PDA

View Full Version : Stupid idea, but i'm desperate


Withnail
03-16-03, 07:08 AM
My machine, what's still left of it, was bought from Tiny. It has a MS-6340 mainboard, with on board sound. Now there is no bios update for it, and it doesn't have the jumpers it's supposed to have for disabling onboard sound. So I was wondering if physically disabling the actual sound chip would work, or would it wreck the whole board

< System Mainboard >
Bus(es): ISA AGP PCI USB SMBus/i2c
MP Support: No
System BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 62710
System Mainboard: MicroStar Inc. MS-6340
System Chipset: VIA Technologies Inc VT8363/5 KT133/KM133 System
Controller
Front Side Bus Speed: 2x 100MHz (200MHz data rate)
Installed Memory: 256MB SDRAM
Memory Bus Speed: 1x 100MHz (100MHz data rate),

erwos
03-16-03, 08:42 AM
I would definitely not physically do anything - it does stand a good chance of hurting your motherboard.

-Erwos

Withnail
03-16-03, 09:43 AM
You're probably right, but i can find no other way to disable it. So one day out of bloody-mindedness i'll do it :)

Starscream
03-16-03, 10:43 AM
You could always disable it from the device manager if you've got not no other options.

It's better than nothing.

Woodelf
03-16-03, 08:27 PM
No option to disable ac97 sound in the bios, Huh?.
I wouldn't play with the chip physically, since the board's gonna be looking for it during post.

gokickrocks
03-16-03, 08:56 PM
he meant in device manager in windows

Dazz
03-17-03, 01:57 AM
Yeah disable to audio in manager, i have to do that inall with my ASUS A7M266 as i have the option to disable it in the BIOS but it does nothing so have a fresh install of XP or ME i disable it though device manager :rolleyes:

Greg
03-17-03, 06:40 AM
Originally posted by Dazz
Yeah disable to audio in manager, i have to do that inall with my ASUS A7M266 as i have the option to disable it in the BIOS but it does nothing so have a fresh install of XP or ME i disable it though device manager :rolleyes:

Yeah, I noticed that on my A7M266 as well. Have you tried the MB jumpers though? Disbling in device manager is adequate to not load the drivers and not use that as the primary sound device.