PDA

View Full Version : is e4300 at 67@ 2 hot?


bugmage
04-21-07, 09:00 AM
i just got the cpu and I have been overclocking
-right now im running at 3.33 at 1.4v with load of 53*

but it ran fine at

-3.6ghz at 1.5 with load of 67*

on water


do you think thats 2 hot? or do you think im fine running it like that

-im a amd guy i had a 3800x2 and ive had it at 1.55v at one time and it never got that hot


you can tell the waters working because in about 3 seconds after closing the 2 prime 95s, it goes back down to low 40s

Xion X2
04-21-07, 10:11 AM
67C is too hot for that chip. Try to keep it at 60C or below for benchmarking over long periods of time.

What are you using to read temps with?

bugmage
04-21-07, 10:15 AM
the OEM software, and bios match the software on idle temp at least

I read somewhere there was a bad temp monitor in the e4300s but I haven't seen anything official or any real testings

and another post here mentions the cpus die temps 84*

i wonder if maybe i need to reapply the arctic silver as some people say the idle temps at stock are 25* but its hard to tell because im sure they have the auto under clocking enabled

actually i just found a good link for it, but it looks like its normal?

they says under 70 is fine and good

http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=28373

Tr1cK
04-21-07, 11:08 AM
Mine is on air at 1.35v. It runs up to 62 or so with dual Prime95 running in large mode. I did have it running up to 70 when I was first clocking the snot out of it at up to 1.5 volts. I just settled at 333x9 (3.0) because everything just seems to work perfectly. Mine also drops REAL fast on the core temps after closing prime. What mobo is it?

Xion X2
04-21-07, 11:58 AM
actually i just found a good link for it, but it looks like its normal?

they says under 70 is fine and good

http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=28373

You're misinterpreting. Pay attention to this part of Intel's guide:

Thermal Specification:

* The thermal specification shown is the maximum case temperature at the maximum Thermal Design Power (TDP) value for that processor. It is measured at the geometric center on the topside of the processor integrated heat spreader.

X6800 = 60.4c, Vcore max = 1.3525, TDP = 75w
E6700 = 60.1c, Vcore max = 1.3525, TDP = 65w
E6600 = 60.1c, Vcore max = 1.3525, TDP = 65w
E6400 = 61.4c, Vcore max = 1.3525, TDP = 65w
E6300 = 61.4c, Vcore max = 1.3525, TDP = 65w
E4300 = 61.4c, Vcore max = 1.3250, TDP = 65w

Thermal Case Temperatures of 60c is hot, 55c is warm, and 50c is safe. The single CPU Thermal Case sensor is how Tcase is measured, and is the CPU temp displayed in BIOS, Motherboard Utilities


So, 61.4C is your maximum safe temp on the E4300.

$n][pErMan
04-21-07, 12:18 PM
I keep mine under 56c on Orthos to play it on the safe side. There is certainly going to be some error either direction on the reading so I like to play it safe. Also, AC5 takes about a week to kick in and you must shut your computer off and allow it to completely cool several times initially for AC5 to settle and do its job :) But once it does... its amazing stuff :D

Dazz
04-22-07, 05:40 AM
My E4300 runs at 30C idle and 57C underload and thats 3.4GHz @ 1.66v with air cooling i would look into reapplying the paste and check the contact. That is far too hot for water cooling.

Xion X2
04-22-07, 10:00 AM
Dazz, you have an insanely cool chip if you're pushing 1.66V and are only at 57C under load on nothing but air.

What are you considering load? Large FFTs in dual Prime or Orthos, I hope? That's cooler than even I can get on water, so it's definitely unheard of for air cooling.

Dazz
04-22-07, 12:03 PM
Orthos, i am using the Coolermaster Gemni 2 with 2x 2000rpm 120mm fans. While playing games it tends to be about 45C. Temps have not changed much from my Thermalright Ultra 120. Only got the coolermaster to help cool down my nForce 680i.

Xion X2
04-22-07, 01:25 PM
Orthos

Blend or FFTs? There can be as much as a 15 degree difference between the two.

Dazz
04-22-07, 03:25 PM
FFTs

Tr1cK
04-22-07, 05:41 PM
Dazz, what are you checking the temps with? I found speedfan was about 15c off on mine. It seems WAY low for 1.66v. I really don't think I have the balls to do 1.60 even. I do FFTs all day long @ around 62c.

