PDA

View Full Version : 8800 GTX + Vista 32 = Overlay is disabled, no controls available


24inchGamer
04-01-07, 04:49 PM
Hi Guys,
I have a Asus 8800 GTX and Win Vista 32bit
I noticed my video brightness looked a little too high so I went on over to the nvidia control panel and 'adjust video colour settings' ..just like I did with my old 7950's but when I got there I just got the following message where the controls normally are 'Overlay is disabled, no controls available'
I have the latest drivers, and I tried a full uninstall and re-install but no joy?
Anyone any ideas?
Cheers for your help!

kam03
04-02-07, 08:04 AM
Hi Guys,
I have a Asus 8800 GTX and Win Vista 32bit
I noticed my video brightness looked a little too high so I went on over to the nvidia control panel and 'adjust video colour settings' ..just like I did with my old 7950's but when I got there I just got the following message where the controls normally are 'Overlay is disabled, no controls available'
I have the latest drivers, and I tried a full uninstall and re-install but no joy?
Anyone any ideas?
Cheers for your help!

That's the first thing i realised when i installed vista (running vista 64 bit).

Overlay isn't supported on vista yet? i get the same message on control panel.

Media player on left and VLC player on right. VLC player doesn't use overlay so it displays correctly. Hope nvidia release a driver with overlay support soon.

http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/937/28032007709na9.jpg

Any suggestions?

24inchGamer
04-02-07, 09:01 AM
That's the first thing i realised when i installed vista (running vista 64 bit).

Overlay isn't supported on vista yet? i get the same message on control panel.

Media player on left and VLC player on right. VLC player doesn't use overlay so it displays correctly. Hope nvidia release a driver with overlay support soon.

http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/937/28032007709na9.jpg

Any suggestions?
I have a pc at work running the same OS but overlay isnt disabled and I can change each control :S 8800 driver issue?

kam03
04-02-07, 09:58 AM
I have a pc at work running the same OS but overlay isnt disabled and I can change each control :S 8800 driver issue?

what graphics card is in that machine?

24inchGamer
04-02-07, 10:02 AM
what graphics card is in that machine?7900GS