PDA

View Full Version : Help - crisis!!!

grantwilde
03-21-07, 04:52 PM
I have just ordered a super-powerful alienware laptop for my 18th which was £2,000 (im paying £500 of it myself btw :p) but I have a problem...

This is the graphics card I have ordered: Dual 512MB NVidia® GeForce™ Go 7900 GS - SLI Enabled

Now, for two grand I really want the most powerful equiptment available but my friend told me today that it won't work with directx10. Now im not a computer expert so could you please help me out with these two questions:

1. how big of a deal is that, will i not be able to handle top quality games which will shortly be coming out?

2. is there anyway to get directx10 to work with it?

einstein_314
03-21-07, 05:01 PM
Well you won't be able to play any DX10 games. There is NO way to make a 7 series card use DX10. But there aren't any DX10 compatible video cards in laptops yet....so there's really nothing you could do about it.

But all the DX10 games that are coming out are DX9 compatible, ie. they will run in DX9 mode, but without the DX10 effects.

grantwilde
03-21-07, 05:19 PM
Well you won't be able to play any DX10 games. There is NO way to make a 7 series card use DX10. But there aren't any DX10 compatible video cards in laptops yet....so there's really nothing you could do about it.

But all the DX10 games that are coming out are DX9 compatible, ie. they will run in DX9 mode, but without the DX10 effects.

oh good, thats ok then, do you think they will keep this backwards compatability for a while?

i really wanted the special directx10 version of the fps creator, but i guess there is no way to get it...

SH64
03-21-07, 05:34 PM
DX9 should be on for a while until "DX10 only" games come out. you should be safe on that , but you wont grab the goods of the DX10 games that are coming probably later this year.
i was about to get a Dell XPS with 7900GTX & now i dropped that plan just for that reason. (unless i can get it somewhere for cheap!)

grantwilde