PDA

View Full Version : Xeon 3060 vs. Core 2 Duo E6600


Pages : [1] 2

$n][pErMan
03-17-07, 06:02 PM
Intel® Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe Processor 2.4GHz, 1066FSB, LGA775, 4MB Cache Retail

or.......

Intel® Xeon Processor 3060 2.4GHz 1066MHz LGA775 65nm 2MB L2 Cache Dual Core Retail

What the hell chip is better?!?!! I can get both for the same exact price and to be honest I don't have a clue which one would be better. Any help you can give me would be great. I could not find anything on google that really would help me out on this.

Dazz
03-17-07, 07:30 PM
The Duo is better as it has more cache. Also the Xeon is a multi (server/workstation) processor so you can have more then one CPU while the core2 you can only use one in a system.

|MaguS|
03-17-07, 07:40 PM
If you are going for OC then go for the Xeon, at stock the Duo is better.

lee63
03-17-07, 07:46 PM
The Duo is better as it has more cache. Also the Xeon is a multi (server/workstation) processor so you can have more then one CPU while the core2 you can only use one in a system.
They look the same to me(lee63)

Xeon 3060
64 bit Support: Yes
FSB: 1066MHz
Hyper-Threading Support: No
L1 Cache: 32KB+32KB
L2 Cache: 4M shared
Manufacturing Tech: 65 nm
Multi-Core: Dual-Core
Processors Type: Server
Series: Xeon

Core 2 Duo E6600
64 bit Support: Yes
FSB: 1066MHz
Hyper-Threading Support: No
L1 Cache: 32KB+32KB
L2 Cache: 4M shared
Manufacturing Tech: 65 nm
Multi-Core: Dual-Core
Processors Type: Desktop
Series: Core 2 Duo

jAkUp
03-17-07, 08:17 PM
They have the same cache :) They are practically the same CPU.

Dazz
03-17-07, 08:27 PM
Well he labled it as 2MB so i don't know. The only diffrence is the Xeon can work with more processors of the same model. So with the Duo you can have 1x 6600 or with the Xeon you can have 1 x 2 3060.

$n][pErMan
03-17-07, 11:26 PM
I was just curious if there was some subtle difference I was not aware of that would make one better than the other. :p I never plan on using 2 CPU's in the same machine but OC quality is always a plus. Baaaa... so many options! That 2M is wrong .. should be 4M. I copied off ZipZoom... apperently they got the label wrong. Opps.

jAkUp
03-17-07, 11:57 PM
After much reading... it appears that with the Xeon 3060 you have a better chance of getting a rev. "B" chip, which scales higher at lower voltages... I say go with the Xeon. Other than that they are the same, but Xeon's may be binned differently.

lee63
03-18-07, 12:05 AM
After much reading... it appears that with the Xeon 3060 you have a better chance of getting a rev. "B" chip, which scales higher at lower voltages... I say go with the Xeon. Other than that they are the same, but Xeon's may be binned differently.Yeah, mines a rev B (lee63)

SH0DAN
03-18-07, 12:28 AM
Xeon hands down,no contest.

LORD-eX-Bu
03-18-07, 12:43 AM
Xeon always, will be my next CPU, only quad:D

Dazz
03-18-07, 07:38 AM
I do know the Xeon 3220 quads overclock alot better (FSB wise) then the Core2 Quad Q6600.

lightman
03-18-07, 10:00 AM
Well he labled it as 2MB so i don't know. The only diffrence is the Xeon can work with more processors of the same model. So with the Duo you can have 1x 6600 or with the Xeon you can have 1 x 2 3060.

No. Not with the 3xxx line. The only difference between the E6600 and the Xeon 3060 is the fact that the later is expected to be used in server and high end workstations and thus it's probably a better binned part (and it could be, and JackUp pointed out, a newer revision). But other than that, they're identical (and no, the Xeon 3xxx can't be used in dual processors boards, for that, you have to get a 5xxx).

$n][pErMan
03-18-07, 03:44 PM
So in conclusion.... I will probably see the same results with either one as overclocking ability is completely random anyway? :) Is there anyway to get a Rev. B for sure or is that also pretty random?

stevemedes
03-18-07, 03:48 PM
In conclusion you shuld get the Xeon because they're binned better.

