PDA

View Full Version : 8800 huge fps improvement after alt-tab. Did you notice this?


Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

HiCZoK4
05-08-07, 03:28 PM
As in title . I have 320 gts Asus C2De6300 2.45 and 2gb ram geil.

So as for now I noticed this in games (every game on maximum settings and 1280x960)

1.Dark Messiah. First scene 44fps and after alt-tab 160 fps !!!!!!!! lol but after quick load again 44 and have to alt-tab again.
2.Company of Heroes .Fraps does not work well (shows 999fps) but I notice hitching and about 30fps. After alt-tab .LOL huge improvement and smooth game. Also then fraps work and shows 100-90- fps ,but again only for few minutes.
3.Fear .first its very ok. but after entering some (only some) rooms 20fps hit. offcoure alt tab make it 70fps+

This happens on xp and vista , 9X and 158 drivers. Only things that help is lowering texture resolutions. But this helps only 30/40 %.
ps. my 3dmark 2005 score is very good=14000 points and every other game works very fast. also I got good temps not higher than 45 on cpu and 67 on gpu.

Ps2.recently I got also random freezes in Infernal And Rogue trooper every 10-15 min..If this helps anyone i fixed it installing old gpu and nforce drivers.

Is this (slower alt+tab)a common problem for g80 or only I expecting this.

Banko
05-08-07, 03:41 PM
This is interesting cause this isn't the first time I heard this.

HiCZoK4
05-08-07, 03:44 PM
You do not hear this for first time becouse there is fear slowdowns thread and there is much talking about it but no anserws.

OrangeBlast
05-08-07, 03:46 PM
This is interesting cause this isn't the first time I heard this.

I 2nd that. I have heard of this weirdness before too. Perhaps it has somethign to do with a buffer or perhaps memory...something with unloading andl reloading textures...?? guess is as good as mine.

Banko
05-08-07, 03:47 PM
I have an idea since I don't have an 8800 yet to test, how high do you temperatures on your card reach?

Maybe, while gaming your cards reach high temps, and when you go back to desktop, temperature drops and de-throttles your card?

Tr1cK
05-08-07, 03:50 PM
I'm guessing this is why they added Turbocache for 8800s with the 158.22 drivers. I have yet to see any other info on it or that it's a working solution.

Banko
05-08-07, 04:00 PM
I'm guessing this is why they added Turbocache for 8800s with the 158.22 drivers. I have yet to see any other info on it or that it's a working solution.
Turbocache has nothing to do with it.

TurboCache is just a fancy term for stand-alone graphics cards to let them use your system ram.

Tr1cK
05-08-07, 04:09 PM
Turbocache has nothing to do with it.

TurboCache is just a fancy term for stand-alone graphics cards to let them use your system ram.

Well I was hoping that it may be enabled to possibly help with this issue. It seems to be memory related. I just figured they would use it as a secondary buffer if anything.

backfiggen
05-08-07, 04:20 PM
I at first noticed that at STALKER. But I thought it has something to do with the game.

zoomy942
05-08-07, 05:50 PM
i have guild wars on my work PC with Vista (good times) and it does the same thing.

Q
05-08-07, 06:11 PM
I've experienced this behavior as well.

Tr1cK
05-08-07, 07:05 PM
i have guild wars on my work PC with Vista (good times) and it does the same thing.

I've got it on my main. It has a moment occasionally where it does slow down, but its not that bad. Like its loading or somehting.

Amuro
05-08-07, 08:13 PM
Never noticed this, and also alt-tab does not always work for many games in a SLI.

Cyant
05-09-07, 12:57 AM
Set your fan speed to 100% manually and see if it still happen.

HiCZoK4
05-09-07, 08:23 AM
My temps are ok read the first post

Is this slowdowns are happening to 640gts users too ??? if it only 320mb problem then i hope for drivers or so.....

probably it occurs in g80 becouse there is new unifited shader and maybe games can't use it properly ???!!!
btw. i played stalker at static lighting and had no problems 100+ fps all the time. Static lighting do not use as much shaders so maybe this is why i do not get slowdowns !


AGAIN DO IT HAPPENS TO 640MB USERS ?

Joe Public
05-09-07, 10:44 AM
I have the 640MB version, and I notice I have low framerates in FEAR sometimes. Seems to be a common issue with that game. It's not as slow as being unplayable, but with my former X1950 Pro things ran somewhat smoother.

I play other games with everything set to max and they run fine. STALKER also runs fine, no need to set static lighting.

Digital_Trans
05-09-07, 09:08 PM
I at first noticed that at STALKER. But I thought it has something to do with the game.


That's a cool cat picture! LMAO! (nana2)

Xav
05-09-07, 11:50 PM
Been using that trick for a while with Vanguard too...framerate doubles.

XxDeadlyxX
05-10-07, 12:00 AM
Alt-tabbing works when STALKER decides to randomly take a massive nose-dive into single digit fps in single player, from which it does not break from until you either quit the game and restart or alt-tab. Haven't noticed this with any other game though, in fact I deliberately tend not to alt-tab since it makes games stutter slightly more.

DarkOneX
05-10-07, 12:13 AM
I had this same issue with my 8800GTS 320MB in Vista until the release of the 15X.XX series, then it went away and has stayed away with every new driver I've tried...up to 160.03 now.

Sephic
05-10-07, 05:27 AM
Well i'm having same problem with my Sparkle 8800GTS 320MB on WinXP with 158.19, 158.22 and 160.03 drivers. It seems to be somekind of memory buffer problem. I have noticed slowdowns in Oblivion and Test Drive Unlimited.

I made a screen (http://www.zone.ee/orbiklaps/pildid/memusage.jpg) of Riva Tuner video memory graph after Alt+tabing while playing Olbivion. At the time when slowdown begins, non-local video memory usage starts growing. But weird is that local video memory is not fully used up. Sudden downwalls at graph are spots while i alt+tabed out of the game and back to it. It seems flushing video memory buffer or smth.

This thing should be solved soon, it's getting annoying.

LB11
05-11-07, 01:02 AM
I have the same problem, But a quicker easier fix for me is just take a fraps screen shot and the frames will jump back up. Less problems then alt - tab.

HiCZoK4
05-11-07, 10:19 AM
I have the same problem, But a quicker easier fix for me is just take a fraps screen shot and the frames will jump back up. Less problems then alt - tab.
that is interesting. going to try this out

Goran
05-11-07, 12:53 PM
Please report your findings :)


Report a bug with the NVIDIA graphics driver. (https://surveys.nvidia.com/index.jsp?pi=7498eac864dc1950c8f09e040b4a437a)



.

LB11
05-11-07, 03:15 PM
Please report your findings :)


Report a bug with the NVIDIA graphics driver. (https://surveys.nvidia.com/index.jsp?pi=7498eac864dc1950c8f09e040b4a437a)



.
Unfortunately that is only for vista. They dont have such a form for XP. At least that I have found.