PDA

View Full Version : A very stupid question, but help me please


a_big_burger
04-16-07, 07:53 PM
Hi,

I bought expansive computer parts before, but I haven't built a computer from scratch. My AMD FX-55 has died and I have decided to pick an Intel motherboard and chip. My question:

If I put the new motherboard and the chip in the PC case and connect them with the rest of the existing old components, Can it start the window? I assume my hard disk still has the data and operating system, will the existing OS on the old disk still work or I have to re-install the OS?

The new motherboard support SATA II. Will SATA disk work on SATA II motherboard?

I know these questions may sound stupid for some computer pros, but I have to ask since I am still very new in the area of PC building.

Thanks!

Bearclaw
04-16-07, 08:00 PM
It is best to back up all your documents that you will want/need later on and do a clean install of windows.

a_big_burger
04-16-07, 08:18 PM
It is best to back up all your documents that you will want/need later on and do a clean install of windows.
But I can't access the current documents since my PC is broken. You mean I can still boot the window after connecting all the componets, save all the stuffs I need and re-install windows to make sure no issues?

Thanks for your fast response.

Bearclaw
04-16-07, 08:44 PM
You should be able to, yes. You will some Driver Issues when first booting into it which might prevent you from doing certain stuff but if you are just going to back-up you will be fine.

Just get everything backed up and then do a clean install. :)

buffbiff21
04-16-07, 08:49 PM
But I can't access the current documents since my PC is broken.
How is your PC "broken?" Is your hard disk dead? Or will it just not boot? You can always install Windows on another disk... hook your disk with the data on it up as a non-boot disk and still access the data from My Computer.

Also I'm not so sure why everyone recommends fresh install when switching out components. I have swapped through at least 10 mainboards and my XP copy has endured it all. :o

Bearclaw
04-16-07, 08:53 PM
How is your PC "broken?" Is your hard disk dead? Or will it just not boot? You can always install Windows on another disk... hook your disk with the data on it up as a non-boot disk and still access the data from My Computer.

Also I'm not so sure why everyone recommends fresh install when switching out components. I have swapped through at least 10 mainboards and my XP copy has endured it all. :o
I always heard it was for stability issues. It only takes 20 minutes to re-install anyway. Why not?

buffbiff21
04-16-07, 08:59 PM
I always heard it was for stability issues. It only takes 20 minutes to re-install anyway. Why not?
I know, but drivers, games (if you keep them on the same disk), apps, docs, configuring Windows.... they all add up.

That is why I have my good old Acronis cloned partition on one of my old drives :afro:

CaptNKILL
04-16-07, 09:03 PM
Try to boot it first. If works, back things up as best you can, then do a reinstall.

If it doesnt boot, boot off of your operating system disk and do a repair installation. If you don't know how to do that, at some point during the setup process it'll ask you to press R to repair a windows installation (not the recovery console, skip that part). If you see any mention of formatting or partitioning your drive, you've gone too far, reset your PC and start setup again.

A lot of times this can get a system working in a situation like this. I still recommend backing things up and doing a "real" reinstall (with a format) once you get this done though, just to make sure your system is running its best.

DRen72
04-16-07, 09:04 PM
DDR vs DDR2 may be an issue.

jcniest5
04-18-07, 12:33 PM
I have said it before and I will say it again, I have migrated from DDR1 (Asus A8N-SLI Premium) to DDR2 (Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi) without having to reinstall Windows. Depending on situation, his may work without requiring reinstallation. Or it may not. It's worth trying to boot first and see how it goes. If it works, just uninstall old drivers and install new drivers. That's all I did with mine.

DRen72
04-18-07, 04:10 PM
I have said it before and I will say it again, I have migrated from DDR1 (Asus A8N-SLI Premium) to DDR2 (Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi) without having to reinstall Windows. Depending on situation, his may work without requiring reinstallation. Or it may not. It's worth trying to boot first and see how it goes. If it works, just uninstall old drivers and install new drivers. That's all I did with mine.

Did you make any preparations to Windows before you swapped boards? Such as uninstall device drivers, etc.?

I've never had any luck and have always had to reinstall Windows when I swap motherboards, CPU, etc.

lduguay
04-18-07, 04:17 PM
Did you make any preparations to Windows before you swapped boards? Such as uninstall device drivers, etc.?

I've never had any luck and have always had to reinstall Windows when I swap motherboards, CPU, etc.
Same here, i usually get BSOD galore.:(