PDA

View Full Version : S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Float Shader Mod


Pages : [1] 2 3

MaXThReAT
04-26-07, 02:06 PM
I'll be trying this out tonight fursure. I can't find any screenshots but I'll post some tonight round 7-8pm mst.

http://www.3dgamers.com/games/stalker/downloads/

"The Float32 modification for S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernoby has been released this morning, which beefs up the already impressive graphics in GSC Game World's first-person shooter. This mod adds full reflection vector calculations, better bump mapping, real specular effects! All this detail improvement costs nothing in framerate and you will get 20% better framerate than before if not more! Shadows are soft and no longer jagged and the overall graphical quality has been vastly improved."

MaXThReAT
04-26-07, 02:16 PM
it has no effect on g80 cards.
...check out the stalker feedback thread.

Well geez, that just sux. O well. Stalker already looks spectacular so no huge loss here. I guess this post will be just for the pre 8 series guys. If they don't see it in the Stalker freedback thread.

"As far as i understood it all it does is remove the pp_ (partial precision ie. fp16) hints from the shaders, which only matters for geforce cards before the 8 series and not at all for ati cards because those dont give a **** about pp_ hints since they do everything at fixed precision?"

CaptNKILL
04-26-07, 03:37 PM
it has no effect on g80 cards.

...check out the stalker feedback thread.
Well damn, I'm glad I didn't waste any time trying to use the mod then. I downloaded it yesterday.

Thanks for the heads up. :thumbsup:

AngelGraves13
04-26-07, 06:55 PM
So anyone else not running a 8000 series should get some kind of better looking visuals. I have yet to try it. Maybe when I get home.

WeReWoLf
04-26-07, 07:40 PM
This mod was designed for the Pre-8 series and ATi cards, because the ATi's can't run Dynamic Lighting properly.

kev13dd
04-26-07, 09:13 PM
I installed it but havn't played it yet. Midterms will prevent me from playing it on my 7800GTX until Saturday =(. But I'll post then!

K

jcrox
04-27-07, 02:12 PM
no effect on the G80's ??? :(

We are testing the game with this one on our testing hardware - single and dual eVGA GeForce 8800GTX ACS3 boards and the ATI Radeon HD2900XT's and so far, improvements are around 20-25 per cent for a far better product.

These guys are making stuff up again? bastages!!!

CaptNKILL
04-27-07, 02:14 PM
no effect on the G80's ??? :(

We are testing the game with this one on our testing hardware - single and dual eVGA GeForce 8800GTX ACS3 boards and the ATI Radeon HD2900XT's and so far, improvements are around 20-25 per cent for a far better product.

These guys are making stuff up again? bastages!!!
So you're saying it does improve things on an 8800GTX? :|

jcrox
04-27-07, 02:35 PM
So you're saying it does improve things on an 8800GTX? :|

No I haven't tried it yet...but I'm going to have to now with the conflicting reports.

kevJ420
04-27-07, 06:34 PM
w/ the 8800 gtx, you are getting af that doesn't shimmer at all.

Shocky
04-27-07, 06:56 PM
Patch/mod does nothing for my GTX, looks exactly the same and actually dropped performance slightly

w/ the 8800 gtx, you are getting af that doesn't shimmer at all.

Nope, no shimmering.

kev13dd
04-27-07, 07:00 PM
w/ the 8800 gtx, you are getting af that doesn't shimmer at all.
How the **** would you know? You don't even HAVE a 8800

Why the hell are you posting (and not just in this thread) about stuff you DON'T KNOW. You claim that you don't just read stuff on the internet and repost your interpretation of it, but this is the perfect example of you posting on something you DON'T FREAKING KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT

Leave

I'm ganna fire up Stalker right now (MIDTERMS DONE!) and find out how it runs on my 7800GTX, fingers crossed

K

JohnDio
04-27-07, 07:01 PM
The problem is that STALKER suffers from some lighting/shadows issues. Here is what i'm talking about:

1) http://img249.imageshack.us/img249/2019/stalker3av4.jpg

Pay attention to the circles. No lighting at all. Now i assume from the other shadows and their direction (notice the direction of the shadows at the stair for example) that there shouldn't be any light in that entrance and this picture is the correct one


2)http://img403.imageshack.us/img403/5876/stalker2sd7.jpg

As we getting away you can see the shadows of the stair in the right circle which are still fine. BUT you can see in the middle circle that there is some lighting in the entrance for no reason (i was not hidding the sunlight in the first picture,it wasn't the shadow of my character).

