PDA

View Full Version : NTUNE not holding overclock in Vista?


tomb18
05-04-07, 08:26 AM
Has anyone seen this? If you run a utility such as everest that shows the GPU clock speed and go into ntune and overclock your card, the speed increases but after about 30-45 seconds it goes back down to default.
This is the case on Vista 64 with a 8800gtx and the latest 158.22 and 5.038 ntune. For example, I open the control panel to the gpu overclocking and it is set at default 575MHz as reported in both ntune and everest. I increase the clock to 620, click apply and watch the everest GPU speed. After a second or so, Everest reports the new speed as 620 Mhz. If you then wait about 30 second all of a sudden it goes down to 575 again. This is fully reproducable.

Can anyone else confirm?

Thanks

j0j081
05-04-07, 07:32 PM
I was hoping the new version corrected some of the problems but haven't had a chance to try it yet. I think experttool works for overclocking purposes.

SLippe
05-04-07, 07:44 PM
Use the new Rivatuner 2.01.

tomb18
05-04-07, 09:22 PM
Use the new Rivatuner 2.01.

Yea, the only problem is that it needs signed drivers for vista64.
We should all chip in the $400 bucks they need to get them.

madok
05-05-07, 05:40 PM
I have a problem with nTune in Windows Vista. If I set any (memory or core) frequency higher than default, application always fails in "testing GPU clock",. I have no idea how to byppas that. I also tried expert tools from Gainward but I was only a half-success. GPU clock setting is there without problems, but when I try to increase memory, nothing will hapen. After reopening expert tools window memory's still on default:( .

Windows Vista Ultimate build 6000
ASUS GeForce 7900GS
ASUS P5B - Deluxe
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 1,86GHz @ 2,8GHz
nTune 5.05.25.00

Slammin
05-05-07, 06:15 PM
Has anyone seen this? If you run a utility such as everest that shows the GPU clock speed and go into ntune and overclock your card, the speed increases but after about 30-45 seconds it goes back down to default.
This is the case on Vista 64 with a 8800gtx and the latest 158.22 and 5.038 ntune. For example, I open the control panel to the gpu overclocking and it is set at default 575MHz as reported in both ntune and everest. I increase the clock to 620, click apply and watch the everest GPU speed. After a second or so, Everest reports the new speed as 620 Mhz. If you then wait about 30 second all of a sudden it goes down to 575 again. This is fully reproducable.

Can anyone else confirm?

Thanks


It is working though. ntune is setting your 3D clocks, not your 2D clocks. If you need to see the 3D speed kick in, just run AtiTool and run the 'scan for artifacts' tool and you'll see the vid card kick into 3D mode speeds according to everest.

j0j081
05-06-07, 11:13 PM
I am using the new RivaTuner to oc my gpu in Vista 64 but decided to install Ntune anyway to see if it worked at all for mobo overclocking purposes. I can change my memory speed and stuff with it but the profiles I create don't load manually or automatically at windows startup.

ViN86
05-06-07, 11:14 PM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=80312&page=3

found this on google. maybe it helps.

j0j081
05-06-07, 11:18 PM
I don't think that thread was talking about Vista though if I remember correctly.

jabloomf1230
05-07-07, 10:00 AM
It is working though. ntune is setting your 3D clocks, not your 2D clocks. If you need to see the 3D speed kick in, just run AtiTool and run the 'scan for artifacts' tool and you'll see the vid card kick into 3D mode speeds according to everest.


Correct. The best way to test is to run rthdribl in a window and Everest in the Sidebar. nTune definitely works under Vista x64, at least for GPU OCing.