PDA

View Full Version : P5B Deluxe went BOOM!


BrianG
03-04-07, 04:36 PM
I was stress testing a new CPU cooler with Prime95. I had not overclocked yet. Well, as a friend of mine said, the smoke that was shipped inside the motherboard got out. It started to do power up loops, no video, no beeps. I had read a thread at R3D where a Gigabyte mobo did something similar after a failed OC attempt. Good times.

Anyway, I ran up to Fry's, bought an Abit IB9, their new P965 budget overclocker board. ITE IDE controller in place of the JMicron was the only real issue, but I was able to update the driver by loading them from a thumbdrive after downloading to a laptop. I am really disappointed by the P5B Deluxe. I really wanted to like it. The Abit was only $109 at Fry's, same price as the Egg so I traded shipping for tax. I still have a week and a half to figure out if I want to stick with this thing. We'll see.

Xion X2
03-04-07, 05:09 PM
I'm sorry to hear about your P5B Deluxe going bad. Normally it is a very, VERY solid and stable mobo and a GREAT overclocker. Me and a friend of mine both had them and ran stable 24/7 at a 500+FSB without a hitch.

I know how going back to a model that broke on you before may be, but you might want to give it another chance if it turns out you don't like the Abit. Yours is truthfully the 1st P5BD I've ever heard of breaking on someone, although I'm sure it's not the only one. ;)

BrianG
03-04-07, 05:52 PM
Well, it has to happen. I liked the board. So far the Abit is pretty straight forward. I like some elements better, others worse.

We'll see. I don't know if I have a need for the Deluxe. I do not intend to go nuts OC'ing anything. Maybe it was a sign. Heh.

stevemedes
03-04-07, 05:56 PM
Damn that sucks dude! Hope the Abit fares better for ya. My P5B deluxe is awesome except for a few little quirks, like when I cold boot it double restarts.

BrianG
03-04-07, 06:03 PM
Damn that sucks dude! Hope the Abit fares better for ya. My P5B deluxe is awesome except for a few little quirks, like when I cold boot it double restarts.
The Abit does that, but I understand it is a trait of the P965.

Beta BIOS may be tried later...

stevemedes
03-04-07, 07:42 PM
Thats weird, i was just looking at that board and theres only one PCIE x16 slot? So no crossfire i guess? Also no dual cards for multiple monitors?

mullet
03-04-07, 07:48 PM
Damn dude, you must have got a dud board. I haven't heard of the P5B ever doing this but it is the world of electronics. On the cold boot subject I only get a double boot when I go into a different strap, inherent with the 965 chipset. Sorry to see you had bad luck BrianG.

stevemedes
03-04-07, 07:53 PM
On the cold boot subject I only get a double boot when I go into a different strap, inherent with the 965 chipset. Sorry to see you had bad luck BrianG.

Thats weird, mine did it out of the box. I have a Rev 1.03G with the C1 revision chip.

Xion X2
03-04-07, 08:29 PM
A bios fix for the P5BD was supposed to fix the dual-boot issue. Mine stopped doing it after a BIOS flash.

stevemedes
03-04-07, 08:55 PM
hmmm i just flashed to the newest bios the other day but it still does it =(

mullet
03-04-07, 09:25 PM
I have the Bios 1004, it doesn't do it if I set the Bios and leave it alone then it boots normal, its when I change the mem from say 400 to 475 it double boots. They say if your running 1:1 on the mem to stay out of the 360 to 400 range because the NB is really working hard on that strap, once you go to 401 the NB resets the timings to a more loose timing hence the drop in mem bandwidth at 401 vs 400. This is why I did 7 x 475 1:1. I hope I said that right? I did a few benchmarks to see the difference.

401 x 8 1:1 @ 1604 FSB / Mem was @ 802Mhz Vcore 1.375 @ 3.2 - Idle-34c Load-54 (orthos)
SiSoftware - MEM = 6761/6769
SiSoftware - CPU = 29463/20523
PCmark05 - 7380

400 x 8 1:1 @ 1600 FSB / Mem was @ 800Mhz Vcore 1.375 @ 3.2 - Idle-34c Load-54 (orthos)
SiSoftware - MEM = 7259/7285
SiSoftware - CPU = 29380/20477
PCmark05 - 7421

475 x 7 1:1 @ 1900 FSB / Mem was @ 950Mhz Vcore 1.425 @ 3.3 - Idle-36c Load-58 (orthos)
SiSoftware - MEM = 7814/7828
SiSoftware - CPU = 30532/21296
PCmark05 - 8528

stevemedes
03-04-07, 09:33 PM
I have the Bios 1004, it doesn't do it if I set the Bios and leave it alone then it boots normal, its when I change the mem from say 400 to 475 it double boots. They say if your running 1:1 on the mem to stay out of the 360 to 400 range because the NB is really working hard on that strap, once you go to 401 the NB resets the timings to a more loose timing hence the drop in mem bandwidth at 401 vs 400. This is why I did 7 x 475 1:1. I hope I said that right? I did a few benchmarks to see the difference.

401 x 8 1:1 @ 1604 FSB / Mem was @ 802Mhz Vcore 1.375 @ 3.2 - Idle-34c Load-54 (orthos)
SiSoftware - MEM = 6761/6769
SiSoftware - CPU = 29463/20523
PCmark05 - 7380

400 x 8 1:1 @ 1600 FSB / Mem was @ 800Mhz Vcore 1.375 @ 3.2 - Idle-34c Load-54 (orthos)
SiSoftware - MEM = 7259/7285
SiSoftware - CPU = 29380/20477
PCmark05 - 7421

475 x 7 1:1 @ 1900 FSB / Mem was @ 950Mhz Vcore 1.425 @ 3.3 - Idle-36c Load-58 (orthos)
SiSoftware - MEM = 7814/7828
SiSoftware - CPU = 30532/21296
PCmark05 - 8528


Ahhh, all is clear now. Thanks for the numbers Mullet. Much appreciated.

Xion X2
03-04-07, 09:33 PM
^ Good stuff, mullet.

And yeah, mine only dual-booted when I changed something in the BIOS. Otherwise, it wouldn't do it.

stevemedes
03-04-07, 09:34 PM
^ Good stuff, mullet.

And yeah, mine only dual-booted when I changed something in the BIOS. Otherwise, it wouldn't do it.

LOL, which I guess means it did it all the time? :captnkill:

Xion X2
03-04-07, 10:28 PM
LOL.

:angel3:

BrianG
03-05-07, 06:47 AM
Thats weird, i was just looking at that board and theres only one PCIE x16 slot? So no crossfire i guess? Also no dual cards for multiple monitors?
No need for either. I was buying up when I chose the P5B Deluxe. I had a lot of just in case rattling in the skull.

ASUSEN7900GTX
03-07-07, 02:55 AM
im abit worried now i have a P5B deluxe Wifi/AP edition and no i wont OC anything.

i just hope and pray it wont fail on me......:)

BrianG
03-07-07, 06:40 AM
im abit worried now i have a P5B deluxe Wifi/AP edition and no i wont OC anything.

i just hope and pray it wont fail on me......:)
Don't sweat it. There are enough of these out there that there is bound to be a bad one.

BTW, I did choose to get a replacement. This Abit is lacking features I may want in the future...