PDA

View Full Version : XFX 7900GT 520M Extreme VIVO


spizy
03-04-07, 06:03 AM
mmm not sure if this is a problem, but does anybody know why when i go into my graphics cards properties it says;

processor: Geforce 7900 GT/GTO
Video BIOS version: 5.71.22.12.82
IRQ: 24
Bus: PCI Express x4 (??)
memory: 256MB
ForceWare version: 93.71


thanks in advance.

Redeemed
03-04-07, 07:12 AM
mmm not sure if this is a problem, but does anybody know why when i go into my graphics cards properties it says;

processor: Geforce 7900 GT/GTO
Video BIOS version: 5.71.22.12.82
IRQ: 24
Bus: PCI Express x4 (??)
memory: 256MB
ForceWare version: 93.71


thanks in advance.

It would help us a lot if we knew your system specs. What mobo more specifically.

spizy
03-04-07, 02:14 PM
oops sorry

system specs:

Asrock 775dual-VSTA
Intel Core2duo E6300
1024mb of ram

Uberpwnage
03-04-07, 02:42 PM
oops sorry

system specs:

Asrock 775dual-VSTA
Intel Core2duo E6300
1024mb of ram

Your mobo has a PCI-E slot that physically looks like a PCI-E x16 slot, but only runs at the x4 speed. A trade off had to be made between AGP and PCI-E, and ASRock chose to go with the real AGP 8x, and cut back on the PCI-E. You can see a comparison in speeds here (http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.aspx?i=2814&p=3).

Redeemed
03-04-07, 02:50 PM
Your mobo has a PCI-E slot that physically looks like a PCI-E x16 slot, but only runs at the x4 speed. A trade off had to be made between AGP and PCI-E, and ASRock chose to go with the real AGP 8x, and cut back on the PCI-E. You can see a comparison in speeds here (http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.aspx?i=2814&p=3).

That was what I was going to say in my first post- but without being certian of what mobo you had- I feel it'd have been better to inquire about your mobo first. ;)

In short, Uberpwnage is dead-on. I can't say that the "crippled" PCI-e slot on your mobo would hurt performance right now- too many different factors to consider (i.e. what resolution you game at, what level of AA and AF you use, etc). I'm short regardless it is a bit of a bottleneck- how much of one I can't say.

Hope that helps some. ;)

spizy
03-04-07, 04:04 PM
tthank you guys, you've been a great help =)
guess it's time to get another board heh
i got this board because i wasn't planning on using pciE because of my agp videocard but i guess i had to upgrade sooner or later..