PDA

View Full Version : Project T.E.C. is Underway! (56K Warning)


Pages : [1] 2 3

jAkUp
03-30-07, 03:27 AM
This is what I have been working on the last few days (lee63)

Should have it hopefully wrapped out by the end of this weekend :D

Yes my PC has 2 power plugs :) One at the top and bottom... top for TEC, bottom for PSU.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24807&d=1175243190

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24808&d=1175243190

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24809&d=1175243207

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24810&d=1175243207

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24811&d=1175243221

jAkUp
03-30-07, 03:29 AM
a few more shots:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24812&d=1175243342

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24813&d=1175243342

WeReWoLf
03-30-07, 03:56 AM
Lookin good so far. Can't wait to see the temps and clocks you post with this mofo.

npras42
03-30-07, 06:19 AM
That looks freaking awesome. I know the whole point of this is the TEC but I'm actually talking about the aesthetic beauty of it. I love black on chrome!

|MaguS|
03-30-07, 06:57 AM
For a second there I was like "Holy ****, nice wiring job!" then I noticed nothing is actually plugged in. :o

buffbiff21
03-30-07, 07:09 AM
I love black on chrome!

Me too.

jAkup... your rig looks akin to my earlier incarnation.

http://img105.imageshack.us/img105/1820/p1010046ql9.th.jpg (http://img105.imageshack.us/my.php?image=p1010046ql9.jpg)

LORD-eX-Bu
03-30-07, 10:40 AM
For a second there I was like "Holy ****, nice wiring job!" then I noticed nothing is actually plugged in. :o

:rofl same thing happened to me in Tiki's build thread:lol:

Xion X2
03-30-07, 10:46 AM
Awesome. ;)

jAkUp
04-02-07, 03:38 AM
Well guys, my weeks of blood and sweat (literally) has finally paid off.

This PC is so complicated I was sure that something would go wrong, but, everything seems to be working great!

First up, I begin wiring the case, notice what it takes for a system with so many devices to look have decent with wiring:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24840&stc=1&d=1175503041

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24841&stc=1&d=1175501627

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24842&stc=1&d=1175501627

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24846&stc=1&d=1175501763

jAkUp
04-02-07, 03:40 AM
So, now that it is built, lets see some results:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24843&stc=1&d=1175501744

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24844&stc=1&d=1175501763

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24845&stc=1&d=1175501763

mike686
04-02-07, 04:11 AM
Jakup that is a ****ING BAD ASS rig dude. I hope you enjoy the fruits of your labor.

jAkUp
04-02-07, 11:31 AM
Well done and nice temps!
How is overclocking going now?

Working on that :)

Bman212121
04-02-07, 11:45 AM
Well guys, my weeks of blood and sweat (literally) has finally paid off.

This PC is so complicated I was sure that something would go wrong, but, everything seems to be working great!

First up, I begin wiring the case, notice what it takes for a system with so many devices to look have decent with wiring:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24840&stc=1&d=1175503041


Heh, it looks like I'm not the only one who uses electrical tape to tape the wires to the back of the mobo tray. :)

buffbiff21
04-02-07, 12:30 PM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=24842&stc=1&d=1175501627

I see bubbles! :p

jAkup you need to cut your drive rack again. :D

also:
http://img250.imageshack.us/img250/8160/asldkjfaqb9.png

mullet
04-02-07, 12:41 PM
Jakup, that looks amazing dude, Isn't it nice to now have a case with some room in it now? BTW those temps are just awsome!!!!

Quick420
04-02-07, 02:44 PM
Real quality build M8,is that sb temp really not high? I am putting together a similar setup(not as extravagant)as a summer project for my own use,so I will continue to read this thread for sure.Tiki's rig are nice usually as well.Again I say GOOD WORK:D

methimpikehoses
04-02-07, 03:11 PM
Really nice looking rig. Let's see some benchmarks! (nana2)

jAkUp
04-03-07, 03:06 AM
Today I swapped out all 5 fans for 5 Yate Loons, the heat put out by the radiator is incredible... really, really hot air.

At 3.6GHz, 1.52v, on idle, I am around -5c, load is around 35-40c. One thing to remember is it is very sensitive to voltage, play nice with voltage or else the temps will skyrocket.

mullet
04-03-07, 09:18 AM
Today I swapped out all 5 fans for 5 Yate Loons, the heat put out by the radiator is incredible... really, really hot air.

At 3.6GHz, 1.52v, on idle, I am around -5c, load is around 35-40c. One thing to remember is it is very sensitive to voltage, play nice with voltage or else the temps will skyrocket.


WOW, nice temps.
Have you tried 8x500 / mem@1000 / FSB@2000 / Vcore@1.45v

EDIT, haha oops.

LORD-eX-Bu
04-03-07, 09:31 AM
do you want his rig to blow up? :rofl 4.5v Vcore?:lol:

mullet
04-03-07, 09:47 AM
do you want his rig to blow up? :rofl 4.5v Vcore?:lol:

lol fixed. good grief.:headexplode:

buffbiff21
04-03-07, 10:27 PM
Have you tried 8x500 / mem@1000 / FSB@2000 / Vcore@1.45v
680i does not like high FSB..

Though I must say jAkup 1.52 v is a bit high for 3.6. 'Specially for an x6800... You might want to clock down your memory in favor of a 1:1 ratio. Don't be misled by higher memory bandwidth - run some quick PI tests with your memory at 1100 mhz, and then drop it to 800 mhz and I bet you will see no difference..

LORD-eX-Bu
04-03-07, 11:28 PM
most I got was 8x450, memory was at 1200mhz but it wasn't stable. I didn't mess too much with the voltages, but I'm happy where I'm at:D

If you can get a quad to go near that on a 680i you know what you're doing:D

mullet
04-03-07, 11:45 PM
highest I got was 3.8, air limitations.

buffbiff21
04-04-07, 12:16 AM
most I got was 8x450, memory was at 1200mhz but it wasn't stable. I didn't mess too much with the voltages, but I'm happy where I'm at:D
If you run your CPU and FSB at anything other than a 1:1 ratio it will put more strain on your memory controller inthe NB chip, requiring a lot more voltage than it would to simply up the vcore.

highest I got was 3.8, air limitations.
Yeah the Intel chipsets still really dominate. I had a DS3 (P965) that hit 475 also. My old P5W DH Deluxe (expensive when I bought it) hit over 500 no sweat.

I topped off about 455 on this board with a little voltage increase.