$n][pErMan
03-18-07, 06:18 PM
Cool.... hopefully the Xeon does not fail me :p BTW... I hope then that this 2M thing is a miss label on ZipZoom's part....
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=80931-3

Dazz
03-18-07, 06:24 PM
Well Intel's site lists it as 2400MHz 4MB cache.

FastRedPonyCar
03-20-07, 02:42 PM
I found this.

http://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/125248-xeon-3060-c2d-e6600.html

lightman
03-21-07, 02:36 PM
I found this.

http://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/125248-xeon-3060-c2d-e6600.html

That guy, The_Manual, is so full of it it's not even funny... Just to pick a simple example, he goes on and on by saying that the 3060 has 4MB of L3 cache, and he even links to the intal page with the specifications of all the available Xeon, and he points out that in that page it is stated, for the L2 cache, N/A, except that he can't even read a specification correctly. The N/A is referred to the L3 cache (yes, the one he is so sure it's in the 3060). The only Xeons that have a L3 cache are the 7xxx. Moreover, he states that the Xeon is engineered with SMP in mind, except that the 3060 doesn't work in a SMP configuration.

Not to mention he is only a 17 years old child (he clearly states it in post #25)...

And this quote definetely shows him understanding nothing about computers and cpus architectures : "
DEC launched the VAX-11/780 computer in 1987. It was marketed to the public as a 1MIPS computer. It was able to accomplish 1 Million Instructions Per Second (MIPS) and was therefore marketed as such (obviously).
However after extensive testing it was actually determined that the actual rate of instruction was 0.5MIPS.
VAX was able to accomplish 100% additional processing within its core and therefore its performance equated to 1MIPS.
It was capable of accomplishing a work load with fewer instructions due to its onboard "Complicated Instructions"."

Do I really have to comment on this one ?

And some more gems from this amazing guy :

- "Games use Single Instruction Multiple Data Level Instructions to accelerate their Multimedia Floating Point Calculations, where little focus is on Floating Point Integer calculations.

Integer calculations are raw calculations for Mathematics. These are what SuperPI uses to calculate PI to a certain number of digits. Arithmetic Processing Units also work with SuperPI to accelerate the calculations."

- "Core 2 Duo is more based upon Floating Point Multimedia, Xeon's are more based upon Floating Point Integer"

How the hell could someone with even only one functioning neuron in his brain believe in anything this guy writes is beyond my comprehension... Bah...

A101Sugar
03-21-07, 04:27 PM
Depending on price.... if their about the same ... go with the Xeon :)

Dazz
03-21-07, 06:23 PM
The Xeon runs slightly slower due to ECC cache (error correct control) as such latency is higher compaired to desktop processors.

lightman
03-22-07, 08:19 AM
The Xeon runs slightly slower due to ECC cache (error correct control) as such latency is higher compaired to desktop processors.

Wrong. Both the Core 2 Duo and the Xeon 3xxx have an ECC L2 cache. You can clearly see this fact from the Specification Update documents for both the C2D and the Xeon 3000 (I can give you the link to the intel website, if you want).

The Xeon 3000 series is identical to the C2D. And the correspondence is Xeon 3040 <-> C2D E6300, Xeon 3050 <-> C2D E6400, Xeon 3060 <-> C2D E6600, Xeon 3070 <-> C2D E6700...

The only (probable) difference is the binning of the Xeon parts.

FastRedPonyCar
03-22-07, 11:26 AM
All this debate makes me wonder why not a single review site or article author using test systems for benchmarks and what not are using the Xeons. They all are using the E6XXX's.


Eh, it's not an issue to me really. My 6600 will be here tomorrow.

MakubeX_GB
03-22-07, 08:22 PM
Meh, it's all the same. Some E6600 may OC to 4GHz or close on just water or even air, some don't. The same with the Xeon 3060. Some OC high some don't. If the Xeons are indeed binned better, it's not even noticeable.

Slammin
03-22-07, 08:45 PM
I'm new to Intel (again) sorta, but I wonder if Intel is taking a note from AMD, as far as A64/Opteron. In the case of AMD, the Opteron 'server' cpu's, though identical in all other aspects to their A64 counterparts, did in fact seem to have the advantage of higher oc's with low voltage.

I tell ya what, buying computer stuff these days is very daunting! And I'm not even talking about future happenings such as price cuts, DDR3, or anything like that. Just buying for TODAY with all the choices out there makes for quite a task in researching stuff.

To the OP, buy the server class chip for sure, and I'm only basing this on my AMD experience, but that is what I would do if I were you.