PDA

View Full Version : 3DMARK06 Corruption?


newcomer111
03-25-07, 12:18 AM
Hi, everyone, I just bought a BFG 8800GTX OC, when I run
3DMARK06 demo with some higher res setup (basically, 1280x800 and beyond),
at the ending of the demo, I got the 3D font corruption shown in the picture
attached:thumbdwn: , however, anything else in the demo are OK.

I have tested 2 or 3 games so far, they all work fine on my new BFG.

The card is factory OCed, I have not changed the clock of the card, and my
PSU is a coolermaster iGreen 600W.

Can anyone tell me is this a driver issue (97.92, OS is windows xp pro) or
a hardware one?

Many thanks in advance:)

http://img301.imageshack.us/img301/3888/111we6.jpg

Cyant
03-25-07, 12:40 AM
The power Supply is crap. I am sure rail one is not good enough to run the whole system + 1 PCI-Express connector on the 8800GTX under heavy load (3D rendering).

The 2 PCI-Express power plugs are run from 2 of the 3 rails.

Connector 1 is run from the rail number 1 (+12V1)
-Wich is the rail that run the following:
-24 Pin Motherboard connector
-HDD, FDD and Serial ATA connectors
-1 of the 2 EPS +12V 8Pin connector
-Plus of course one of the 2 PCI Express plug.

All those device on a 16A Continuous capable (19.5A peak) rail

+12V2 (Sustained 14A capable rail with a 19.5 peak max)
Run the +12V 4 Pin ATX Connector and the other EPS +12V 8Pin connector

And lastly the +12V3 for the second PCI-Express connector (8A Continuous 19.0A Peak)

The PCI-Express connector on +12V1 should have been moved to another rail or the HDD/SATA to rail 3 to even up the load better. 19.5A Peak is probably not enough to run the 24Pin Connector / 1x PCI-E /Disk Drives and the EPS Connector is you use it. If you do then maybe you should try using the other one (on rail 2) if both are not used.

You can also try to unplug all the hard drives and CD/DVD drives that you dont need and see if you are on the limit of the rail 1 power output. If the problem go away then you will know for sure.

Cooler Master is "don't get near that crap" over here...

newcomer111
03-25-07, 12:58 AM
The power Supply is crap. I am sure rail one is not good enough to run the whole system + 1 PCI-Express connector on the 8800GTX under heavy load (3D rendering).

The 2 PCI-Express power plugs are run from 2 of the 3 rails.

Connector 1 is run from the rail number 1 (+12V1)
-Wich is the rail that run the following:
-24 Pin Motherboard connector
-HDD, FDD and Serial ATA connectors
-1 of the 2 EPS +12V 8Pin connector
-Plus of course one of the 2 PCI Express plug.

All those device on a 16A Continuous capable (19.5A peak) rail

+12V2 (Sustained 14A capable rail with a 19.5 peak max)
Run the +12V 4 Pin ATX Connector and the other EPS +12V 8Pin connector

And lastly the +12V3 for the second PCI-Express connector (8A Continuous 19.0A Peak)

The PCI-Express connector on +12V1 should have been moved to another rail or the HDD/SATA to rail 3 to even up the load better. 19.5A Peak is probably not enough to run the 24Pin Connector / 1x PCI-E /Disk Drives and the EPS Connector is you use it. If you do then maybe you should try using the other one (on rail 2) if both are not used.

You can also try to unplug all the hard drives and CD/DVD drives that you dont need and see if you are on the limit of the rail 1 power output. If the problem go away then you will know for sure.

Cooler Master is "don't get near that crap" over here...

Thanks for your suggestion, I may order a better PSU in the future, however, I need to make sure my card is OK first, because my card is still in the DOA period, but will expire soon :)

Cyant
03-25-07, 01:32 AM
If you have a spare PSU (350W will do just fine) use it to power your card.

Step 1 - Short the pin 14 (/PS_ONusually green) with a paper clip to ONE of the 7 GROUNDS (should be black) on the 350W PSU. A bend paper clip (the big ones) work great but a female 20pin ATX connector with a soldered wire or a relay is better for more a permanent setup like mine hehe...

Note that the ATX 20pin pin numering is a bit weird observe:
http://pinouts.ru/connectors/atx20m.gif
20 pin MOLEX connector at the cable

The color might be different so go my the wire number not color!

