PDA

View Full Version : American McGee's Alice urgent question


kevJ420
05-05-07, 06:19 PM
Has anyone played it on the 8800 gtx and does it have distance fog on the 8800 GTX?

I was thinking about buying American mcgee's alice, but I'm afraid it won't be enjoyable b/c all of the huge draw distances would be reduced to n64-style fog on the 8800 gtx.

|MaguS|
05-05-07, 06:34 PM
If the game had a good distance fog when originally released then it will continue to have it now. I don't see how a 8800GTX would affect how the games graphics engine was programmed...

kev13dd
05-05-07, 06:43 PM
I don't see how a 8800GTX would affect how the games graphics engine was programmed...
See, that's the problem. You're thinking LOGICALLY

This is a kevJ420 thread. You have to make stuff up for it to make sense

The draw distances are actually non existent on the 8800GTX. It seriously feels like you're playing with the most nearsighted character in the world

K

Subtestube
05-05-07, 06:48 PM
Has anyone played it on the 8800 gtx and does it have distance fog on the 8800 GTX?

I was thinking about buying American mcgee's alice, but I'm afraid it won't be enjoyable b/c all of the huge draw distances would be reduced to n64-style fog on the 8800 gtx.

As the others have said - if it had fogging then, it will still have fogging now. By way of explanation - fogging is a design choice used to hide technical limitations, not a technical limitation in and of itself. Moreover, I strongly suspect (though obviously driver issues could interfere), that the game will look exactly the same on current gen hardware as it did on older hardware.

El_Sid
05-05-07, 06:52 PM
Works fine with 8800GTX, SLI and widescreen.

kevJ420
05-05-07, 07:22 PM
Thanks to everyone who replied.

But I knew that it didn't have fog on older hardware, I was just wondering if it would have fog on the 8800 gtx.

The 8800 gtx is a whole new architecture.

|MaguS|
05-05-07, 07:29 PM
But so was Geforce 4/5/6/7 with the game... what makes you think the 8 Series would magically reprogram the game and add fog?

kevJ420
05-05-07, 07:32 PM
But so was Geforce 4/5/6/7 with the game... what makes you think the 8 Series would magically reprogram the game and add fog?
Good question. I'm a major dumbass.

I hope you enjoy your new ps2 games.

MustangSVT
05-05-07, 08:02 PM
Good question. I'm a major dumbass.

QFT

methimpikehoses
05-05-07, 08:51 PM
kevpla, I can't belive it but I'm glad I saw your thread. I forgot all about that game, I only ever played it on my crappy laptop years ago. I think I'll dig it out and install it again.

I'll report back on any z-buffer issues that I come across.

kevJ420
05-05-07, 08:58 PM
kevpla, I can't belive it but I'm glad I saw your thread. I forgot all about that game, I only ever played it on my crappy laptop years ago. I think I'll dig it out and install it again.

I'll report back on any z-buffer issues that I come across.

Thanks=)

I was wondering if there are any games so far that you've seen have z-buffer errors on the 8800gtx?

nekrosoft13
05-05-07, 11:49 PM
kevJ420 = kevla cox person?

methimpikehoses
05-06-07, 12:08 AM
kevJ420 = kevla cox person?

How did you guess?

nekrosoft13
05-06-07, 12:44 AM
i didn't know he got his sig changed

methimpikehoses
05-06-07, 12:51 AM
i didn't know he got his sig changed

His z-buffer gives him away. =)

JohnDio
05-06-07, 12:54 AM
But so was Geforce 4/5/6/7 with the game... what makes you think the 8 Series would magically reprogram the game and add fog?

I think the well known Source fog bug (which was present only on the 8 series) confused him and so he started wondering if some other old games had this issue unsolved too ;)