrade to the C5D and pay the difference. Even though i had a good set of 6400 sticks, I figured 25 dollars to have even more power was not a bad deal :p

And about reformatting/reinstalling Windows, honestly it is not that big of deal. Yea you gotta redo the audio/video/mobo drivers. But I have swapped mobos about 10 times on my same XP install and everything is still OK for me. :)

Abraxus#
03-01-07, 01:59 PM
When you say to get the C5D memory do you mean PC6400 with higher latencies, or that I should get the PC8500 stuff which has those latencies?

There is no way I can afford 2GB of the PC8500 stuff so would I be better off getting 1GB of it than 2 of the 6400?

Every time I read an 'overclockers memory' test they come out with completely different conclusions so I dont really know what to go for.

Also the info on the Commando board says it only supports up to 800mhz ram which is PC6400 right? Would the only advantage of getting PC8500 modules be better overclocking?

Basically I just need a recommendation of what to get. Bearing in mind the mobo I am going to get and the fact I want to OC the CPU a fair bit. Also I cant spend more than 180 ($350) and want 2GB ideally.

Here are some I have been checking out:
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-058-GL&groupid=701&catid=8&subcat=813
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-017-GS&groupid=701&catid=8&subcat=813
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-090-CR&groupid=701&catid=8&subcat=813


I just realised I could afford an 8800GTS 320 if I got the Geil ram (top of the three)....dammit, I have no idea what to get.

Oh yeah, I could do with a quick reply please, I'm leaning towards the Geil RAM and I would need to order it tonight.

buffbiff21
03-01-07, 05:55 PM
When you say to get the C5D memory do you mean PC6400 with higher latencies, or that I should get the PC8500 stuff which has those latencies?

I meant the 8500 Dominators, there is only one C5D that Corsiar makes. If you buy Corsair, get at least the 6400PRO modules. Dominators look far cooler though. :p

If you cannot afford them, get something red on this list
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=90973

Abraxus#
03-02-07, 02:54 AM
Cheers for that, I actually found that thread already and I've ordered the Geil PC6400 C4 that are marked in red on it and linked to in my above post.

I sure hope they're good...

john19055
03-02-07, 05:08 AM
The PC6400C4 Dominators with the promo IC's was'nt as bad as some people say ,I had four sticks and they would do 1000mhz at 5-5-5-15-2T at 2.2v ,newegg has a Sapphire X1950XT for $219.Since you are getting a E6400 ,look at reviews and make sure the board will do at least 500 on the FSB since you are going to be overclocking,I have the Asus 650i SLI and it will do 510 stable on the FSB.Just some motherboards have a hard time even reaching 400 and others can not even do 350.