PDA

View Full Version : Ballistix bad...."again"


Roliath
03-08-07, 06:53 PM
This will be about the fourth time i've rma'd this ram..
And its hilarious..Like clockwork..works good for a few months then BAM it goes bad. Not overclocking the ram (running underclocked @ 480Mhz) with 2.8v.
soooo yeah...
Anybody else gone through this issue?

kevJ420
03-08-07, 07:11 PM
This will be about the fourth time i've rma'd this ram..
And its hilarious..Like clockwork..works good for a few months then BAM it goes bad. Not overclocking the ram (running underclocked @ 480Mhz) with 2.8v.
soooo yeah...
Anybody else gone through this issue?

I hope I won't have issues with it. But to answer your question, this is just a suggestion, but perhaps having different brands of memory makes them go bad?

Also, did you buy them OEM or retail? I think that might make a difference.

I've also heard that 1 stick in a package works, and the other one is bad.

None of this may help, but I hope it does.

kevJ420
03-08-07, 07:14 PM
Also, voltage setting in BIOS may need to be changed. If you set it to auto then maybe you should set it to the mean voltage crucial recommends and vice versa. I think Crucials run at a different voltage than other brands.

firehawk
03-08-07, 07:15 PM
iam currently running Ballistix that i had to rma once. i had it for 3-4 months and started getting aton of bsod and app hangs rma'd it and problems went away

iam also having hardware issues right now and have replaced everything but the ram. so maybe....

methimpikehoses
03-08-07, 07:16 PM
This will be about the fourth time i've rma'd this ram..
And its hilarious..Like clockwork..works good for a few months then BAM it goes bad. Not overclocking the ram (running underclocked @ 480Mhz) with 2.8v.
soooo yeah...
Anybody else gone through this issue?


Well 2.8V is awfully high... I assume you meant to write 1.8V

I sold some Crucial Ballistix this week on Craigslist... it worked fine, but I decided to go with something cheaper with all of these crazy price drops on DDR2. New RAM in the sig. I actually got 4gb from the Egg but had to RMA one set because I got a bad stick.

firehawk
03-08-07, 07:22 PM
Well 2.8V is awfully high... I assume you meant to write 1.8V

I sold some Crucial Ballistix this week on Craigslist... it worked fine, but I decided to go with something cheaper with all of these crazy price drops on DDR2. New RAM in the sig. I actually got 4gb from the Egg but had to RMA one set because I got a bad stick.


mine is 2.8.

2X1gig sticks

Roliath
03-08-07, 07:25 PM
Well 2.8V is awfully high... I assume you meant to write 1.8V

I sold some Crucial Ballistix this week on Craigslist... it worked fine, but I decided to go with something cheaper with all of these crazy price drops on DDR2. New RAM in the sig. I actually got 4gb from the Egg but had to RMA one set because I got a bad stick.
this is DDR not DDR2
Crucial Recommends 2.8v, and that is what is set in the bios.
I've always have a fan over the ram and i've tried all different types of combo's of ram.
The worst is the Crucial alone..G.Skill is going strong. I've tried with 4gB of Tracers and i still get bsod's and what not.
I'm exhausted all options so this will be the final choice.

They offered to cross ship me the ram by charging what I originally paid for them back in 05 ($399) when I saw them for $199 on newegg.
Ugh..hopefully I can get the money and go conroe soon..

methimpikehoses
03-08-07, 07:36 PM
this is DDR not DDR2

Uh, roger that.


.G.Skill is going strong. I've tried with 4gB of Tracers and i still get bsod's and what not.
I'm exhausted all options so this will be the final choice.


Sorry, I don't have anything helpful... I assume you have put the G Skill in the DIMM slots to make sure it's not the mobo that is a problem.



They offered to cross ship me the ram by charging what I originally paid for them back in 05 ($399) when I saw them for $199 on newegg.
Ugh..hopefully I can get the money and go conroe soon..

There's some good deals right now for Conroe + EVGA 680i (roll the dice) with a $50 discount... or add another GTX for SLI for $700. Still have to get teh RAM tho. The Conroe will really make your GTX shine.

Roliath
03-08-07, 07:46 PM
Uh, roger that.



Sorry, I don't have anything helpful... I assume you have put the G Skill in the DIMM slots to make sure it's not the mobo that is a problem.