I need to recheck my AS5 anyways. I don't think I got a good application cause normally it practically cements itself to the chip. Then again, the Tuniq is so massive, it would take a lot to hold it still.

Dazz
04-23-07, 03:53 AM
I just use the utility that came with the ABIT board uGuru.

Besides 1.66v an't that high.
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=25223&stc=1&d=1177320811

Problem being is once PWM hits 91C it will freeze or reboot. Can't find a way to bring the temps down. It changes massively
@ 1.55v CPU they are 68C @ 1.66v they are 83C

gulizard
04-23-07, 05:12 AM
Intel CPU's do have a feature that shuts them off if they get to hot do they not? I thought AMD and Intel both did. I left my HSF off my old A64 3000+ 754 I had and it just shut off before it died.. I know the old athlon XP's would just burn if you did that but as far as Intel and now even AMD go I am sure they have a shut off point before it kills the CPU does it not?

Dazz
04-23-07, 09:07 AM
Yeah they do i have left mine on but disable clock throttle. Athlon XP's had the feature but was based on the board i.e software. Well the Palomano or whatever core onwards or it was the Barton onwards.

Xion X2
04-23-07, 11:35 AM
Use a different utility to verify those temps, Dazz. I'm just having a hard time believing you're only at 57C load with 1.66V on air. That is an unheard of amount of voltage for somebody on air to be able to push and keep temps reasonable. I have a bud w/ a Tuniq Tower and about 6 tornados in his case pushing 80+cfm, and at 1.66V he'd be over 75C on his CPU running FFTs.

Try this to monitor temps and report back, if you wouldn't mind. This is what all the pros use. It measures each core individually and has proven to be very accurate:

Dazz
04-23-07, 12:30 PM
Tried that core temp and they are on par with eacj other core temp but the ABIT utility is slower to react to the temp change. I have noticed when under normal operation that the ABIT Utility reads temps from Core 0 and Core 1 tends to me the one mostly used e.g playing games.

$n][pErMan
04-23-07, 06:38 PM
Use a different utility to verify those temps, Dazz. I'm just having a hard time believing you're only at 57C load with 1.66V on air. That is an unheard of amount of voltage for somebody on air to be able to push and keep temps reasonable. I have a bud w/ a Tuniq Tower and about 6 tornados in his case pushing 80+cfm, and at 1.66V he'd be over 75C on his CPU running FFTs.

Try this to monitor temps and report back, if you wouldn't mind. This is what all the pros use. It measures each core individually and has proven to be very accurate:
What the hell is T junction? Mine is 85C.... :| This program reads the temps much lower than my motherboard program... wonder which is right....

Xion X2
04-23-07, 07:43 PM
[pErMan']What the hell is T junction? Mine is 85C.... :| This program reads the temps much lower than my motherboard program... wonder which is right....

Pay no mind to the T-Junction. It doesn't read it correctly.. reads 85C on all procs. I forget what it is exactly, but it's underneath the heat spreader.

CoreTemp reads the heat spreader at its center and is normally very accurate.

Dazz
04-23-07, 07:57 PM
I throught it's the max temp the die can handle before shut down. In my BIOS it beeps at 75C and 85C for shutdown.

Wow pretty cool the temp logger, while playing supreme commander

3399.62 53 47
3399.62 52 46
3399.62 52 46
3399.62 52 46
3399.62 52 46
3399.62 52 47
3399.62 53 46
3399.62 52 46
3399.62 52 46
3399.62 53 47
3399.62 53 47
3399.62 53 47

$n][pErMan
04-23-07, 08:13 PM
In Orthos my CPU at 1.425 Volts runs at 58C while CoreTemp reads it at 48C... I hope CoreTemp is the right reading so I can push my chip harder :p

Dazz
04-24-07, 01:50 PM
Orthos is quite old so go with Coretemp.

$n][pErMan
04-24-07, 06:54 PM
Orthos is quite old so go with Coretemp.
no no .. what I mean is my motherboard temp monitor reads the high amount while CoreTemp reads it as almost 10C lower. Id like to know which is right or which I should trust...

Dazz
04-25-07, 02:02 PM
Core temp i would say.