PDA

View Full Version : PS3 - "Lost connection to access point"


SebC
03-24-07, 06:51 PM
I got my UK PS3 yesterday (amazing btw) but have been having trouble with the online. I'm using the wifi and it is constantly losing connection to the access point and regaining connection. This means I can hardly do anything - can't download patches, play online etc. However I was able to start a download from PS Store and for 40 minutes there was no "Lost connection to access point" message - but if I went to download the COD3 patch it would lose connection by the 4th part of the download.

I've tried all sorts of things - forwarding ports, using DMZ, even switching WEP off.

Is anyone else getting this problem? And does anyone know a solution? My router is upstairs, but all my other WiFi systems work fine with it.

|MaguS|
03-24-07, 06:56 PM
Im using wireless router without any issue but then again my PS3 is sitting above my wireless router.

OWA
03-24-07, 07:06 PM
Mine is about 20 feet away from the router and it seems fine.

SebC
03-24-07, 07:20 PM
I don't think it's signal problem, since I get 100% signal strength when it is connected.
Maybe this is a problem with UK PS3s? :O Anyone else with UK PS3 having this problem?

|MaguS|
03-24-07, 07:41 PM
Don't see how it would be specific problem to the UK units considering nothing changed in the wifi. Have you tried updating with a physical cable and then connecting to wifi? I know they patched some issues early on.

AthlonXP1800
03-24-07, 08:28 PM
Try reboot the router or switch it off and on, it happened to my wireless laptop sometime when I cant accessed Internet or tried to acquired IP address on Wifi card. A simple reboot the router fixed it.

Amuro
03-24-07, 08:37 PM
Or try swtiching to a different channel.

Lyme
03-24-07, 09:23 PM
Set your router to use a fixed channel 6 or 11, rather than auto.

saturnotaku
03-24-07, 10:00 PM
If you have a Wii, try channels 11 and 1 in that order. My PS3, 360, and Wii are all cooperating fine wirelessly with my router on channel 11.

SebC
03-25-07, 10:20 AM
After scouring google; I've found the answer.
PS3 isn't fully compatible with my Wireless-B router, and in order for it to work properly I have to disable SSID Broadcast.

|MaguS|
03-25-07, 10:27 AM
What router do you have?

SebC
03-25-07, 10:29 AM
Linksys Wireless-B Broadband Router BEFW11S4

joost.bruneel
03-26-07, 04:36 AM
I have a linksys B/G router and the same occurs here,
got disconnected (everytime) when downloading content, after that I need to reset the console to make it work again.
I was thinking of returning it and asking for a new one, but it seems to be a common problem.
Did the disabling of the SSID broadcast work for you?

(european version fw:1.60)