PDA

View Full Version : Another New System


CHEVYMAN_02
05-09-07, 11:18 AM
Well I just built a new system and I don't like how it performs so i going to build another one. Here it is.

ECS GeForce6100SM-M Socket AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100S MicroATX

EVGA 256-P2-N445-LX GeForce 7300GT 256MB GDDR2 PCI Express

WINTEC AMPO 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300)

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Windsor 2.0GHz Socket AM2 Processor

what do you guys think?

darkrider01
05-09-07, 01:06 PM
Well brother, it would be better than your current rig.

Why not go for one of those spankin new Intel E4300 or E4400?

Newegg prices:

build cost of your proposal = $234 (shipped to my area code in NC)


Intel Core 2 Duo E4300 = 114.50
ASRock 775i65G mobo = 44.99
EVGA 256-P2-N445-LX GeForce 7300GT = 65.99
Kingston 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 = 39.99
Total = 273.18 (shipped to my area code in NC)

I think saving up an additional $40 would make you a lot happier in the long run. The E4300 should be a lot fatser than the 3600+. Also, if you like overclocking, the E4300 can give you performance outclassing almost (if not all) of AMD's offerings.

Tr1cK
05-09-07, 01:08 PM
What he said.^

Camp0rz
05-09-07, 02:04 PM
I say keep the AMD chip, but get the 1.9ghz brisbane core.

Pick up the $60 oem and a decent $10 cooler and you can over clock that chip like crazy. It'll be on par with a e6300.

darkrider01
05-09-07, 02:49 PM
I say keep the AMD chip, but get the 1.9ghz brisbane core.

Pick up the $60 oem and a decent $10 cooler and you can over clock that chip like crazy. It'll be on par with a e6300.

:wtf: The E6300 runs a scalding 60Mhz faster than an E4300. The E4300 has an 800MHz bus instead of the 1066 FSB of the E6300. The E4300 has a lot of overclocking headroom (well documented pretty much everywhere). If CHEVY_MAN_02 only has $250 and has to buy a PC today, then I understand. But it would be fanboyish to buy the AMD over a C2D right now.

Tr1cK
05-09-07, 02:56 PM
I just flat out wouldn't recommend building into any AMD setup right now. Upgrade yes, new build no.

e4300 headroom below (this is at stock voltage)

Camp0rz
05-09-07, 03:01 PM
An am2 board and a 3600x2 is just so cheap.. especially when you consider the performance. That's why I'm recommending it.

stevemedes
05-09-07, 03:24 PM
An am2 board and a 3600x2 is just so cheap.. especially when you consider the performance. That's why I'm recommending it.

I'd have to agree

DMx
05-09-07, 06:46 PM
Of course it wouldn't perform well, a Celeron D and 6200 aren't fantastic parts.

Keep hold of your money and wait for Barcelona ;)

darkrider01
05-09-07, 10:53 PM
I didn't even price the cheapest C2D board. I chose a board with an Intel chipset (I've had bad experiences with VIA). Like I said.....for just $40 more...he could have a superior CPU.

C2D > Athlon