PDA

View Full Version : Forget nTune... use ExperTool...


Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

$n][pErMan
03-23-07, 03:40 PM
ExperTool... I used this back on my old 6800GT.... same program kicks ass on my 8800GTX. Its from Gainward and will work on non-gainward nVidia cards (at least its working great on my eVGA card). I believe it also works on windows Vista (I have yet to try.. but they took the message away that said it did not so I assumed they fixed it). Just another alternative for those of you who don't know about it :) Attached is the link to download it and a picture of it.

http://www.gainward.net/support/index_uk/

*edit* --> Works in Vista 32bit and Vista 64bit when driver signing is disabled.

sm0ke
03-23-07, 05:31 PM
will give it a go on vista.
hope it:

a) runs :P
b) supports different profiles
c) remembers my settings after reboot :P

Muppet
03-23-07, 05:41 PM
Does it control both fans on an SLI setup or is it like Ntune only one works :thumbdwn:

Muppet
03-23-07, 05:46 PM
Doesn't work with Vista and XFX SLi unfortunately.

sm0ke
03-23-07, 06:20 PM
does not work with vista32 and sparkle 8800gts

Slammin
03-23-07, 06:33 PM
Works great with my cards under XP. Haven't it tried Vista yet.

sm0ke
03-24-07, 12:54 AM
ExperTool didn't work initially.
Gave an error, and did not start.

BUT IT DOES work, after i rebooted the machine.
strange indeed!

Plus points for:
remembering my settings AFTER reboot (overclocking, fan control)
Cons:
Misreads the memory clock freq (reports 2X the real memory freq)

vista 32bit on an asus p5nd2-sli mobo and a sparkle gfx8800gts 640mb

Muppet
03-24-07, 01:26 AM
ExperTool didn't work initially.
Gave an error, and did not start.

BUT IT DOES work, after i rebooted the machine.
strange indeed!

Plus points for:
remembering my settings AFTER reboot (overclocking, fan control)
Cons:
Misreads the memory clock freq (reports 2X the real memory freq)

vista 32bit on an asus p5nd2-sli mobo and a sparkle gfx8800gts 640mb
Really, i still can't get it to work after a reboot. It says something about not supporting my cards and then just disappears.

IndianScout
03-24-07, 01:38 AM
works perfect on my Leadtek,,

thanks for the heads up..

Darkoz
03-24-07, 03:01 AM
$n][pErMan.....thanks for the heads up.
I've got it working with my XFX 8800GTX and Windows Vista 32bit without issues, finally fan control in Vista that works.

$n][pErMan
03-24-07, 03:54 AM
Yup... enjoy! :D I was waiting for them to take the (does not support vista) line away :) I used that tool for years on my last card so I have grown to love it. Works perfect for me in XP.... hopefully I can get it working in Vista when I have some time to try. Been too busy enjoying my new system and all my games to even try and mess with Vista on this setup yet :p I will also be using Vista 32bit so good to know some of you got it working. It is a Gainward tool so I guess it can't work for every card... probably depends how close your card is to thier spec or not.

Corrigan
03-24-07, 05:12 AM
It works for me! Vista and XFX 8800GTS! Yey!

Cheers for bringing this to my attention mate, buggy bloody nTune doesn't feel like loading profiles, and lazy bloody me doesn't feel like changing settings on every boot :)

alitayyab
03-24-07, 10:21 AM
It seems to work okay after a reboot as pointed out.
it allows oc in vista on my single XFX 8800GTS.

thanks.

Burnt_Ram
03-25-07, 01:02 PM
fan control in Vista! gotta try it for myself :)

NoWayDude
03-25-07, 03:07 PM
Vista 32bit ultimate, XFX8800GTS. Works perfectly. 620/1800 OC at the moment
Almost 9000 3DM06 on a 4600x2 at 2640mhz....

scott123
03-25-07, 03:23 PM
It's pathetic that Nvidia can't even release a tool such as this for their own cards. Thanks for the link and I'm sorry to say but a tool like this puts egg all over Nvidia's face.

EDIT: In Win/Vista/Ult/64 Ntune has no fan or clock controls what-so-ever (on my hardware), but yet this 32 bit utility works just fine. Now I have clock and fan control :). Thumbs up for Expert Tool and thumbs down for Nvidia ... LOL

stncttr908
03-25-07, 04:02 PM
A bit off topic, but I see the ranks of the Athlon XP users around here have dwindled by one more. When you did upgrade, Sniper?

$n][pErMan
03-25-07, 07:55 PM
A bit off topic, but I see the ranks of the Athlon XP users around here have dwindled by one more. When you did upgrade, Sniper?
About 4 days ago :D It was getting to the point where I could not play games with the highest of settings and have it be playable. That ussually singals upgrade time for me. I went Intel this time because of the nice OC ability and to be honest, the nice price that went a long with it. I love this new system... worlds of improvement over my old. I buy systems to last me about 1 or 2 years and that one did, hopefully this does the same (at least its much more upgradable CPU and GPU wise). That old unit was a good one though, and overclocked very high for its day... its now my linux box. :p

scott123
03-26-07, 12:19 AM
My upgrade regimen is determined by my 9 year old and 14 year old boys. Just gave my 14 yr old my 4800+ / X1900XTX, and before that my 9 yr old got my 4000+ / 7800GTX. Each time I build something new for myself, and hand off the old.

john19055
03-26-07, 04:01 AM
I will have to give it a try on my two Evga 8800GTS's since ntune will not keep my setting once I have reboote.

$n][pErMan
03-26-07, 12:48 PM
Ok .. finally had the chance to try it myself on Vista.... works perfectly and holds settings after an initial reboot! :D

Slammin
03-26-07, 01:03 PM
My upgrade regimen is determined by my 9 year old and 14 year old boys. Just gave my 14 yr old my 4800+ / X1900XTX, and before that my 9 yr old got my 4000+ / 7800GTX. Each time I build something new for myself, and hand off the old.


LOL,

Yeah, I built this machine so that I could hand my Opti down to my daughter but she doesn't want to resinstall The Sims and won't let me touch her machine now.

So, now I have an Opteron 170 that does 3HGz daily, DFI UT-LP mobo, 2 gig of fast ram and two 7800GTX's sitting on a table with nowhere to go.

sclaws
03-26-07, 06:47 PM
Tried Expertool...didnt crash or error but said my video card is not supported (PNY 8800GTX). Doh.

$n][pErMan
03-26-07, 09:09 PM
Tried Expertool...didnt crash or error but said my video card is not supported (PNY 8800GTX). Doh.
Did you reboot?

scott123
03-26-07, 09:41 PM
Tried Expertool...didnt crash or error but said my video card is not supported (PNY 8800GTX). Doh.

Weird, works fine with my eVGA 8800GTX in both XP Pro and Vista 64.