1 3.3V Orange +3.3 VDC
2 3.3V Orange +3.3 VDC
3 COM Black Ground
4 5V Red +5 VDC
5 COM Black Ground
6 5V Red +5 VDC
7 COM Black Ground
8 PWR_OK Gray Power Ok (is a status signal generated by the power supply to notify the computer that the DC operating voltages are within the ranges required for proper computer operation)
9 5VSB Purple +5 VDC Standby Voltage (max 10mA)
10 12V Yellow +12 VDC
11 3.3V Orange +3.3 VDC
12 -12V Blue -12 VDC
13 COM Black Ground
14 /PS_ON Green Power Supply On (active low). Short this pin to GND to switch power supply ON, disconnect from GND to switch OFF.
15 COM Black Ground
16 COM Black Ground
17 COM Black Ground
18 -5V White -5 VDC
19 5V Red +5 VDC
20 5V Red +5 VDC

http://pinouts.ru/Power/atxpower_pinout.shtml

Step 2 - Plug the 4pin to 6 pin adaptor to the 350W PSU and plug it in your video card.

Step 3 - Power up the 350W PSU

Step 4 - Power up your PC

The Cooler Master will power your system including the PCI-Express slot and the 350W (or whatever a 250W and higher should work as well just for the sake of my example hehe) will power your 2x 6 pin power wire on the 8800 and then you will see if it's a power supply problem.

My system is running like that ATM and everything is A-OK.

newcomer111
03-25-07, 01:49 AM
If you have a spare PSU (350W will do just fine) use it to power your card.

Step 1 - Short the pin 14 (/PS_ONusually green) with a paper clip to ONE of the 7 GROUNDS (should be black) on the 350W PSU. A bend paper clip (the big ones) work great but a female 20pin ATX connector with a soldered wire or a relay is better for more a permanent setup like mine hehe...

Note that the ATX 20pin pin numering is a bit weird observe:
http://pinouts.ru/connectors/atx20m.gif
20 pin MOLEX connector at the cable

The color might be different so go my the wire number not color!


http://pinouts.ru/Power/atxpower_pinout.shtml

Step 2 - Plug the 4pin to 6 pin adaptor to the 350W PSU and plug it in your video card.

Step 3 - Power up the 350W PSU

Step 4 - Power up your PC

The Cooler Master will power your system including the PCI-Express slot and the 350W (or whatever a 250W and higher should work as well just for the sake of my example hehe) will power your 2x 6 pin power wire on the 8800 and then you will see if it's a power supply problem.

My system is running like that ATM and everything is A-OK.

Thank you very much, I have a spare PSU in my office, I will try this next week:D

Keltek
03-26-07, 03:03 AM
I have Asus 8800GTX with Fortron 700W power supply and I have same artefacts. I thing, this is not power supply related problem, coz I can play any game with native 1920x1200 without any problems.

Madpistol
03-26-07, 08:05 AM
I have Asus 8800GTX with Fortron 700W power supply and I have same artefacts. I thing, this is not power supply related problem, coz I can play any game with native 1920x1200 without any problems.

It's possibly a cooling problem. 3Dmark06 does tax your video card pretty hard. Check your temps while running the program. If you're in the 80C range, it's too hot.

Keltek
03-26-07, 08:19 AM
It's possibly a cooling problem. 3Dmark06 does tax your video card pretty hard. Check your temps while running the program. If you're in the 80C range, it's too hot.

Nope, I have 65C max. Fan at 80%. Idle temp is 50C.

firehawk
03-27-07, 12:10 AM
this is a 3d mark/driver problem.


it happens on all 8800 cards. it only appears at the ending credits

Madpistol
03-27-07, 12:29 AM
Never knew that. I guess i haven't watched the credits yet because otherwise I probably would have noticed that by now.

and temps are definately good.

john19055
03-27-07, 02:28 PM
I had problems with my 7900GTX SLI set-up in the benchMark 3DMark06 ,where it ran everthing fine until the last couple of frames and I would get artifacts ,I had a SilverStone Zues 560w and I tried other power supplies ,but it would mess up evertime on that spot.My games ran fine ,But when I got my new set-up E6600 running at 3.6gigs and two 8800GTS clocked at 640/1800,I have had no problems with any bench mark or my games.