PDA

View Full Version : Freezone 2 for Kentsfield!


Pages : [1] 2

TiKiMaN1
03-29-07, 09:10 PM
Well I will have my brand new CoolIT Systems Freezone next week.:D Hopefully everything works well this time. Last night I was doing some google searches about Kentsfield (QX6700 etc.) and the Freezone and discovered something interesting in the AnandTech Forums:

http://forums.anandtech.com/messageview.aspx?catid=28&threadid=1998273&enterthread=y
Coolit's support rocks!!! Got off the phone with a very knowledgeable person who gave me the run down on some possible product announcements in the next 6-8 months....

There will possibly be a new unit coming soon that will be able to dissipate 300watts of heat versus 175watts of the freezone....

So today when I called CoolIt to get my replacement I was wondering if this was really true. They guy at CoolIT said that "yes they are working on a much stronger Freezone and it should be ready for the market in 6 months or so." The guy called it the Freezone 2 and will be specifically made for Kentsfield and other Quad Core Processors.

Hopefully the new unit will incorporate a 120mm fan. I know I loved the Freezone for my E6700. It is nice to know that they will have a unit that can seriously handle an overclocked Quad Core (like 3.5GHz for example).

The guy also told me that they have tested the current Freezone to work @ 3.4GHz with the QX6700 but they temps were far too high (He said the sweetspot was somewhere between 3GHz-3.2GHz). Probably due to the 175watt limit considering that stock speeds on the QX6700 produces 130watts. So in other words a Freezone that could really handle 300watts would more than rock. Then I would have the ability to give 1.5v without burning the CPU up.:D

Hurry Up CoolIT Systems!(nana2)

A101Sugar
03-29-07, 09:12 PM
sweet. :)

TiKiMaN1
03-29-07, 09:17 PM
sweet. :)

My thoughts exactly.:D I have wondered to myself today if maybe I should just get the Tuniq Tower 120 till this new Freezone comes out. It would be easy to sell a Brand New unused Freezone on eBay. Plus my wife keeps bugging me to get a Nintendo Wii.:p

buffbiff21
03-29-07, 09:17 PM
I am curious, Tiki:

for $300 you can get an awesome CPU cooling water system that will far exceed the Freezone. Why are you so bent on it? You have made a large investment into your rig already - it would only seem logical to get the best of the best for all things - including cooling. In my eyes, Freezone is really only useful for not having to switch the water system when you switch other components.

TiKiMaN1
03-29-07, 09:24 PM
I am curious, Tiki:

for $300 you can get an awesome CPU cooling water system that will far exceed the Freezone. Why are you so bent on it? You have made a large investment into your rig already - it would only seem logical to get the best of the best for all things - including cooling. In my eyes, Freezone is really only useful for not having to switch the water system when you switch other components.

That's a good question....hmmmm...Well I like the lack of maintenance that the Freezone presents. I suppose at some point I should try my own water cooling project, but it would be a first for me.:o

I guess the Freezone left a really nice taste in my mouth the first time around. It was a fantastic cooler for my E6700 overclocked to 3.5GHz. My load temps using CoreTemp:p was actually between 32C-34C. That was awesome. Really awesome. I expected the same cooling capabilites for Kentsfield, but have found that it is not completely up to the task. Not the 3.5GHz task anyway.

buffbiff21
03-29-07, 09:36 PM
That's a good question....hmmmm...Well I like the lack of maintenance that the Freezone presents.
I hear ya. But my guess is - (someone correct me if I am wrong) - that the Freezone would still be susceptible to loop contamination or block clogging just like any full blown system.

I suppose at some point I should try my own water cooling project, but it would be a first for me.:o
I was a liquid cooling virgin up until this build! :D I can make a small list of the stuff youll need. gimme 5 mins. ;)

[B]It was a fantastic cooler for my E6700 overclocked to 3.5GHz.
:lol: But "Kentsfield" CPUs look like this: http://img2.zol.com.cn/product/3_450x337/548/ce5I918O3xR8o.jpg
two Conroe chips under one heatsink. you gotta recompense for that heat somehow.

Xion X2
03-29-07, 09:37 PM
I guess the Freezone left a really nice taste in my mouth the first time around. It was a fantastic cooler for my E6700 overclocked to 3.5GHz. My load temps using CoreTemp was actually between 32C-34C.

Yeah, but it doesn't cool the quads nearly as well. And you have a quad. I've seen guys able to run 3.5gHz on a Kentsfield all day long with temps that are reasonable on a custom water setup.

There's really very little maintenance involved after the initial setup. As long as you take the proper precautions up front by using a good anti-corrosive and biocide, you'll hardly have to touch it. Without the motherboard problems I've had, I've barely had to touch mine in the last 5 months. Only time I disassembled it was to fill a little more coolant in the res, and it took about 5 minutes.

