PDA

View Full Version : Dual 12V Rail?


G113385
04-01-07, 12:52 PM
Question is should i get a power supply with dual 12v rails for my rig in my sig? does it really make a diff? im about to buy one in a couple hrs, choosing between a zero dba dual 12v rail 620 watt, or a ocz modstream 520 watt with single 12v rail. thanks

$n][pErMan
04-01-07, 01:33 PM
Gotta go by the AMP's on the rails. I have a single rail design but with a massive 54A rating on the 12v rail :)

G113385
04-01-07, 02:12 PM
Alright, well the zero DBA from aero cool has 20A on the first 12v rail, and 18 on the second, while the OCZ modstream 520watt has 28A on the single 12v rail, one is also 40 bucks more, do i really need the dual 12V rail, if i do then ill get the dual one.

G113385
04-01-07, 04:24 PM
enyone????

Xion X2
04-02-07, 10:05 AM
Do not buy a dual 12v rail PSU. This should be stickied at the top of this forum.

Once again, they are horribly optimized for high-end systems and present a major bottleneck. The reason is because on multi-rail PSUs, the first 12v rail is always dedicated to running only the processor. Therefore, when you buy a PSU with only two rails on it, you are left with half the advertised amps to run the rest of your system off of while the processor hogs half of them. It's better to just buy a single-rail model or one that has 3 or more rails on it to provide you with more flexibility.

CaiNaM
04-02-07, 10:27 AM
they aren't really "multiple rails" (unless you get the 1000w enermax, which actually has 2 transformers). it's just a method of breaking up a single rail to conform to a ul standard on allowable amperage 'per rail".

the ocz you mention is okay, but i wouldn't get it to run 2 g80's. i would suggest their new gameXstream line, or a corsair 520HX/620HX. much better psu's.

G113385
04-02-07, 11:14 AM
alright thanks guys, that was exactly what i was lookin for, i work at compusa and were closing a store, those were the best ones that we had left, and they were like 50 bucks, enyways preciate it guys.