PDA

View Full Version : Why hasn't AMD created a new architecture by now?

Pages : [1] 2

sillyeagle
04-13-07, 12:08 AM
I'm no CPU expert but isn't AMDs current CPU still an evolution of the original Athlon? Intel has created TWO totally new and different architectures in the same time period AMD has been milking the same basic design. Why havn't they attempted to create something new? Seems they are so far down now they'll never regain.

Madpistol
04-13-07, 12:42 AM
They have created a new architecture. It's code named "Barcelona" We're waitng to see it hit the market. Just be patient. ;)

sillyeagle
04-13-07, 12:57 AM
Oh ok, shows how much I've been paying attention to the CPU scene. lol

Xion X2
04-13-07, 01:09 AM
They've also gone to 65nm with some of their chips, like the X2 3600+ Brisbane. Overclocks like a motha from 1.9-->3.1 rather easily.

Sazar
04-13-07, 01:34 AM
I'm no CPU expert but isn't AMDs current CPU still an evolution of the original Athlon? Intel has created TWO totally new and different architectures in the same time period AMD has been milking the same basic design. Why havn't they attempted to create something new? Seems they are so far down now they'll never regain.

Amd created "new architectures" too, with their hammer tech.

Intel btw has not really created anything totally new. Look at their "previous generation" dothan tech and other developments from their p3 core, merge it with some of the tech you have with the p4, insert a highly talented design team and you have conroe/merom and so on (i.e. core2).

AMD has tech that has survived till now and continues to perform relatively well. But they really do need Barcelona to debut, perform well, consume low power AND have few, if any issues. A tall order but lets see.

CaptNKILL
04-13-07, 01:55 AM