PDA

View Full Version : Geometry Wars Vista is out


christos
03-08-07, 07:16 PM
Seems it came out yesteday. I didn't see any posts on it, I apologize if it was already mentioned.

Demo is available at http://zone.msn.com/en/vistagames/

Knowing me, even with my 8800gtx and other new games in hand and others on the way, I'll probably end up spending way too much time playing this instead.

|MaguS|
03-08-07, 07:21 PM
Heres the free version, called Grid Wars... Just as fun and works in WinXP.

http://www.filefactory.com/dlf/f/9af311/b/7/h/e84f180232ea9864/j/1173402456

christos
03-08-07, 07:26 PM
I've played Grid wars before, it just seemed to be lacking some of the polish, plus without leaderboards I had no incentive to keep playing.

Just finished playing the vista demo at 1920 x 1200. It ran silky smooth as expected and seemed identical in every way to the 360 version.

sAnt@
03-08-07, 08:44 PM
The MSN Geometry Wars costs $7.95, just under $3 more than the Xbox 360 version. At roughly $8, however, Geometry Wars is still one of the cheaper games on MSN Games, and Microsoft probably would have charged more for Geometry Wars originally had they anticipated its popularity.


http://www.1up.com/do/newsStory?cId=3157810

leca
03-08-07, 10:03 PM
Heres the free version, called Grid Wars... Just as fun and works in WinXP.

http://www.filefactory.com/dlf/f/9af311/b/7/h/e84f180232ea9864/j/1173402456

While I love Grid wars....

http://www.incitti.com/Blitz/[/url]"]
Sorry folks... I've had to remove the link to the download.
Email from BizarreCreations:
"We're beginning to feel the effects of the Geometry Wars clones on our sales via Microsoft now and are beginning a process to begin to more robustly protect our copyright and intellectual property.
Therefore, I'd like to ask you in an amicable fashion to stop infringing our IP and pull the game 'Grid Wars' from the internet for download.
I hope you understand and are able to do this without us having to take further steps."

But hey.....Grid Wars 2 is still alive - http://gridwars.marune.de

RAY16
03-09-07, 12:01 AM
The Geometry Wars clones are well made, but they just aren't the same as the real thing.

/me goes back to playing.

christos
03-09-07, 09:41 AM
I ended up buying the vista game but am now kinda dissapointed. There are in fact no leaderboards. Well, technically there are, but it's just for your pC, not online, which stinks. I guess that's what they meant when it said 'local leaderboars' with the full version. I assumed local meant, the U.S., or maybe my State, or something like that.

Does anyone know if they plan to modify the leaderboards once this whole windows live thing goes into effect? Or are they going to make me pay for a live subscription to upload/download the high score list?

agentkay
03-09-07, 10:34 AM
But hey.....Grid Wars 2 is still alive - http://gridwars.marune.de

That one is really addictive, thank you for posting it. Its funny how slow it gets when you choose the largest playfield (5000x4000 pixels or something). I assume its based on OpenGL or pure CPU?

MowTin
03-09-07, 01:06 PM
Seems it came out yesteday. I didn't see any posts on it, I apologize if it was already mentioned.

Demo is available at http://zone.msn.com/en/vistagames/


I tried out the demo...pretty cool...but I can't fly I'm stuck to the ground moving back and forth....I thought it was more like asteroids where you can fly and rotate around?

christos
03-09-07, 01:11 PM
I tried out the demo...pretty cool...but I can't fly I'm stuck to the ground moving back and forth....I thought it was more like asteroids where you can fly and rotate around?

I had that same problem with grid wars 2 when using the 360 (or Saitek) joystick. It was due to the default control mappings. One of the axises for movement needed to be remapped. Once I changed it, all was well.

mojoman0
03-09-07, 07:24 PM
holy crap ive never seen this game but I just dl grid wars 2 and its friggen insane...I just got like 300,000 points which to me i think is pretty good. what are your guys' scores?

a12ctic
03-09-07, 07:54 PM
That one is really addictive, thank you for posting it. Its funny how slow it gets when you choose the largest playfield (5000x4000 pixels or something). I assume its based on OpenGL or pure CPU?
Why would OpenGL be a reason for being slow? Engines based on opengl with modern graphics are almost always quite a bit faster than those based on direct x.

jAkUp
03-09-07, 08:15 PM
Why would OpenGL be a reason for being slow? Engines based on opengl with modern graphics are almost always quite a bit faster than those based on direct x.

I don't think that that is a correct statement... considering there is essentially only 1 OpenGL engine nowadays, and it was programmed by one of the smartest people in game optimization.

I think the fact that OpenGL games run smoother than their Direct3D counterparts has little to do with the API, and more to do with the programmer.

agentkay
03-09-07, 08:28 PM
Why would OpenGL be a reason for being slow? Engines based on opengl with modern graphics are almost always quite a bit faster than those based on direct x.

Did I say that its slow because of OpenGL? I donīt even know if its running on OpenGL, or if its a pure CPU game. Thats why I added a question mark at the end of my sentence, indicating a question, you know.

Please stop being so damn defensive, did I ever slam OpenGL, Linux or something? No, I actually like OpenGL and would love to see it more used in PC games, and I would love if the guys who are in charge of OpenGL, would try harder to make it more popular among developers. MS and DX need compertition as well, because compertition in general improves things and brings the industry forward.

So, is Grid Wars 2 running on OpenGL or is it not?

a12ctic
03-09-07, 08:31 PM
Yes, it runs opengl for sure. No slowdowns here though (linux porT)

agentkay
03-09-07, 08:39 PM
Thank you for answering my question. No idea why it runs slow (not really slow framerate, its still smooth, but sort of like slow-motion) on the largest playfield but maybe its the driver or the Windows version of the game. :confused:

a12ctic
03-09-07, 08:57 PM
Are you using vista or beta drivers?

MowTin
03-10-07, 12:23 AM
I fixed my problem. I had to disconnect my MOMO joystick. There is no way in this game to specify a controller so if your joystick is plugged in it can effect your movement.

Mine kept drifting toward wall.

Now it's a much cooler game. The demo gives you a nice taste. It's definitely worth downloading the demo.

Use the mouse...set it to TARGET...it's awesome.

I may buy this.

agentkay
03-10-07, 10:22 AM
Are you using vista or beta drivers?

No, I use XP SP2 with the 100.87 drivers but the same slow-motion happened with the 97.92 drivers as well.