PDA

View Full Version : extreme low performance in FEAR


Pages : [1] 2

nekrosoft13
05-06-07, 02:26 AM
ok, i just build a new system, so lets start with current specs.

E6600 currently at 3.04ghz (will OC further later)
EVGA 680i board
2ghz Crucial PC8500 at 1015mhz
EVGA 8800gtx
creative x-fi
Vista 64bit

rest doesn't matter....

ok, trying to play at 1680x1050 with everything maxed in game (soft shadows off)

also 8xcsaa and 16xaf in control panel

currently i'm getting about 5-20fps, sometimes it jumps to 30fps when i get lucky.

with my older system, i had the same problem, but one day it just got fixed, i'm not even 100% how.

grey_1
05-06-07, 05:34 AM
I'm curious..what fps do you get with the nvcp profile and in game settings (except rez) set to defaults?

One of the reasons I'm asking is I seem to take much bigger hits from volumetric lights and shadows in vista than I did in XP.

nekrosoft13
05-06-07, 11:33 AM
i will try that, but i didn't turn off volumetric lights and shadows before.

nekrosoft13
05-06-07, 11:27 PM
ok, tried it, it went up slightly but still no where near what it supposed to be

any other ideas?

lumpyhed
05-07-07, 04:37 AM
Vista just plain sucks for FEAR. It makes my G80 run like my 7600GT under XP for this title.

nekrosoft13
05-07-07, 06:47 AM
i got it working fine before, with my old system, just don't remember what i did.

Badboy_12345
05-07-07, 07:04 AM
hmm I am playing fear with the same hardware and everything on high 1920x1280 and it runs good... never checked the fps but I dont have any hitches or slowdowns so I dont care about the fps :p

Running vista 32bit with the latest nvidia drivers

grey_1
05-07-07, 07:14 AM
Vista just plain sucks for FEAR. It makes my G80 run like my 7600GT under XP for this title.
http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/1518/untitleduk6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

1600x1200 (because I screw with gamma alot and can't be bothered to re=edit cfg everytime)

8XAA nvcp
8XAF
vol. lights and shadows on
All else maxed
cpu @250x10
gfx@600/1600 via RT
V-sync - on

Edit - @Nekrosoft13, the only thing I can think of is set profile and game settings to default and only change and test one item at a time.

Also, if your using RT set everything to defaults.

Dragunov
05-07-07, 07:24 AM
Installed it yesterday on my system and everything is maxed out, also soft shadows ON, 4x FSAA, 16x AF

My minimum FPS is 47, average: 1xx (I work on the laptop now, so don't know exactly the FPS), max: 2xx

No problems at all

nekrosoft13
05-07-07, 07:29 AM
grey_1

what is RT?

grey_1
05-07-07, 07:42 AM
grey_1

what is RT?
Riva Tuner, I didn't know if you might be using it.

nekrosoft13
05-07-07, 07:50 AM
yeah, i got rivatuner just to adjust fan speed, didn't touch any directx/opengl settings

Absolution
05-07-07, 09:18 AM
turn off AA

Even if i have 2x AA, I get half the normal fps.

you could try to force 4xAA/whatever setting you like via the cpanel and see if it improves

grey_1
05-07-07, 09:30 AM
turn off AA

Even if i have 2x AA, I get half the normal fps.

you could try to force 4xAA/whatever setting you like via the cpanel and see if it improves
I wonder if this is why I never experienced the low fps he's getting..I always use the nvcp for AA.

EDIT: I disabled AA in the nvcp and went to 4XAA in FEARXP, my fps were 46/48/60..so I don't know, I'm at a loss here.

EDIT AGAIN! Nekro..do you have supersampling enabled? That murdered mine earlier...forgot all about it.

nekrosoft13
05-07-07, 09:45 AM
wait Absolution

you mean turn off AA in game? and force thru control panel?

grey_1, yes in global profile i have supersampling transparency AA enabled.

grey_1
05-07-07, 09:57 AM
wait Absolution

you mean turn off AA in game? and force thru control panel?

grey_1, yes in global profile i have supersampling transparency AA enabled.
Maybe try without supersampling? That killed mine.

nekrosoft13
05-08-07, 02:38 PM
i will try today

ikjadoon
05-12-07, 04:23 PM
I had the exact same problem. I'm getting all in-game settings maxed at 1280x1024 at:

Min: 40
Avg: 58
Max: 60

Very similar to Grey's there, but he is running 16x12. I have a smaller OC on my 8800GTS, though.

