PDA

View Full Version : 8800GTS - Call of Duty - FPS rate of 5 or under!


TC666
05-07-07, 02:19 AM
Guys,

It's been discussed in a few places but no-one seems to have a definitive idea of what is causing the problem, or more importantly, what the solution is!

I have just bought a PC, very good spec including P5B+ mobo, 2gb Corsair RAM, dual core Intel CPU and an 8800GTS 320mb graphics card.

On my old PC with an nvidia 6600GT I had no problems getting an FPS of 60 and this made the game really enjoyable. Now, with my new PC, I get an FPS of 4 or 5 and it's totally unplayable and I am gutted after spending so much money.
I've read suggestions of ensuring up to date drivers, only use single core processing, ensure mobo drivers loaded etc etc.
Did anyone ever find out EXACTLY what the issue was/is and was there a way around it? I have a horrible feeling I'm going to have to buy another graphics card that's not as 'good' as the 8800gts!?

Cheers,

TC

XxDeadlyxX
05-07-07, 02:25 AM
Call of Duty just runs bad on 8800, especially with Dynamic Lights enabled, driver problem I presume. Might be better on Vista.

jAkUp
05-07-07, 02:35 AM
What driver version?

Tranceaddict
05-07-07, 03:35 AM
What driver version?

I tried all the drivers, turning "dynamic lights" OFF helps but the problem is still there on certain stages. No fix as of yet, which really sucks cause I love COD:UO. BTW, I only have a single core CPU so that is not the problem.

Burnt_Ram
05-07-07, 06:32 PM
i have no problems with my 8800 and CODUO. i play @ 1600x1200 16xTAA 16AF max everything, except i have Punkbuster, and dynamic lighting off and it run's fine. this is on XP Pro with 158.16 ...

edit: this is Multiplayer i'm talking about. i have'nt played the SP part in years ;)

TC666
05-07-07, 10:18 PM
Interesting.......my clan runs PB on all our servers so I need to be running it!

[EOCF] Tim
05-08-07, 05:41 AM
Uninstall your drivers in safemode, then run Drivercleaner. Install the very latest drivers. See if that helps. :)

Tranceaddict
05-08-07, 04:02 PM
It won't, the problem is deeper than that.

Burnt_Ram
05-08-07, 06:35 PM
Interesting.......my clan runs PB on all our servers so I need to be running it!tell your clan to drop PB. it's a *joke* i see just as many cheaters on PB servers as non PB one's :(

TC666
05-11-07, 12:04 PM
Sorted!!

Re-loaded latest drivers from nvidia - 158.22
Then.....and this was what sorted it, I'm sure - I reloaded my monitor drivers. I thought it strange that the max res. I was getting on my 19" Sharp LCD was 1284 by whatever it is! When I went onto the system and checked the montior it had it as a 'plug and play' monitor so probably had a bog standard driver for it. Once I reloaded my Sharp drivers I could raise the res. to 1600 and my frame refresh rate went from 4 to 92 (minimum). This is with everything on max settings in COD UO multiplayer except for dynamic lighting which I have left off. NOW it's performing like I expected it too :captnkill:

Burnt_Ram
05-11-07, 12:56 PM
Sorted!!

Re-loaded latest drivers from nvidia - 158.22
Then.....and this was what sorted it, I'm sure - I reloaded my monitor drivers. I thought it strange that the max res. I was getting on my 19" Sharp LCD was 1284 by whatever it is! When I went onto the system and checked the montior it had it as a 'plug and play' monitor so probably had a bog standard driver for it. Once I reloaded my Sharp drivers I could raise the res. to 1600 and my frame refresh rate went from 4 to 92 (minimum). This is with everything on max settings in COD UO multiplayer except for dynamic lighting which I have left off. NOW it's performing like I expected it too :captnkill:glad u got it sorted! still a fun game for an oldie ...

IndianScout
05-11-07, 05:49 PM
http://www.native-nations.com/CoD.PNG

I still love to play COD

Tranceaddict
05-12-07, 02:02 AM
For some reason when I play MP with my 8800GTS and "Dynamic Lights" OFF, it plays perfect on every level except (P.O.W., and Ponyri). Any idea why that is? Its not like they are two of the biggest levels or the most detailed,I am completely stumpted. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
BTW, this is definitively a driver problem, as this was not an issue with my system when I had a 7900GT.

TC666
05-12-07, 05:06 AM
Trance - not sure if you play on Punkbuster servers, but I found it did make a difference to put in this console command when you log in

PB_Sleep 500


Cheers,

TC

ASUSEN7900GTX
05-12-07, 06:28 AM
are these problems in CAll Of Duty only MP related or also in single player mode?

i get around 2-300fps in some places and 50-90 other places

disrael62
05-16-07, 07:18 PM
Thanks to all for their excellent suggestions on this post, however, my son and I are also still having atrocious frame rates in Call of Duty, in spite of turning off Dynamic Lighting and downloading and installing the latest drivers for our monitors. These are our respective systems:

Mine: Asus P5L-VM mATX MB
E6600 C2D CPU, Zalman CPU cooler with Artic Silver 5
eVGA 8800GTS w/640MB's, NVidia FW 158.22
4GB's PC6400 Low Latency RAM (G. SKILL)
WD 150GB Raptor 10,000RPM HD
680Watt modular PS
Samsung 226BW 22" 2ms LCD Monitor @ 1680x1050 60Hz
XP64 Pro

My Sons: Gigabyte GA-965P
PentiumD 925, Zalman CPU cooler with Artic Silver 5
Pony 8800GTS w/320MB's, NVidia FW 158.19
2 GB's PC6400 Low Latency RAM (Corsair XMS)
Samsung 500GB 7200RPM HD
680Watt modular PS
Westinghouse 32" LCD 8ms TV running at 1360 x 768 @ 60Hz
XP Pro 32bit edition

More recent FPS games play smooth as silk, but COD drops so many frames that it is unplayable. My son also informs me that his older Prince of Persia game plays in "fast forward" and he can't slow it down.

Obviously, 64bit XP vs. 32bit XP is not the problem, as he and I experience the same ultra low frame rates in COD. Also, turning off dynamic lighting and having the latest monitor drivers has not helped either of us. And I have the latest Forceware drivers.

We love this old game and really miss playing it. If there is ANYTHING that anyone else can think of that could possibly fix this "game-ruining" problem, I would greatly appreciate the help. Please note that the game drops frames regardless of multiplayer (internet), multiplayer LAN or single player.

Thanks, in advance, for all tips and advice.

disrael62

Tranceaddict
05-17-07, 06:00 AM
I have been searching for a fix ever since early December, and I have yet to find it. If someone out there has an answer for this, I would be ecstatic. Good luck.

TC666
05-27-07, 09:29 AM
It's strange because mine now plays perfectly with frame rates around 92 and it never drops below 90. It's strange how it affects some and not others. The only other thing I did was reinstall drivers for my monitor.