There's some good deals right now for Conroe + EVGA 680i (roll the dice) with a $50 discount... or add another GTX for SLI for $700. Still have to get teh RAM tho. The Conroe will really make your GTX shine.
Where are these deals you speak of?
It just so happens to be my birthday today and my mother is asking me what I want.
But if i go conroe i need to get 4gb of ram aswell (will not go 2gb) along with a 6600 or better. I'm hearing alot of bad rep on the 680i (good and bad)..top that with a heatsink and it adds up to a good chunk of change.

methimpikehoses
03-08-07, 08:40 PM
Newegg deal:

http://promotions.newegg.com/misc/commander/index.html

There are a million threads on this forum about the pluses and minuses of the 680i. It is definitely the "bleeding edge" tech.

If you go to an E6600 from your Opty, I think you will see that you don't need the 4gb RAM. I went from an FX-60 and the Conroes kill it. But RAM is cheap right now, so just sell the DDR and replace.

HSs are an expense, but there are always sales on those too:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16835185038

Either way you cut it, it costs money... well, I mean it costs your mother money.

Xion X2
03-08-07, 09:10 PM
If you're tired of RAM problems, then you definitely don't want to go with a 680i board. I don't think there's been anything definitively proven yet, but a lot--and I stress that a *LOT* of people have reported bad memory after using the 680i for a few months. Makes you wonder if there's something to that.

On top of that, they're unreliable as hell. Had 3 of them go kaput on me in a period of 3 months.

HeavyH20
03-08-07, 09:54 PM
I have two systems with 680i boards and the Ballistix Tracer DDR2 that I run at 1000 and 1066 Mhz 4-3-3-6, 2T 2.35V since October. No issues, yet.

Roliath
03-08-07, 10:10 PM
If you're tired of RAM problems, then you definitely don't want to go with a 680i board. I don't think there's been anything definitively proven yet, but a lot--and I stress that a *LOT* of people have reported bad memory after using the 680i for a few months. Makes you wonder if there's something to that.

On top of that, they're unreliable as hell. Had 3 of them go kaput on me in a period of 3 months.
Yeah i really don't know what to do.
I'll prolly save up at least 2g and then purchase it. I got other priorities right now, the only game i'm playing as of right now is WoW so I really don't "need" all that jazz. But we'll see...Soon enough, soon enough!

I'm in no huge rush to get upgrades, one thing I'll probably ask my mom for is for the Coolit Freezone unit. That will do me very good. And to the poster that said sell my current stuff to help fund the upgrades. That is a good idea but I like handing this stuff down or toss it in a spare rig and let my dad take use of it.

methimpikehoses
03-08-07, 10:33 PM
That is a good idea but I like handing this stuff down or toss it in a spare rig and let my dad take use of it.

That's better than selling it if you have the luxury. Non-profits are also good for hand-me downs, then you can write it off as a deduction. Just what the Boys and Girls Club needs: a watercooled Opteron 175 gaming rig! :captnkill:

The Conroes are going to be dropping in price drastically in 1-2 months (hence the bundle sales now), so it's not a bad idea to wait.

kevJ420
03-08-07, 10:37 PM
I don't get why the 680i's are designed to be hot w/ active cooling.

Several things need to be fixed w/ computer parts in my opinion:

passive northbridge and passive sb cooling w/ temps no higher than 45 C load
8 or 10 layer pcbs (I don't think 6 is enough.)
smarter ram voltage detection
designed to hold heavier hsf w/o having to mod the board
higher network performance and ultra wide band
like 90 pci-e 2.0 lanes b/c 46 pci-e lanes is kind of weak.
creative labs X-fi pci-e x1, no problems, and internally 24bit/192 or 96
a pci-e x4 or x8 aegeia ppu
sli and crossfire supported on every chipset. full speed.
nothing else made in a legacy pci version

Too much needs to be changed. Technology is not advancing anywhere near as fast as it should be. And that makes my life hell.

crainger
03-08-07, 10:53 PM
lol

JoKeRr
03-09-07, 12:51 AM
the crucial ballisitx ddr had a tendency to die after a while. At 2.8V, somehow they run very hot actually. Many ppl ran that ram with active cooling, but it still dies. Although when they work, they're one of the best DDR rams available. As far as I know, between 400 and 480, they have better timing than TCCD, but they don't scale as high as TCCD. So crucial ballisitix was like a hybrid of good old BH5 and TCCD, without the need for high voltage.

Dazz
03-10-07, 12:17 AM
I have this memory DO NOT USE 2.8v, 2.75v should be the max the memory gets hot to start with i've had the memory over a year now and has never failed on me. Well technically it's Crucial Ballisitix Tracer memory but the only diffrence is the lights on it.