PDA

View Full Version : What temps must you watch?


Tr1cK
05-10-07, 02:55 PM
On the left is idle, on the right is loaded with Prime95 x2.

http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/6641/speedfanos5.jpg

I need a clarification on what to watch. Coretemp is represented by Core 0 & Core 1, the boards default CPU is Temp 1 and the board temp itself is supposed to be Temp 2.

Do I just need to keep Temp 1 under 50? Or do I need to keep coretemp under 50? I did have to calibrate Core 0 & 1 to match with Coretemp utility by 15 degrees. Another note, I ran 2.4ghz at stock voltage on my Asrock DualVSTA board with stock cooler and never seen the coretemps as high as they are now with the Tuniq and a small voltage bump. They never got out of the 40s on the Asrock.

buffbiff21
05-10-07, 03:14 PM
What temps must you watch?

1. cpu
2. gpu
3. nb/sb
4. hard disks

in that order

Your temps look perfectly fine. Though I suggest using coretemp or intel thermal analysis tool.

Tr1cK
05-10-07, 03:22 PM
Coretemp is Core 0 & Core 1. They read the same all day long.

I'm just a lil weary of the high core temps.

buffbiff21
05-10-07, 07:17 PM
1. cpu
2. gpu
3. nb/sb
4. hard disks

hmm I forgot RAM and mos fets.

but your C4D sticks only take 2.2vdimm anyway. they won't get that hot to worry about. :)

Tr1cK
05-10-07, 10:06 PM
I guess my temps are good. I looked around some, seems a lot of people are hitting up around my temps. I thought e4300s ran cooler, but evidently not, must be absorbed as part of the overclocking headroom.

I'm feeding the Dominators 2.178 in BIOS. NB is getting 1.563. CPU is at 1.34375.

buffbiff21
05-10-07, 10:09 PM
CPU is at 1.34375.

wait... you're using a Tuniq, with less than stock vcore, and youre loading (with only Prime, not ITAT) at 63? That doesn't sound right..

do you have bad airflow in your case??

ViN86
05-11-07, 01:16 AM
1. cpu
2. gpu
3. nb/sb
4. hard disks

in that order

Your temps look perfectly fine. Though I suggest using coretemp or intel thermal analysis tool.
63C is fine? damn things have changed. i dont like my chip full load going over 50C.

SlieTheSecond
05-11-07, 09:49 AM
If your CPU is running 63c that is not fine.

It is running hotter than what Intel says it should run at under normal conditions (ie, not overclocked). E4300 is either 60.1c or 61c. Check their site if you want to know.

I don't let my cpu go past 56c prime95 personally. (e6400)

schuey74
05-11-07, 01:23 PM
63c is fine on air for the C2D.

SlieTheSecond
05-11-07, 10:56 PM
63c is fine on air for the C2D.

Intel rates the processor at 61.4c under normal conditions (I just checked).

How can 63c overclocked be fine?

ViN86
05-12-07, 12:28 AM
63c is fine on air for the C2D.
60C+ is NOT fine for ANY cpu in my book.

buffbiff21
05-12-07, 12:44 AM
60C+ is NOT fine for ANY cpu in my book.

Intel's thermal limits are higher than AMD's, IIRC.

I will try to look for a link to where I saw a test of removal of the HSFs.

Tr1cK
05-12-07, 11:42 AM
60C+ is NOT fine for ANY cpu in my book.

63 is core temp, which is internal. Intel has rated the e4300 at 61.4 @ the heatspreader. Mobile chips are rated differently, they don't have a heat spreader and are rated at 100 on the chip. Before core temp or any of the internal readings came along, all we know is that I would be running Temp 1 (see OP) which is only 43 at load.
e4300 spec (http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SL9TB)
T7100 spec (http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SLA3U)
I'm trying to figure if Coretemp is even right. Coretemp says on its page that it uses Tjunction. (http://www.thecoolest.zerobrains.com/CoreTemp/howitworks.html) Tjunction is for mobile chips. Thermal Specification is what Intel goes by for all other chips. Maybe the coretemp guy just didn't mention he has different algorithm for the 2 different chip styles. I don't know.

If Tjunction is different than what Intel has provided for heat spreader equipped chips, then how do we know what is within tolerance? I will say that the system is stable as can be and I have no worries about how it's running right now. I am curious to know if I have more headroom or if I am at the limit for this current configuration.

schuey74
05-12-07, 12:24 PM
Why don't you guys do some reading and see that temps over 60c are very common on C2Ds. These chips don't throttle until they reach their TJunction which is 85c and 100c, depending on the chips. Intel's thermal specifications are what a CPUs max temps should be based on it's stock clock speed and voltage, considering an ambient of 50c.

Perhaps reading Intel's pdf will help: http://download.intel.com/design/processor/datashts/31327804.pdf

And Yoxxy @ Anand gave a very concise explanation. Check it out:
http://forums.anandtech.com/messageview.cfm?catid=28&threadid=2042294

Tr1cK
05-12-07, 02:03 PM
I did do some looking, didn't find that though. Thanks Schuey.

SlieTheSecond
05-12-07, 09:58 PM
Ya they are rated at 61.4c at the heat spreader. But the cores run at those temps too. People have done test, and at most there was 1c difference between the cores and IHS.

If your running 63c core. You can bet your IHS is 63c too. Which is over the limit.

Also don't forget those temps are under normal conditions. Not overclocked.

Lots of people run them hotter than what they are rated at. That is their choice.

I personally can't afford to go out and buy a new cpu every year, or buy a new cpu when ever one dies.

So I play it safe and do not run it hotter than Intel rates it at.

Apollo 13
05-12-07, 10:36 PM
Intel rates the processor at 61.4c under normal conditions (I just checked).

How can 63c overclocked be fine?

because that 61.4 for is fore Tcase temp not Tjunction.
http://forumz.tomshardware.com/hardware/Core-Duo-Temperature-Guide-ftopict221745.html

If his Tcase temp is in the 60's then he should worry.

Apollo 13
05-12-07, 10:56 PM
Why don't you guys do some reading and see that temps over 60c are very common on C2Ds. These chips don't throttle until they reach their TJunction which is 85c and 100c, depending on the chips. Intel's thermal specifications are what a CPUs max temps should be based on it's stock clock speed and voltage, considering an ambient of 50c.

Perhaps reading Intel's pdf will help: http://download.intel.com/design/processor/datashts/31327804.pdf

And Yoxxy @ Anand gave a very concise explanation. Check it out:
http://forums.anandtech.com/messageview.cfm?catid=28&threadid=2042294

damn nice link. I didn't know the watts change as you overclock and you Tcase changes also.

buffbiff21
05-13-07, 07:17 PM
Intel's thermal limits are higher than AMD's, IIRC.

I will try to look for a link to where I saw a test of removal of the HSFs..
here it is: very interesting regardless of the source being Toms

http://youtube.com/watch?v=XgOmMAasqto