Triple-check the profile settings for FEAR itself in the panel. Mine was stuck at like 16XQ Supersampling or something else huge like that and that gave me like 25FPS.

I concur that FEAR is not a good game under Vista. I've seen people with slower rigs (i.e. 7900GTX or X1950XTX) get higher FPS (i.e. 70+) on XP with similar or identical settings.

~Ibrahim~

ikjadoon
05-12-07, 04:25 PM
Check out this link! (http://forums.vugames.com/thread.jspa?threadID=43967&tstart=0)

Was looking more in-depth to this issue and it is NOT some weird isolated incidences.

Look at this benchmark, from THG (http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/03/21/matchless_muscle_overclocked_8800/page6.html):

http://images.tomshardware.com/2007/03/21/matchless_muscle_overclocked_8800/image007.png

For reference, my clocks are identical to the Foxconn, 575/1800 and the CPU in that test is a X6800 @ stock. I know soft shadows is off in those tests, but can it make up 30FPS?

~Ibrahim~

nekrosoft13
05-12-07, 09:20 PM
Check out this link! (http://forums.vugames.com/thread.jspa?threadID=43967&tstart=0)

Was looking more in-depth to this issue and it is NOT some weird isolated incidences.

Look at this benchmark, from THG (http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/03/21/matchless_muscle_overclocked_8800/page6.html):

http://images.tomshardware.com/2007/03/21/matchless_muscle_overclocked_8800/image007.png

For reference, my clocks are identical to the Foxconn, 575/1800 and the CPU in that test is a X6800 @ stock. I know soft shadows is off in those tests, but can it make up 30FPS?

~Ibrahim~

thank you for the link

reading some of the post by moderator, they are blaming nvidia, creative, vista and logitech for the problem, nice very nice

nekrosoft13
05-12-07, 09:22 PM
Maybe try without supersampling? That killed mine.

grey didn't help

its weird, game runs in 70-180fps, and then next minutes it drops to 10-15fps, and just stays there.

d0t
05-28-07, 10:22 PM
grey didn't help

its weird, game runs in 70-180fps, and then next minutes it drops to 10-15fps, and just stays there.

This was happening to me on XP too - one thing I've found that seems to fix it is to take FEAR.exe and rename it to something else like FEARSP.exe, and the slowdowns seem to stop.

seastar
05-29-07, 01:23 AM
turning off all the optimizations from nvidia's control panel made my fps in fear jump from 30s to 100+, maybe this might help you guys

ikjadoon
05-29-07, 07:40 AM
This was happening to me on XP too - one thing I've found that seems to fix it is to take FEAR.exe and rename it to something else like FEARSP.exe, and the slowdowns seem to stop.

Hey, not a bad idea, mate! I will try ASAP.

~Ibrahim~

Hapatingjaky
05-29-07, 08:14 AM
The Fear Engine was designed by monkies. This issue has been going on since the game was released. The only fix that Monolith/Sierra/Vivendi have is the following and it is well documented on the Sierra forums.

Right click my computer and go to properties, from there if you are using Vista click device manager. Open human interface device and disable the following items:

HID Compliant Device

Disable all of these, now this will cause issues if you use the Logitech Setpoint software as the sofware will no longer work.

This is the only fix for this issue that we know about and it occurs on Logitech USB peripherals such as Mice and Keboards and it also occurs on ZBOARDS... Basically from what we have gathered from the Sierra forums is that FEAR uses so much bandwidth that when having Logitech USB devices or the ZBOARD attached kills performance. We've tested this using PS2 keyboards and mice and the issue does not work. As soon as you plug the USB mice and keyboards in the performance drops to 100% below 25FPS.

It took me nearly 7 months to figure this one out. Its also recommended to disable soft shadows as they actually no longer work and haven't worked since the 1.04 patch....

FEAR is a very atmospheric game, its just the engine sucks something aweful.