PDA

View Full Version : Chaintech GeForce 7300GS installation prob.

CardPHG
03-13-07, 05:28 PM
My machine came with an on board video (ATI Radeon Xpress 200) and I wanted to add a new video card because of the S video tv out because I am using my LCD as my monitor. For some reason the picture is much worst than the original on board. A whole bunch of programs are not working well on the computer, including windows itself. Any ideas please let me know. I am looking for all the help I can get. Thanks.

XFX Support
03-14-07, 12:54 PM
Was the onboard video disabled in bios and/or device manager before you installed the 7300GS? What driver are you using with the 7300GS?

XFX Support

CardPHG
03-14-07, 04:03 PM
well, I did not disable the onboard in bios or device manager. I did it after because I thought if I disabled the onboard, the vga connection to my tv would go too and i wouldn't be able to see anything. I am a newbie so I am not sure if I made a major mistake. Plus, I don't know how to disable it in bios. I used my installed disk that came with the card for the driver. I hope that helped.

XFX Support
03-15-07, 11:47 AM
You are going to want to go into the device manager and under display adapters highlight the onboard video, right click and select disable. It will ask you if your sure, say yes and then it will ask if you want to reboot, select no, then shut down the system. Install the new video card and connect the monitor to the new video card and boot up the system. You then should be able to then install the driver for your 7300GS. Let us know how it goes.

XFX Support

CardPHG
03-15-07, 12:50 PM
The system got so bad that even my blue tooth keyboard and mouse are not working properly. I was thinking before I tried doing what you said that I use windows system restore, what do you think? After that I can try to install it again your way. Thank you once again for your assistance it is immensely appreciated.

CardPHG
03-17-07, 02:02 PM