PDA

View Full Version : special cords that allow for lower input voltage


kevJ420
03-28-07, 03:52 PM
I was wondering if a 15A cord (standard blade) exists that allows lower input VAC (like 90VAC instead of 100VAC) existed and where you could buy it.

Bearclaw
03-28-07, 03:54 PM
No.


Yes.



Maybe.


(nana2)

einstein_314
03-28-07, 04:16 PM
:wtf: What the hell are you talking about?!? What does a cord have to do with input voltage? Are we talking power cords to plug the PSU into the wall? You can put whatever voltage you want through a wire....it's the PSU that won't like it.

lduguay
03-28-07, 04:33 PM
You would need a step down transformer or a variac for that... And why in hell would you want that?

J-Mag
03-28-07, 05:15 PM
Are you talking about this?

http://www.pcpower.com/products/viewproduct.php?show=VPC2&view=photos

kevJ420
03-28-07, 05:38 PM
Are you talking about this?

http://www.pcpower.com/products/viewproduct.php?show=VPC2&view=photos

Thanks, that was indeed what I was talking about. I just want as much reduction of brown outage that I can get. But I can't use that plug b/c I don't have 20A receptacle outlets.

I was thinking about buying one of the new tripplite lr varities.

Did those blackflash onyx power cable lower the input VAC necessary?

even the highest end monster power line cables don't reduce the input vac.

lduguay
03-29-07, 04:45 PM
Thanks, that was indeed what I was talking about. I just want as much reduction of brown outage that I can get. But I can't use that plug b/c I don't have 20A receptacle outlets.

I was thinking about buying one of the new tripplite lr varities.

Did those blackflash onyx power cable lower the input VAC necessary?

even the highest end monster power line cables don't reduce the input vac.
Well this is a 20Amp grade cable, with the standard 20 amp plug. If you want to reduce brown outs occurences, all you need is a UPS with the appropriate VA value.