3)http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/1826/stalker1il6.jpg
As you can see when we move further,there seems to be some light in the whole entrance AND you can notice that the shadows of the stairs in the second circle aren't rendered correctly. So yeah,this game is corrupted as hell. It's easily reproducable and you can test it now that you know what to look for.


PS: This bug is present with all the Windows XP drivers,from 92.94 to 158.19 (which i'm using right now). If you remember i had made a topic for the Anisotropic Filtering,well it seems that it wasn't AF's fault and no,this is not due to the LOD of the game. Running the game at Maximum Settings with Full Dynamic Lighting

kevJ420
04-27-07, 07:45 PM
How the **** would you know? You don't even HAVE a 8800

Why the hell are you posting (and not just in this thread) about stuff you DON'T KNOW. You claim that you don't just read stuff on the internet and repost your interpretation of it, but this is the perfect example of you posting on something you DON'T FREAKING KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT

Leave

I'm ganna fire up Stalker right now (MIDTERMS DONE!) and find out how it runs on my 7800GTX, fingers crossed

K

OK, I have (2) 8800gtx. I used to have a 6800 gt, and even with all the optimisations turned off, and LOD bias clamped, its af does indeed shimmer. I'll grant you that I don't have a 7800 gtx, but there is no difference in graphics quality and no difference in graphics features between the 7 series and the 6 series.

The 8800gtx @ high quality uses trilinear, and the degree of af is angle invariant. The 6 and 7 series have major shimmering no matter the af settings.

Of course, there's some geometric aliasing and some shader map aliasing/shimmering, but not due to the 8 series af. The 7 and 6 series' af does shimmer.

kev13dd
04-27-07, 07:52 PM
I don't see any difference. It's unfortunate, but it's not too horrible looking in the first place, so I'll settle

K

kev13dd
04-27-07, 08:03 PM
OK, I have (2) 8800gtx. I used to have a 6800 gt, and even with all the optimisations turned off, and LOD bias clamped, its af does indeed shimmer. I'll grant you that I don't have a 7800 gtx, but there is no difference in graphics quality and no difference in graphics features between the 7 series and the 6 series.

The 8800gtx @ high quality uses trilinear, and the degree of af is angle invariant. The 6 and 7 series have major shimmering no matter the af settings.

Of course, there's some geometric aliasing and some shader map aliasing/shimmering, but not due to the 8 series af. The 7 and 6 series' af does shimmer.
I'm sure you do, I'm sure you have whatever hardware is required for you to spout your opinion

And I must have a broken 7800GTX, because I havn't seen any AF shimmering the entire 20 hours I've put into Stalker... maybe I just havn't got to the shimmering level?

K

Shocky
04-27-07, 09:04 PM
The 7 series' af does shimmer.

Not set to HQ it doesnt. ;)

jjwalker
04-27-07, 11:29 PM
there should be no reason why this doesn't work on a G80. It was not coded specifically for anything. If you see no difference there could be a few problems, and I'll go over them...

1) you installed the included user.ltx file into the root stalker directory. If you did do this, then delete it.

2)You did not keep the directory structure intact within the zip as stated in the readme.

3)You are not running full dynamic lighting. It will not work with object or DX8.


Nothing has been changed that would affect compatability with any card (except for the ati shadow bug which doesnt apply here). it was either installed wrong or the G80 driver is broken. I find the later unlikely as stalker seems to run fine otherwise.

Also note that this mod was not for people with budget cards or any of that rumor. It works with everything and scales accordingly. Quality was increase along with performance so you may not see such a performance improvement using your g80 due to the lack of bottlenecking apparent in the lesser cards, but there should be absolutely no reason why the mod doesnt do its job quality wise.

And before it is asked, this is nivenhbro from ars. read the readme and find out the appropriate ways to contact me if anybody has any questions. i can also go over a process with you that will definately tell you if the shaders are working or not, but it is last resort.

[edit]

Keep in mind this is NOT the original Float32 released a month ago and is completely different. It just retained the name.

pg_ice
04-28-07, 04:45 AM
there should be no reason why this doesn't work on a G80.

so prove it
if you are so damn sure post screenshots with comparsion Before and After so we can judge for our self what the hell you are talking about :)
and also iclude the FPS in the screens with the 20% or more FPS boost that the readme says.

all i can say is this it purley horse s.h.i.t.
but if you can prove it wrong then go ahead

nopp0x00
04-28-07, 05:21 AM
Not set to HQ it doesnt. ;)

The hell it doesn't. Try playing CounterStrike: Source in cs_militia, de_nuke. Also de_cbble (?) has some serious moire effect in the rooftops as a result of the ****ty texture filtering in the 7-series cards. The 8800 doesn't have those problems. The crates and ground shimmer heavily with the 7-series even under "HQ" mode, yet the 8800's don't have that problem.

