PDA

View Full Version : Coolit Freezone Mod


guido1205us
05-02-07, 12:54 AM
Got a Freezone thinking it would keep my QX6700 cool and was immediataly bummed because the fan burned out about a minute after install. The TCM was cranked up all the way. So, I RMA'd it and got a replacement two weeks later. Bummed again because the TCM would not adjust the fan speed!! Not wanting to RMA it again and thinking it might be the TCM I went to a local MicroCenter and bought another Freezone. It's TCM didn't adjust the fan either?! Drag. So I took the second one back and installed the RMA unit. Got pathetic temps on my QX6700, idle at 58C. Did some research with the great oracle Google and found that many people were having cooling issues with the Freezone and QX6700.

So, being the cheap ass and not wanting to waste my $299 investment, I wondered how could I mod this bad boy? I dumped my old computer trash bin that I have been meaning to throw out onto the floor and found these parts:

03

Hmm, can't seem to figure out how to post images within the body. Oh well, just follow the images on the bottom from left to right.

So, I grab the old heatsinks from the Pentium 2 slocket (remember those?) and fan thinking just maybe these will mount on the water blocks. Yes, it works!

Next I drilled out the 120mm fan casing on the back of the Thermaltake Armor and mounted another 120mm fan on the outside. Don't know of the additional fan will do anything but hey, I'll give it a shot.

Xion X2
05-02-07, 12:56 AM
Unbelievable. 2 more Freezones go down in flames.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hMenB9Ywh2Q

guido1205us
05-02-07, 01:20 AM
Got a Freezone thinking it would keep my QX6700 cool and was immediataly bummed because the fan burned out about a minute after install. The TCM was cranked up all the way. So, I RMA'd it and got a replacement two weeks later. Bummed again because the TCM would not adjust the fan speed!! Not wanting to RMA it again and thinking it might be the TCM I went to a local MicroCenter and bought another Freezone. It's TCM didn't adjust the fan either?! Drag. So I took the second one back and installed the RMA unit. Got pathetic temps on my QX6700, idle at 58C. Did some research with the great oracle Google and found that many people were having cooling issues with the Freezone and QX6700.

So, being the cheap ass and not wanting to waste my $299 investment, I wondered how could I mod this bad boy? I dumped my old computer trash bin that I have been meaning to throw out onto the floor and found these parts:

03

Hmm, can't seem to figure out how to post images within the body. Oh well, just follow the images on the bottom from left to right.

So, I grab the old heatsinks from the Pentium 2 slocket (remember those?) and fan thinking just maybe these will mount on the water blocks. Yes, it works!

Next I drilled out the 120mm fan casing on the back of the Thermaltake Armor and mounted another 120mm fan on the outside. Don't know of the additional fan will do anything but hey, I'll give it a shot.

Since the Freezone took too much space and I couldn't mount the ram cooler, I mounted it on the Freezone radiator instead. Put the whole unit back in and fired it up.

guido1205us
05-02-07, 01:25 AM
Since the Freezone took too much space and I couldn't mount the ram cooler, I mounted it on the Freezone radiator instead. Put the whole unit back in and fired it up.

Hmm, Not great temps @ 48C idle, but decent enough to try some over-clocking. Guess I'll have to pony up for water-cooling and get a bigger case. The Armour is not big enough for 10 drives, water, and two 8800gtx.

guido1205us
05-02-07, 08:26 AM
Imo the Freezone isn't up to the task for such a CPU. The Zalman 9700 performs better!

But nice mod guido1205us and that's a very impressive setup you got there!

Much thanks! BTW, what temps are you seeing @ 3.33 with the 9700?

TiKiMaN1
05-02-07, 11:12 AM
My Revision 4 Freezone has been working flawless since I got the RMA.:D

guido1205us
05-02-07, 11:33 AM
My Revision 4 Freezone has been working flawless since I got the RMA.:D

Really? Is your fan adjustable? Is revision 4 just with a thicker 92mm fan? I might have that then. Also, what are your temps at 3.05? Thanks.

nekrosoft13
05-02-07, 02:29 PM
I have to update my sig sorry. The 3.33GHz was a test run with my old watercooling setup (120mm single rad). Temps were about the same as with 3.0GHz because both clocks need 1.30V stayed under 65C during gaming. Around 5C higher with the 9700.

I've ordered a Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme to replace the Zalman...

120 extreme is nice

i still don't understant why you replaced si-120 with that zalman. si-120 paired with a good fan, cools much better then zalman.

i want to get 120 extreme too, but when i looked yesterday not a single store in USA has them in stock.

nekrosoft13
05-02-07, 02:48 PM
damn why is everyone RMA'ing 680i :|

i bought one few days ago.

guido1205us
05-02-07, 03:07 PM
The board wasn't defective.
I got that board from the Quad Core replacement program and it produced very strange sounds. No other problems. My first 680i was great imo, this one also expect the strange noise that came from the vreg.

I was going to RMA my board too but I can't get a hold of the sales slip. Beside the fact that I cannot run three video cards (2 x 8800GTX in SLI, 1 x 7800GT, instant BSOD with the third 7800GT) the system is pretty stable. I hope I don't run into too many issues with overclocking.

J-Mag
05-02-07, 04:09 PM
reference pic

Getting good use out of your psych book, eh? :thumbsup:

guido1205us
05-02-07, 09:35 PM
Getting good use out of your psych book, eh? :thumbsup:

Heh:D Apart from providing knowledge back in the college days, these old books work pretty well propping a up Dell 24" monitor (nutrition book under the psych). Interesting that the newer model Dell 24" LCD didn't have the height range like the older models.

Vigi
05-06-07, 10:03 AM
My Revision 4 Freezone has been working flawless since I got the RMA.:D


TiKiMaN1,

What was wrong with your earlier Freezone? I have already had my mounting screws break when trying to remount it because I thought my temps were getting high. But I also noticed that I do not really hear a difference between the fan sound when adjusting the potentiometer either to the far left or far right? Should the fan get pretty loud if it was on it's highest setting? Just wondering if I should be RMAing mine as well...


I had mine e6600 Oc'd to 3.4 at 1.36250 volts and after doing Orthos for 10 hours my temps were hitting up in the 55-56 celcius range and what is odd is that at idle they would be anywhere from 25c- 30c wouldn't think there should be a 25-30 degree difference from idle to load, but who knows... That is what makes me wonder if my fan control is jacked up. I have a version 3 from what it looks like on the stick on the cables: says Rev.3.

What was your previous version and what problems did you notice.


Thanks,