PDA

View Full Version : Vista 32 or 64bit ?


Pages : [1] 2

PaiN
04-25-07, 12:10 PM
I'm ready to move to Vista.... I'll use the system mostly for gaming(upcoming DX10 games)and some general computing stuff....I'm done with most of the games I play, the ones' I want to carry over are Ok with Vista.
I am having a tough time deciding which version to run and I'm getting conflicting opinions.
Obviously, I want the best performance and stability...So what's the better OS for a Vista gaming rig 32 or 64bit?(I plan on using running 2gb RAM, no increase for a long time) thanks

DRen72
04-25-07, 02:06 PM
For a gaming rig, I'd have to say 32-bit especially since you say you will run 2gb.

rev.
04-25-07, 02:40 PM
You know my opinion ;)

nekrosoft13
04-25-07, 02:46 PM
go with 64bit, i been running 64bit since mid january, and its rock stable, out of 50 + games i have installed only one doesn't work, and thats because of buggy code.

radekhulan
04-25-07, 05:00 PM
Defnitely 32bit, if you have less then 4GB of RAM. x64 takes much more resources, both x64 kernel and x86 (32bit) layer must be loaded, thus leaving less free RAM for user applications.

I use x64 myself, and love it, but have 4GB of RAM..

nekrosoft13
04-25-07, 05:14 PM
i have 2gb, and i have zero problems, vista uses 48% of ram on load, but if other applications require ram, it drops to about 26-28%

just like i said before, go with 64bit this round, no more need waste time in the past

PaiN
04-25-07, 05:20 PM
I grabbed 32bit Home Premium(its a good place to start).....I was totally expecting problems but the installation, driver and OS update all went flawlessly. Performance is great.....its damn slick :cool:

top3koms
04-25-07, 05:22 PM
I have to agree to the suggestion of going 64bit.I have been through installs of both x86 and x64 in the past few months and have found the 64 bit variety to be much more to my liking.I do have the 4Gb of ram and would suggest to you to go ahead and upgrade to 4gb as well ,if possible.

$n][pErMan
04-25-07, 05:34 PM
32-bit Business :)

Redeemed
04-25-07, 05:57 PM
I grabbed Vista Ultimate, and went with th 64-bit installation. I'm only running 2GB of ram (DDR500), an Opty185 (stock), and a single 8800GTS (640MB, my second GTS is in another rig atm). Runs beautifuly. :cool:

I highly suggest you go 64-bit. ;)

grey_1
04-25-07, 06:07 PM
I grabbed Vista Ultimate, and went with th 64-bit installation. I'm only running 2GB of ram (DDR500), an Opty185 (stock), and a single 8800GTS (640MB, my second GTS is in another rig atm). Runs beautifuly. :cool:

I highly suggest you go 64-bit. ;)
Agreed on the 64bit.

methimpikehoses
04-25-07, 07:00 PM
Agreed on the 64bit.

I agree with the conservatives. 64bit FTW.

Redeemed
04-25-07, 07:22 PM
I agree with the conservatives. 64bit FTW.

:lol:

grey_1
04-25-07, 07:56 PM
I agree with the conservatives. 64bit FTW.
http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/8531/nvnewstrollqr8hy6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)


Tag...Your it! :D

Redeemed
04-25-07, 08:02 PM
http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/8531/nvnewstrollqr8hy6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)


Tag...Your it! :D

:rofl

You caved in man! Just couldn't hold out any long could ya'? :lol:

grey_1
04-25-07, 08:17 PM
:rofl

You caved in man! Just couldn't hold out any long could ya'? :lol:
Guilty as charged. :o :p

j0j081
04-25-07, 08:40 PM
well I am running XP x64 edition with only 1.5 GB ram cause one of my 1 GB sticks went bad not long ago and it is fine. Do you think Vista 64 will be okay with 1.5 as well? I installed the 32 bit version on my parents new X2 pc and it sure runs nice but I feel kinda bad going from XP x64 which is awesome IMO to Vista 32.

grey_1
04-25-07, 09:14 PM
well I am running XP x64 edition with only 1.5 GB ram cause one of my 1 GB sticks went bad not long ago and it is fine. Do you think Vista 64 will be okay with 1.5 as well? I installed the 32 bit version on my parents new X2 pc and it sure runs nice but I feel kinda bad going from XP x64 which is awesome IMO to Vista 32.
I still haven't got a handle on exactly how vista manages memory. But with 2 gigs I seem to be doing just fine, very snappy.

The only issue I've had so far has been a FEARXP "out of memory" error. But my usage showed under a gig at the time and the suggested fix (vugame forums) was to increase the size of my pagefile, which I did. It seems to be fine now.

If you don't have a lot of progs and files to backup and you don't mind the whole install/ re-install XP_if_you_dont_like_vista route..you may be pleasantly suprised.

general consensus among the pros though says 'more is better' from what I've read.

Good luck either way.

mojoman0
04-25-07, 10:07 PM
so what are the current advantages of 64 bit?

methimpikehoses
04-25-07, 10:43 PM
http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/8531/nvnewstrollqr8hy6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)


Tag...Your it! :D

Typical childish behavior. :D

Seriously though, if you are going to put a rig together now, you gotta go Vista 64 and 4GB of RAM... RAM is dirt cheap right now!

Bowen
04-25-07, 10:53 PM
I just upgraded and my order is due tomorrow! I ordered Vista HP 64-bit with a Core 2 Quad, Asus P5B-E and 4GB of Corsair TwinX PC5400 RAM (DDR2 of course). A Corsair HX620 PSU and I'm waiting on ATi to release the Radeon HD 2900 XT or if I can get my hands on a 1024MB XTX, I'll get that instead!

Anyway I think you could get by with 2GB of RAM but 4GB is better. Especially with 64-bit versions, you can never have too much RAM!

methimpikehoses
04-25-07, 11:31 PM
I just upgraded and my order is due tomorrow! I ordered Vista HP 64-bit with a Core 2 Quad, Asus P5B-E and 4GB of Corsair TwinX PC5400 RAM (DDR2 of course). A Corsair HX620 PSU and I'm waiting on ATi to release the Radeon HD 2900 XT or if I can get my hands on a 1024MB XTX, I'll get that instead!

Anyway I think you could get by with 2GB of RAM but 4GB is better. Especially with 64-bit versions, you can never have too much RAM!

Nice, make sure you get a newer BIOS for the P5B-E-- v. 1002 or 1202.

Bowen
04-25-07, 11:44 PM
Nice, make sure you get a newer BIOS for the P5B-E-- v. 1002 or 1202.

Yeah, I wonder what version it will ship with? I've got the newest one on a CD right now, but I'll probably have to use the darn floppy disk because I don't have a USB thumbdrive yet and I don't have any money to buy one either.....that is until I get my video card.

I am glad though that the P5B-E has a built-in feature where you can run the flash utility by pressing Alt-F2 or something and then having a floppy or a USB thumbdrive.

Digital_Trans
04-26-07, 01:00 AM
Defnitely 32bit, if you have less then 4GB of RAM. x64 takes much more resources, both x64 kernel and x86 (32bit) layer must be loaded, thus leaving less free RAM for user applications.

I use x64 myself, and love it, but have 4GB of RAM..

Yes, It's a nice using Windows Vista x64 with 4GB of ram. I used the same amount of ram when I was using Windows XP x64 last year.

Wolfhound
04-26-07, 01:03 AM
Home premium 64 bits, with 2 gig of ram, hadnīt have any problem feels snappy an fast