TiKiMaN1
03-29-07, 09:42 PM
It's really too bad that I don't have any friends that live close that could help me with my first WC setup.:( I seriously don't know anyone locally that likes to do this stuff.

buffbiff21
03-29-07, 09:43 PM
Pump. (http://www.petrastechshop.com/laddcwpeddto.html)
Block. (http://www.petrastechshop.com/aqmpproliedu.html)
Radiator. (double Thermochill should be plenty) (http://www.thermochill.com/pa1202.php)
Tubing. (http://www.petrastechshop.com/1id3odtyr.html)
Be sure to get barbs for each component.
Get clamps from Home Depot, and use whatever fans you like. I use Yate Loons cuz theyre damn cheap. :p

TiKiMaN1
03-29-07, 09:50 PM
Pump. (http://www.petrastechshop.com/laddcwpeddto.html)
Block. (http://www.petrastechshop.com/aqmpproliedu.html)
Radiator. (double Thermochill should be plenty) (http://www.thermochill.com/pa1202.php)
Tubing. (http://www.petrastechshop.com/1id3odtyr.html)
Be sure to get barbs for each component.
Get clamps from Home Depot, and use whatever fans you like. I use Yate Loons cuz theyre damn cheap. :p

Thanks I will have to look into this.:D

Xion X2
03-29-07, 09:53 PM
It's really too bad that I don't have any friends that live close that could help me with my first WC setup.:( I seriously don't know anyone locally that likes to do this stuff.

Tiki, I'd be willing to walk you through it. I think you have some hardware sense about you and just need a little instruction.

In fact I just helped a guy complete his watercooled rig pushing a Kentsfield and two 8800GTXs. All I did was instruct him through PMs, and he's getting along just fine.

If you think you might be interested in going this route, then this link will provide you with a gold mine of information:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=70
The only thing that's missing in those guides are quad-core blocks, but there are lots of topics scattered throughout that forum for testing. Last time I checked, the ApogeeGT and D-Tek Fuzion were kings of the hill.. I haven't heard anything about the MP-05. Then again, I haven't browsed the forums over there much the last few weeks.

I like Petra's, but you can get a good pump for a lot cheaper than that. Newegg has the Swiftech MCP350 for 57.19$:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835108063

That's really all you need to cool just a CPU with. And I would suggest worm-drive steel clamps along with brass barbs. You can get both of those at Petras if you don't feel like fishing through thousands of clamps down at Home Depot (which I never do).
www.petrastechshop.com

Thermochills are the best radiators out there, but they're expensive. If you want to go a lot cheaper but still quality, then go with a Swiftech MCR220 for 35.99$ on newegg:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835108086

For tubing, there's really no need to go Tygon unless you have some really tight bends. It's much more expensive than Masterkleer, which is what I use. It's not as flexible as the Tygon, but if you're only cooling a CPU then you shouldn't have any tight bends that need Tygon. You can get the Masterkleer at Petras as well.

TiKiMaN1
03-29-07, 10:05 PM
Tiki, I'd be willing to walk you through it. I think you have some hardware sense about you and just need a little instruction.

In fact I just helped a guy complete his watercooled rig pushing a Kentsfield and two 8800GTXs. All I did was instruct him through PMs, and he's getting along just fine.

If you think you might be interested in going this route, then this link will provide you with a gold mine of information:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=70

I like Petra's, but you can get a good pump for a lot cheaper than that. Newegg has the Swiftech MCP350 for 57.19$:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835108063

That's really all you need to cool just a CPU with. And I would suggest worm-drive steel clamps along with brass barbs. You can get both of those at Petras if you don't feel like fishing through thousands of clamps down at Home Depot (which I never do).
www.petrastechshop.com

Thanks.:D I will let you guys know what happens next week.

buffbiff21
03-29-07, 10:13 PM
Last time I checked, the ApogeeGT and D-Tek Fuzion were kings of the hill.. I haven't heard anything about the MP-05. Then again, I haven't browsed the forums over there much the last few weeks.
Check my post here (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=1209968#post1209968).

I like Petra's, but you can get a good pump for a lot cheaper than that. Newegg has the Swiftech MCP350 for 57.19$:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835108063
that is the same pump I suggested,only difference is that pump's native tube support is 3/8. We dont want to confuse Tiki :lol: just keep it all 1/2. Petras pump top will make it natively support 1/2 and is a performance booster.

Xion X2
03-29-07, 10:20 PM
that is the same pump I suggested,only difference is that pump's native tube support is 3/8. We dont want to confuse Tiki :lol: just keep it all 1/2. Petras pump top will make it natively support 1/2 and is a performance booster.

I know it's the same pump. Who says he needs 1/2" for just a CPU? I don't even use 1/2" with all I've got.. it's not really needed. 3/8" would be plenty for just a CPU unless he just wants larger tubing.

I saw your graph from vr-zone, but I'd like to see further testing. Sometimes those places will only run 1-2 tests which can differ just from the way the block is mounted. That's why I liked reading all the tests on Xtremesystems. Those guys tested the blocks 7-8 times before a conclusion was made.

LORD-eX-Bu
03-29-07, 10:23 PM
I wouldn't touch the Freezone 2 with a ten foot pole. Its probably sucks twice as bad as the original:p

Tiki, WC is basically super low maintenance. Setting it up in my case was a breeze and required no case modifications at all. When something new comes around that really pushes your loop to the limit you can upgrade it by adding a stronger pump or a better radiator whereas with the freezone you are looking dropping $400 for a new unit that so far is unproven to replace your current one that couldn't cut it.

