PDA

View Full Version : AMD Athlon 64 FX-62 Dual Core Processor for $389 at New Egg


MikeC
03-26-07, 11:51 AM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103861&ATT=19-103-861&CMP=OTC-pr1c3grabb3r

SLippe
03-26-07, 12:04 PM
Nice!

ENU291
03-26-07, 12:07 PM
WOW! Dell is still selling that bad boy for close to $1000!

DiscipleDOC
03-26-07, 01:20 PM
I'm still waiting for the price of the 6000 to come down. I'm planning on getting one at the end of next month.

mullet
03-26-07, 01:43 PM
I'm still waiting for the price of the 6000 to come down. I'm planning on getting one at the end of next month.

Hmm, I don't know DiscipleDOC the FX-62 has an unlocked multi, you should be able to do 3Ghz pretty easy. I ran my FX-55 @ 2.8 with ease. Just a thought.

six_storm
03-26-07, 02:08 PM
Switching from 939 to AM2 or Core2Duo is expensive . . . damn upgrades.

iron99
03-26-07, 02:48 PM
Switching from 939 to AM2 or Core2Duo is expensive . . . damn upgrades.

Agreed :). But it is a good deal all the same............

DiscipleDOC
03-26-07, 03:04 PM
Hmm, I don't know DiscipleDOC the FX-62 has an unlocked multi, you should be able to do 3Ghz pretty easy. I ran my FX-55 @ 2.8 with ease. Just a thought.
Yea, but I can't use my am2 board with that CPU. :thumbdwn:

superklye
03-26-07, 03:05 PM
The FX-62 is AM2, brah.

Capt. Picard
03-26-07, 03:31 PM
Agreed :). But it is a good deal all the same............

I'ts the same as buying a bottle of brandy... Even if it costs $100 it's still a bargain.

methimpikehoses
03-26-07, 04:00 PM
Switching from 939 to AM2 or Core2Duo is expensive . . . damn upgrades.

Yes, but it was worth it... at least switching to Intel.

six_storm
03-26-07, 04:32 PM
Yes, but it was worth it... at least switching to Intel.

Oh I def sure the switch is worth it. It's just the money issue, that's all.

superklye
03-26-07, 04:36 PM
You've got two kidneys and could get up to $20k for one of them on the black market...

methimpikehoses
03-26-07, 04:36 PM
Oh I def sure the switch is worth it. It's just the money issue, that's all.

Well if you can sell your old stuff that helps... put that G4 up on the chopping block!

mullet
03-27-07, 12:59 AM
The FX-62 is AM2.

.

superklye
03-27-07, 01:03 AM
It's tempting...I still have my old MSI nForce 570 SLI board kicking around. I'd need to get RAM, some HDDs and other stuff, but this would make for a decent server box. I've got a (legal) copy of Windows Server 2003 Enterprise just begging to be installed.

But then again, I've also got my old ASUS P5N32-Premium SLI sitting here and C2D is mucho faster.

Maybe I should just buy the QX6700, put that in this rig and use my E6600 on the ASUS for a server. :p

Bman212121
04-01-07, 03:02 PM
It's tempting...I still have my old MSI nForce 570 SLI board kicking around. I'd need to get RAM, some HDDs and other stuff, but this would make for a decent server box. I've got a (legal) copy of Windows Server 2003 Enterprise just begging to be installed.

But then again, I've also got my old ASUS P5N32-Premium SLI sitting here and C2D is mucho faster.

Maybe I should just buy the QX6700, put that in this rig and use my E6600 on the ASUS for a server. :p

In all honesty that would make the most sense. The only reason for sticking amd right now I think is if you are on socket 939 because the extra cost for a board and ram is expensive.

@DD: I'm not really sure if getting an FX-62 is even worth it honestly. Even if you have an AM2 board, you also have DDR2. Stock clocks, and E6600 is right on par with the 6000+ and even a little faster than the FX-62. An e6600 is right around $310, so you'd have $80 to put towards a new board. If you sell the old board, yo can probably get the upgrade for the same price. The biggest difference is that the C2D is going to OC like mad, where as the FX-62 or the 6000+ will not oc much at all.

DiscipleDOC
04-02-07, 03:31 PM
The price has just dropped to $369! :eek:


@DD: I'm not really sure if getting an FX-62 is even worth it honestly. Even if you have an AM2 board, you also have DDR2. Stock clocks, and E6600 is right on par with the 6000+ and even a little faster than the FX-62. An e6600 is right around $310, so you'd have $80 to put towards a new board. If you sell the old board, yo can probably get the upgrade for the same price. The biggest difference is that the C2D is going to OC like mad, where as the FX-62 or the 6000+ will not oc much at all.

Hmm...I don't know....I am looking at the C2D more and more....

Bman212121
04-02-07, 03:42 PM
The price has just dropped to $369! :eek:



Hmm...I don't know....I am looking at the C2D more and more....

Yea I know, it does suck that you can't use your old board, but you already have ram that will work, and with a little bit of luck you might be able to get another processor in the future on a new C2D board.

I have an FX-60 and it is great and in games I really don't see the C2D being that much faster, like 5 - 10 frames max, but it is because the graphics card is going to be the limiting factor. I've looked at some of JakUps benches versus mine, and when you keep the graphic card loaded down with eye candy, the processor is going to play less of a role. However, I've been saying the same song and dance over and over, where anything else that you do on the pc is going to be a lot faster. Your frame rate in a game might not go up all that much, but anything else that needs to be computed is going to be faster.

DiscipleDOC
04-02-07, 03:50 PM
Well, If the AM2 6000 doesn't go down in price significantly in the next few weeks, I'm gonna go ahead and jump on the band wagon. I hate it, but I don't want my CPU to be the deciding factor.

methimpikehoses
04-02-07, 04:17 PM
I have an FX-60 and it is great and in games I really don't see the C2D being that much faster, like 5 - 10 frames max, but it is because the graphics card is going to be the limiting factor. .

When I went from the FX-60 to the E6600 OCed, there was a big difference. At stock the differences might be less noticeable. I imagine that the difference gets bigger and bigger each time you add AA, AF, or inches to your monitor size. I don't have numbers to quote to you, but the differences are real enough... and I hate to say it, because I really like AMD.

Bman212121
04-02-07, 05:51 PM
When I went from the FX-60 to the E6600 OCed, there was a big difference. At stock the differences might be less noticeable. I imagine that the difference gets bigger and bigger each time you add AA, AF, or inches to your monitor size. I don't have numbers to quote to you, but the differences are real enough... and I hate to say it, because I really like AMD.

Yea, I don't doubt it. In actuality though, the differences are going to get smaller when you add AA and AF, because they limit the GPU more than the CPU. If I'm running 1024 x 768 with medium setting and no AA/AF, then the difference in FPS is going to be huge because it will be cpu limited. I'm running at 1920 x 1200 with 4x or 8x AA / 16x AF, which loads down the card enough to where the CPU doesn't limit the fps nearly as much. There is why I'm not as big of an advocate in saying it will be a huge gain for games because both cpus have enough power to do what they need, unless you are running an 8800GTX SLI and want to keep a minimum of like 90 fps.