PDA

View Full Version : FX-60 hotter than 4200+?


Pages : [1] 2

Riptide
03-08-07, 12:52 PM
My CPU temps w/the FX-60 are hitting up to 55c whereas with the 4200+ X2 I used to have they didn't get over 48c. Is the FX really that much warmer? Or should I reapply the thermal compound?

PSYCHODAD
03-08-07, 01:26 PM
That seems a tad warm. I believe the thermal limit on my fx-60 is only around 59c.
I'm running quite a bit cooler, but with water cooling.

kevJ420
03-08-07, 01:43 PM
Answer to question:
Hell yes.
Hope that helps.
The days of cool running AMD CPUs is over, which is very sad.

Riptide
03-08-07, 01:49 PM
Well I kinda figured with the extra transistors and higher clocks it would run warmer. Just seems like 6-7c is a bit more than I expected.

I dunno. I might try to reapply the thermal compound again and see what happens. Same results I'm going to have to conclude this is a hot chip. I shudder to think how hot it'll run in the summer with the ambient temps 6-7 degrees fahrenheit warmer.

hokeyplyr48
03-08-07, 02:33 PM
wow those are ridiculously high, mine never breaks 45 degrees and thats just with stock. do you guys have good airflow in ur case?

DiscipleDOC
03-08-07, 03:16 PM
Answer to question:
Hell yes.
Hope that helps.
The days of cool running AMD CPUs is over, which is very sad.
You know, I read alot of your BS and you can say some crazy crap. Can you back up any of your conspiracy theories? Or are you some kinda troll that like to get crap started and then move on?

einstein_314
03-08-07, 03:24 PM
Answer to question:
Hell yes.
Hope that helps.
The days of cool running AMD CPUs is over, which is very sad.
I don't know about that....AMD cpus used to run super hot...my room mate is still running an old Athlon XP 2500+ and it IDLEs at 50C.

Saintster
03-08-07, 03:43 PM
Mine runs at 51 overclocked to 3.0 with 1.45 vcore. Zalman 9700. Cooolermaster Stacker case. Top blow fan 2 120 in the rear 2 120 in the front and an 80 on the side.

Riptide
03-08-07, 04:03 PM
I have a TT Tsunami. Twin 120mm enermaxes. Before anyone spouts off about how my airflow isn't sufficient, and that it's the cause of the problem, consider that my 4200+ X2 ram 48c @ load. That was with the exact same airflow I have now.

Cooling is a Zalman 7000cu. Again, same as before.

NO overclocking. Either with the 4200+ or with this FX-60.

SH64
03-08-07, 04:10 PM
I think its normal .. i used to get similar temps with my FX-55 & currently with the 4800+.

shadow001
03-08-07, 04:18 PM
It's a perfectly normal temperature under load.....I'd only start worrying if the load temp exceeds 70*C,which is when the built in thermal throttling inside the CPU core kicks in,if i'm not mistaken....

Riptide
03-08-07, 04:32 PM
Yah I think you guys are probably right. I'm going to reapply the compound again as a test. I have a feeling it'll be a waste of time but hey what the heck. Can't hurt.

Bman212121
03-08-07, 05:20 PM
What is the room's temp? That makes as big of a difference as the others. In my case with the CNPS9500 and the FX-60 at 2.8 @ 1.5V I was hitting 49C under dual prime. With the CNPS9700 and 2.8 @ 1.45V I'm still hitting about 48C under dual prime. Your temp is a little higher than mine, but it could be the difference between the cooler or the other things in your rig. I can't remember if your graphics card pushes air out the back or not, where the 8800GTX does. That alone can vary the case temp a few degrees.

Oh yea, BTW, the max temps for the FX-60 should be 85C IIRC. I wouldn't personally let it get near that, but I think that is the threshold level.

EDIT: maybe not, I can't figure out what this chart means, but it sounds like 63C is the max for it. http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/content_type/white_papers_and_tech_docs/33954.pdf

wollyka
03-08-07, 05:31 PM
if it is under load (as i understood it) it is normal.
if it is idle, it is running hot, my 4400+ X2 run idle @35C and 48C under load with a room temp of 22C.

Riptide
03-08-07, 05:48 PM
Ambient temps have not changed. NOTHING changed except for the chip itself. Period.

Thus my question regarding how much warmer would be normal for this thing to run @ load vs. the 4200+ X2.

Bman212121
03-08-07, 05:58 PM
Ambient temps have not changed. NOTHING changed except for the chip itself. Period.

Thus my question regarding how much warmer would be normal for this thing to run @ load vs. the 4200+ X2.

Well the 4200+ is 2.2 with 1MB cache correct? The FX-60 is 2.8 with 2MB cache. I'd have to imagine the extra speed and cache would make up the difference. I think it is probably reasonable, your really only talking about a 7C increase. I can't even remember now, but I went from a 3800+ X2 to the FX-60, but I'm pretty sure my temps went up a little even with the 3800+ X2 running @ 2.5Ghz 1.4V.

Riptide
03-08-07, 06:07 PM
4200+ X2 = (2) 2.2GHz cores w/512K cache
FX-60 = (2) 2.6GHz cores w/1024K cache

Bman212121
03-08-07, 06:12 PM
4200+ X2 = (2) 2.2GHz cores w/512K cache
FX-60 = (2) 2.6GHz cores w/1024K cache

ROFL, I'm sorry man. I'm used to calling it 2.8 cause that is what mine is Oc'ed to. Never mind me, I'm not a whole lot of help. :o

mullet
03-08-07, 11:32 PM
Riptide under load that isn't bad. I had the FX-55 @ 2.8 and it never got over 50c under load with prime 95, Idle was 31c. What is the Vcore set in Bios? Do you have the Vcore set to auto?

a12ctic
03-08-07, 11:47 PM
Answer to question:
Hell yes.
Hope that helps.
The days of cool running AMD CPUs is over, which is very sad.
ROFL Are you ****ing kidding? My sempron runs a few C above room temp on the ****ing stock cooler. My A64 runs about 4 C above room tempature over clocked ~500mhz. You sir, are an idiot.

JaxMacFL
03-09-07, 08:36 AM
My CPU temps w/the FX-60 are hitting up to 55c whereas with the 4200+ X2 I used to have they didn't get over 48c. Is the FX really that much warmer? Or should I reapply the thermal compound?

It takes the thermal paste 2 -3 weeks to cure completely. It should drop steadily during that.

Riptide
03-09-07, 08:49 AM
Yeah vcore is auto. I've never seen temps drop more than about 2c after the compound finished curing.

Anyone know of a way to monitor CPU temps in Vista?

ViN86
03-09-07, 09:19 AM
I don't know about that....AMD cpus used to run super hot...my room mate is still running an old Athlon XP 2500+ and it IDLEs at 50C.
my 2500 was OC'd to 3200 speeds (2.2GHz) and it idled at 42 and maxed out at 55. your roommate may want to check his airflow in his case and possibly reseat his HSF.

mullet
03-09-07, 11:10 AM
Yeah vcore is auto. I've never seen temps drop more than about 2c after the compound finished curing.

Anyone know of a way to monitor CPU temps in Vista?

ASUS Probe? What I was getting about the vcore being set to auto have you tried to set it manually 1.30 V/1.35 V?

Riptide
03-09-07, 12:23 PM
Uhh no I haven't played w/vcore becuase the system is stable and the voltage is hovering around the proper stock setting. In theory, I shouldn't have to do that anyway.

If the thing is running warm then I'll reapply the compound and forget about it. There's nothing wrong with my cooling, that much I know. And nothing else changed except the CPU itself. No BIOS settings either. Auto was fine with the 4200+.