The only people who think the 7-series doesn't have crap image quality are those people who have their monitors configured incorrectly. In fact, I used bad settings and a lot of those errors would get hidden. But once I calibrated my monitor correctly, it all revealed itself to me. Just days before the 8800 was to be released I was contemplating a move to ATI just because of the better image quality. I'm glad I didn't have to sacrifice performance (from GX2 TO X1950XTX) just to get better image quality.

jjwalker
04-28-07, 06:31 AM
so prove it
if you are so damn sure post screenshots with comparsion Before and After so we can judge for our self what the hell you are talking about :)
and also iclude the FPS in the screens with the 20% or more FPS boost that the readme says.

all i can say is this it purley horse s.h.i.t.
but if you can prove it wrong then go ahead

I am not going to repeat the same thing over and over and over again for folks who do not want to listen, so i direct you to where it has all been written and documented many times over already. All the screenshots you could ever need are here and doing a bit of a search on google should yield PLENTY of information.

http://episteme.arstechnica.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/39309975/m/860003693831/p/31

:argue:

pg_ice
04-28-07, 06:56 AM
All the screenshots you could ever need are here and doing a bit of a search on google should yield PLENTY of information.

http://episteme.arstechnica.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/39309975/m/860003693831/p/31

:argue:

sure
screenshots from the game
but no comparsion from the mod

http://episteme.arstechnica.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/39309975/m/860003693831/p/33
read the last post
"But apparently that is all a lie, the mod is BS and I need to prove it works Roll Eyes"

the mod doesnt do nothing as i said.

stop talking crap and put up some comparsions along with the FPS boost
then we can start to belive you.

comon what are you waiting for ! :)?

El_Sid
04-28-07, 07:17 AM
It increase performance only if you put the user.ltx in the Stalker-SHOC folder. The mod ltc has some quality options reduced or disabled to do that and shows a list of information on screen.
I'll delete it.

http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/5979/xr3da2007042815472218qy4.th.jpg (http://img99.imageshack.us/my.php?image=xr3da2007042815472218qy4.jpg)http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/3039/xr3da2007042819364626dm6.th.jpg (http://img99.imageshack.us/my.php?image=xr3da2007042819364626dm6.jpg)

Jonelo
04-28-07, 07:24 AM
But the quality of image is not superior, has less brightness of shaders. The Modder has deleted several comparative captures in this thread (http://board.oblivion-lost.de/showthread.php?t=9338) for the final version . Maybe because for many people not look better ?.

I probe the first version and in my opinion not look better - maybe the shadows yes, a little bit

http://board.oblivion-lost.de/showthread.php?t=9338&page=2

And Stalker oficial bench ;)

this bech - from the developers of game...

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=138452

File: http://obr.czweb.org/stalker_bench_new.zip

S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Retail Patche version 1.0001 Benchmarking - Time demo included

English :

1. Copy all files from this archive to :
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Documents\STALKER-SHOC\savedgames

2. Start the game like always

3. Load Game "short_timedemo", or "buildings_timedemo" wait for loading ...

4. Press button ~ for console

5. Type this : demo_play short_timedemo or demo_play buildings_timedemo and Enter

Shocky
04-28-07, 07:45 AM
The hell it doesn't. Try playing CounterStrike: Source in cs_militia, de_nuke. Also de_cbble (?) has some serious moire effect in the rooftops as a result of the ****ty texture filtering in the 7-series cards. The 8800 doesn't have those problems. The crates and ground shimmer heavily with the 7-series even under "HQ" mode, yet the 8800's don't have that problem.

The only people who think the 7-series doesn't have crap image quality are those people who have their monitors configured incorrectly. In fact, I used bad settings and a lot of those errors would get hidden. But once I calibrated my monitor correctly, it all revealed itself to me. Just days before the 8800 was to be released I was contemplating a move to ATI just because of the better image quality. I'm glad I didn't have to sacrifice performance (from GX2 TO X1950XTX) just to get better image quality.

You know sometimes, its the game not the card causing shimmering, 7 series set to HQ does NOT cause shimmering. I've used a 7950 GTX in the past and when set to HQ it was comparable to my old X1900XTX . I'm now using a 8800 GTX, so go spout your BS to somebody who doesnt have first hand experience with all the cards your talking about.