Sooner or later you will give in and become one of us:skeleton2

I use all 3/8" ID 1/2" OD Tygon 3606 tubing, have the MCP350 pump, MCR220 Radiator and Apogee GT block. That Liang DDC pump is overpriced and 1/2" ID vs 3/8" ID really makes no difference for just cooling a cpu. Heck, even in larger loops I don't see much a difference.

Apogee GTX FTW! :D

buffbiff21
03-29-07, 10:47 PM
^ guys I was just doing a quick $300 dollar water cooling build. it was not meant to be definitively versatile. Since Tiki likely has limited space in his TJ09 he will need a smaller Rad and thus must make up for it somehow.

1/2 tube gives more flow. simple as that. The difference is not *huge* per se, but if you ever move to cool your GPUs (the onboard hsf can get rather loud) then you will need that extra pump power and flow.

EDIT two things i forgot:

fillport (http://www.petrastechshop.com/dadenbrfi.html)
and
T-line
(or a res, but Tline would consume less space.

LORD-eX-Bu
03-29-07, 10:56 PM
res would be easier to bleed tho:p

For as much as that pump costs I'd get a MCP655:D Swiftech MCR220 fits fine in the case, if you get creative you could fit a PA120.2:D

A101Sugar
03-29-07, 11:28 PM
The one thing though... a Freezone looks a lot nicer/cleaner than a watercooling set-up (there are some out there that look really nice, but in general...) IMO...

LORD-eX-Bu
03-29-07, 11:41 PM
The one thing though... a Freezone looks a lot nicer/cleaner than a watercooling set-up (there are some out there that look really nice, but in general...) IMO...

depends on how you mount it.. for example...

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24800&stc=1&d=1175232217

you can't see crap, I don't like how it blocks the view. Has blue liquid, tubing is coiled, nothing I haven't seen before on a WC setup:lol:

so what makes it look better? :p

Xion X2
03-29-07, 11:49 PM
Ben, the only reason I spoke up is because it seemed your suggestions were a bit overkill for his situation. I'm not trying to 1-up you or anything. I agree, of course, that if he plans on WC'ng his GPUs down the road that 1/2" and the pump/radiator combo you suggested would be a better idea. But he's coming from a Freezone which only cooled the CPU, anyway, and hasn't mentioned anything about cooling his G80s. For just a CPU, Petra's pump, 1/2" tubing and a Thermochill PA 120.2 are overkill and an unnecessary waste of money, and so is Tygon. 3/8" is more than sufficient for a one-block loop. It hasn't even been proven, that I've seen anyway, that 1/2" really affects temps all that much.

Then again, this cost-effective approach is coming from a guy that spent $189 on an Iwaki pump. :)

The truth is that there are extremities in the WC'ng world for you to sink your money into just like everything else. I guess when someone asks for suggestions I'm always coming up with the most cost-effective thing because I refuse to go that route myself. :)

Tiki, Ben's suggestions are good if you think you might want to cool more than your CPU in the future. If not, then you could save a lot of money by not going so extreme. In fact, if you decide to go the cheaper route, then I think you should buy that kit that LORD linked you to over at jab-tech for less than 220$ that had the ApogeeGT in it. But if you decide to get the kit then make sure you get some DD hi-flow brass barbs and steel worm-drive clamps from Petras. Don't use the plastic stuff.

buffbiff21
03-29-07, 11:57 PM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24800&stc=1&d=1175232217
:rofl
LORD we think alike :D

Ben, the only reason I spoke up is because it seemed your suggestions were a bit overkill for his situation. I'm not trying to 1-up you or anything.
Its all good. :) I just made those suggestiosn because that is the stuff I have first hand experience with - and it kicks ass - and it fit the 300 dollar pricetag of the Freezone.
its best if someone absorbs all the suggestions and then makes judgement. Of course xtremesystems is the place to start.

Xion X2
03-30-07, 12:04 AM
The one thing though... a Freezone looks a lot nicer/cleaner than a watercooling set-up (there are some out there that look really nice, but in general...) IMO...

Nah, no way. When done right, there's no comparison.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24801&stc=1&d=1175230958
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24802&stc=1&d=1175230000
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24803&stc=1&d=1175230000
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24804&stc=1&d=1175230000
http://img182.imageshack.us/img182/1558/dsc01788bu2yy9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

buffbiff21
03-30-07, 12:17 AM
Nah, no way. When done right, there's no comparison.

Hey you forgot ours :lol:

http://img185.imageshack.us/img185/3144/p2070162oa5.jpg[/URL]
[URL=http://imageshack.us]
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/4561/p1010054ix9.jpg

LORD-eX-Bu
03-30-07, 12:20 AM
noice!! :D man I wish I had a decent camera:lol:

Xion X2
03-30-07, 12:24 AM
Uggh. Mine's a mess in that one.. I snapped that pic off as soon as I finished it before a decent cleanup. It doesn't compare. :p

This one before I went SLI is much better:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24805&stc=1&d=1175232175